We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Segara Agung Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Segara Agung Hotel
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Segara Agung is nestled in a small lane close to Sanur beach (couple of mins walk) next to Bali Hyatt. The place is small but extremely charming and is set amidst a lot of greenery. We booked ourselves into a deluxe room and considering the price (55$) it was a real bargain. The rooms are comfortable and we had a small verandah attached to our room. Breakfast is basic but sufficient and is served in the cute looking area next to the pool. The price includes wi-fi at the room.
There was an incident at our room, when the overhead exhaust fan in the bathroom broke off from the ceiling and was hanging precariously. Although it was fixed almost immediately after, such an incident should have never happened in the first place.
The place is located close to Sanur beach and has several restaurants closeby and can be walked to. The hotel provides spa/massages in the room itself for a reasonable price.
Basic accommodation but good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent some time on line before deciding on accommodation in Bali. Segara Agung stood out for all l the right reasons, good location near beach, quite back street area and in Sanur, also in our price range. Booked on line and no issues with that, did not even ask for deposit. We were picked up from airport with free pick up and once thru the traffic jams settled in to what was a very pleasant stay. The units are good but like other reports the toilet/bath area could do with upgrade. Great sitting on our balcony out the front enjoying a cold beer. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, always helpful when required. Pool was great, sometimes a bit short on loungers during the day but cooling to dip into after a hot days outing. Rooms made up every day and no shortage of towels. The meals in the restaurant were fine for easy eat in and priced right along with a cold Bintang beer. Breakfast good value ( free with accommodation ) especially the fruit platter.
We were picked up from the airport by Made Darma and used him 3 or 4 times when we wanted to tour around. He had very good knowledge of the island and where possible took us on back roads showing us villages you would not normally see. His prices were average but we tipped him above this as we felt he went out of his way to show us better views and explained a lot to us about island life. Recommend him if staying in Sanur as he lives in the area, ph +62 361 286635 or I'm sure the staff at reception can organize for you.
All in all staying at Segara Agung was a great experience and certainly recommend for families with children or us slightly older generation. Enjoyed eating out at the beach restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Preferred ground floor rooms, saved having to climb stairs. Also go for superior room over the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldkiwidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this amazing place. It is only a 3minute walk from the beach. But if you walk another 10min down the beach past Bali Hyatt you will find a perfect beach to relax on.

The rooms are spaceus with a nice balcony. The rooms are clean. And the prices in the minibar are more or less the same as in the shop around the corner. The pool and garden area is nicely done.
The only downside to this place is that the towels in the bathroom look dirty due to the fact that people are allowed to bring them to the beach.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank C-I_OSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, staying in one of the superior rooms on the 2nd floor.

Pro's:
The pool is on the small side, but its a nice little oasis, with water fountains and flowers surrounding it. Birds come to paddle and lizards climb the walls (nice lizards, not scary). It didnt get busy during our stay.

The gardens, buildings and the hotels private road all add to the feeling of being in a little oasis, with beautiful flowers dotted here and there.

Masa the security guard and his golden retriever glen (I think thats the correct pronunciation). Masa was always there with a warm sincere smile every we time we left the hotel. His dog is beautiful too. He really added to our stay there. On the final day I was tricked at a money exchange and Masa came to the rescue driving me down on his bike and helping me get the correct money back.

Darma our driver arrange by the hotel was a great guy, really knowledgeable. Probably alittle more expensive than a flag down, but I could rely on him and he was a very good guide. Recommend him.

Con's
Its a bit away from the main restaurants in the center (although the are some good places at this end). We didnt have any problems walking down in the day. But at night, the beach isnt lit up to walk down, and if you take the road, you have a dark walk past the grand hyatt.

Sanur beach isnt great.

People have mentioned that the bathrooms arent good. I thought with the superior room saying that the bathrooms were new, we'd be ok. But that wasnt the case. Functional, but I found there to be quite a bit of mold in the grouting, the rooms need a good clean, with the fabrics / linen having a proper clean too.

breakfast was small and average.

Beautiful gardens and pool, nice sincere staff, large rooms at very good rates - but let down by the the bathroom.

Komilfo & masimo's are two nearby restaurants I'd recommend. Cafe Jepun also, but only for the satay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 7 nights at Segara Agung, about a year ago (2011). We had a standard room, which meant a bungalow just for us, with our own porch.

Segara Agung is a small hotel, relaxing and intimate, located 2 minutes walk from the beach, or 2 minutes walk from the main street with restaurants and shops.
Everything is just perfect: beautiful spacious & clean room, set in a wonderful wonderful garden, with a nice & clean pool, good location, right price, delicious breakfast, nice&helpful staff.
The hotel & garden are Balinese style, and being there enhances the wonderful feeling of being in Bali.
They recommended us Mr Oca, our driver, who was so nice!
Thanks to Segara Agung our stay there was memorable! Hope to go back one day! :)

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, with private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice swimming pool in a beautiful garden, with strong wifi connection, I recommend to take superior room.

Room Tip: Superior room is much better than standard (I've tried both)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Absolutely beautiful setting if you want a quiet place to stay close to the beach in Sanur. We stayed for two nights in Standard rooms. Very comfortable, but no fridge to keep bought drinks cold. However, room service is very happy to bring cold drinks and ice to the rooms whenever desired at a good price. Beds very comfortable and good air conditioning. Bathrooms are a bit basic, but clean and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was included and was very good - eggs, fruit, toast, juice & coffee. The pool area is lovely, and the gardens are very neat and lush. Staff are attentive and courteous. Rooms serviced daily. A short walk to the beach and all of its warungs and restaurants, so the location is perfect. Very good value for the price. The driver who picked us up at the airport was waiting for us when we arrived and guided us out from arrivals area - recommend this service for approx $AUD10.00, especially if you arrive late at night as we did, and don't know the airport. The other guests were a mixture of European and Aussie of all ages, and the atmosphere very quiet and serene. Lovely place.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge for a longer stay, or a larger balcony or verandah, you will need to book a Sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spudnik51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#31 of 79 in Sanur
459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#70 of 79 in Sanur
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 79 in Sanur
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.9 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Sayang Sanur Terrace House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Agung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Agung Hotel

Address: Jl. Duyung No. 43 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $32 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Segara Agung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Segara Agung Hotel is a Balinese Style Designer Hotel surrounded by a flowerful garden, with an intimate and friendly staff who is always ready to serve your everyday needs and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Segara Agung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Agung Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing