We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, overpriced and overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Ranked #29 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Run down, overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We ended up staying here to get away from Kuta as Sanur seemed nicer during a day visit. We followed the LP recommendation since this place was near the beach. While not the worst place I've stayed, it is in dire need of refurbishing. The rooms smelled dank, the toilets were stinky and there was no fresh water! Only salty water for a shower. The staff were ok, but like another poster wrote, many of them just hung out, staring.

This place might have been nice 20 years ago, but they clearly haven't been putting any effort into it since then.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank li0ntamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
28
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Ive been back again (my 11th stay at Kesumasari) Booked my room as a base; kept it for three weeks even though i did visit other islands and areas of Bali. As i always finish up at Sanur; this is my home away from home> A day or two at Padang bai and Ubud; a couple of nights on Lombok, travelling light and keeping all my extras at Sanur.Great spot; very relaxing;nice breezes;good value for money; great staff( very laid back ); a quick warung lunch on the beach for $1; bloody bliss!!

Ive been a regular traveller to indonesia since 1970. Stayed at Sanur most times. Tried Kuta;Tuban,Legian etc etc Give me Sanur any day, give me Kesumasari any time. As i have mentioned previously, if you like overpriced tourist joints, truck loads of beached whales on lounges, expensive drinks and loud mouth disrespectul yobs; DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudnikfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I felt i needed to write a few words about this nicely located gem. Firstly; it is quite cheap and very negotiable if you are staying any length of time (50% discount for long stays). The staff are friendly, helpful and always available. The manager (nyoman) has been working here for 20 years plus. Breakfast is served on your verandah and is included in the price. Its available when you feel inclined. The meal is simple but quite adequate. The villa is located about 20 metres from a local beach; with real local people and food stalls at local prices. Its not up market but its a wonderful vista. Rooms are simple but quite adequate (what do you want for $15-$25 per night.) I will return in may 2010 for my tenth stay at this little gem. (3 weeks). If you want 5 star facilities; over priced food;costly grog; huge pools;.......dont stay here. If you like a peaceful stay; low prices; helpful staff;great location;cheap laundry.... try this place!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudnikfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

While it's not the worst place in the world, it's not the best and is overpriced for what it is. While it's located steps from the beach, it's not ON the beach, you have to exit the compound and go out to what is not a particularly great stretch of beach. Rooms were pretty dumpy, small TV, A/C works fine, hot water. Nice sitting area outside of room but no privacy at all so if you like old Dutch people you'll be fine. Also seems to be afflicted with the disease of lots of young locals sitting around doing mostly nothing but looking a bit shady. Staff are all very friendly though. There is not much in the direct area of the hotel, but a short walk away are bars, restaurants, shops, etc though you are out of the main center of Sanur. I checked out after one night and found a place down the road that was much nicer room, had a pool and wasn't much farther from the beach for $10 less. If this place was the same price it would be worth consideration, however it's not so my advice is to keep looking.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#44 of 78 in Sanur
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Segara Agung Hotel
Segara Agung Hotel
#36 of 78 in Sanur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asoka Homestay
Asoka Homestay
#35 of 141 in Denpasar
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Taverna Suites
La Taverna Suites
#62 of 139 in Sanur
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parigata Villas Resort
Parigata Villas Resort
#23 of 78 in Sanur
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesumasari Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesumasari Beach Cottages

Property: Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Address: Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesumasari Beach Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kesumasari Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Hotel Sanur
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing