We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Ranked #5 of 436 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Adelaide S.A.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was tasty and well presented. Nice décor and friendly staff. The price was reasonable for the quality of the food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank weary-traveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    243
    93
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as great as i thought it would be”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate there today, two families with children after reading the trip advisor comments. It is more expensive than many other Sanur restaurants but the food was lovely. I did not think the staff were so great, the chef came out to say hi momentarily, and was nice. But, the service certainly was not special at all. Not once were we offered more drinks and we had to call staff over every time we needed something, and they were not busy, standing around. Our bread plates etc were not cleared before our entrees arrived and they did not take away our empty glasses. We wouldnt go back when there are so many other restaurants that are more helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I holiday in Sanur often and my favorite restaurant is Kayu Manis I have been at least a dozen times and NEVER disappointed, the many friends who come to stay or visit me all agree it is a fine place to dine and extremely in expensive for what you receive.

The owner and many of his staff have been at this place for years which speaks for it self.

The restaurant recently underwent some renovations which included an air condition room at the back of the restaurant very welcomed on those steamy nights.the restaurant is not large so I would recommend to book particularly during peak holidays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deirdre255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't think, just come here!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is going to be a big call, but I think this place served me the best meal I've ever eaten!! There, I've said it! But it's true!!!
The space is beautiful, the staff are warm, welcoming and accommodating, the cocktails are classy and fresh, and the food.......!!
Handmade loaves of complimentary bread with whipped garlic butter comes first, followed by our starters. On our table, cold rolls (my husbands claims these were the best ever also) and caeser salad. All delicious!!
Then for main, the duck, spicy chicken pasta, stuffed chicken, and mine Indonesian grilled chicken with coconut curry sauce. To. Die. For.
They even obliged with cooking something off the menu for our 5 and 3 year olds.
Don't let the 3 negative reviews on here put you off. Do yourself a favour and go to Kayu Manis, you'll visit again if you have more nights in Sanur, we did!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worthy of 2nd place in the listings”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ate here twice in the last week. The food was lovely and the price very reasonable. The staff were great and the chef very appreciative of the business. We didn't make any bookings and there were tables free both times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaEvVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 
Sanur, Denpasar
 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing