We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, amazing price.”
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Ranked #4 of 441 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing price.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After travelling all the way from Sanur to Seminyak for some finer dining, should have just come to Kayu Manis. In a quiet lane they don't have the beach location, but they do have lovely food at amazing prices. My spaghetti with prawns, garlic and chilli was devine. At 65,000 rupiah I could have eaten 2. The fillet steak with wasabi pepper rp140,000 was cooked to perfection (unlike the more expensive restaurant in Seminyak) as was the duck breast, polenta and balsamic reduction rp100,000. You can buy a bottle of Jacobs Creek Chardonnay or Shiraz for rp350,000 which is an amazing price for wine in Bali. Cocktails rp75,000. Great open kitchen where you can chat to the chefs. Only small so you need to book. We will be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kidfriendlyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    248
    96
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Do yourself a favour and take time out to dine here. The food here is the best!! Presentation, taste and value the restaurant can not be faulted. So clean and super friendly staff, loved being greeted by the chefs in the open kitchen as you entered, loved how the waitress remembered how i liked my steak. Dined here every night, cant wait to return thanks to all the staff at Kayu Manis .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This great restaurant is one of the best thing in my Bali trip. We read the review and had to try and o´boy it was everything the review sad. The place was beautifull and you could stay in a glass room with aircon, room with fan and also stay next to the entrance and smoke. Servise was great and the food............ "something to die for" joke! it was unbelievable!
I would make the 18 hour trip from home to go again! (we were there in april 2012)
business and couples trip (we went there 3 times and perfect every time)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bali' food at its best”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Looking for good local cuisine, we were very impressed with the preparation of the meal, showing great subtlety in the mix of flavours. Particularly pleased with the gindara in turmeric broth, worth the detour just to try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can see why its number 1 in Sanur. The presentation was great, the staff were great, they were asking how our meal was to ensure the quality was there and the food was just sensational. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing