We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Ranked #4 of 441 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

• Had a super yummy snapper for dinner. Well presented.
• Friendly staff and great services.
• Excellent restaurant ambience.

I'll definitely come back again to try out other dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syd_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    248
    96
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have ever eaten”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

And I have visited some brilliant restaurants in my life!

This is just gorgeous. One a little side street in Sanur, this is a must visit restaurant.

Delightful but unpretentious setting, the food here is the feature. I had the special Osso Bucco which I couldn't fault. I was madly trying to pick the ingredients but something special was eluding me. 2 other diners with me had the Snapper and the Duck - all our plate were cleared totally.

Chef came out to say hello which was wonderful (nice view from behind as he went back to the kitchen ladies).

Make a point of visiting Kayu Manis, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh and Clean Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After a few days in Bali, I started to crave fresh vegetables and something that wasn't laced with too much chilli. My friend took me to Kayu Manis where you are greeted by the chef as he wanders the restaurant in his white crocs and head scarf, chatting away while the kitchen is a buzz and waiting staff all up to speed with the food on offer on the menu.
Out came our wine, then the food which was fresh and so tasty with lemon grass the predominant flavour of my entree. Fish for main was cooked to perfection and laced with yummy flavours that I tendedwq to pine for in Indonesia. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN SANUR”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

KAYU MANIS this is Without a DOUBT the "BEST FOOD I HAVE EATEN IN BALI"....EXCELLENT FOOD....& PRESENTATION....Staff are Trained to Western Standard....so EXCELLENT SERVICE....5 Stars....to the Chefs & Staff....Already been here twice this trip & looking forward to my next visit when we get back from Lombok... I want to EXPERIENCE as much of this Menu as I can...Congratulations to the Owner & Staff...for exceptionally GREAT FOOD.....Julie

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Take the time to find this place - it will be worth it. It would probably be wise to book as the restaurant is small but popular. Georgeous food, beautiful surroundings, amazing prices. We have been there many times. We even took our young daughter and the chef prepared a spr.cial kid friendly bland pasta for her. The lime juice is one of my favourites even though it s non alcoholic

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeBee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing