We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food and Personal Service”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were very happy to return to Massimo's and to be greeted personally by the owner. As always, the food and service was outstanding.

Thank Dogwood_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Dogwood,
thanks for another experience at Massimo.
Wish you all my best to New Year and look for to meet back soon.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,567 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We lucked a table for 8 without a reservation because we were eating an early dinner. All the tables seemed to be reserved so it looks like it is a popular place to dine at night. A little hot as where we sat there was no fan overhead and too far back from the street to get a breeze. Complimentary snacks while we ordered, entrees great, mains also. We all ordered Italian except my hubby who found a small page on the menu with Asian food. Ice creams out the front are yum and a must. There r so many flavours to choose from that u have to go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks dining at Massimo and time to write your nice review.
Look for to meet you back soon.
Happy New Year,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Even with a booking this place was a nightmare to get into. There is no system on arrival with people just pushing their way in the front door. The courtyard was packed with wait listed people and there were not enough staff to deal with it. We were lucky to be seated fairly quickly but right at the front door, so the whole night was focused on pushy and grumpy people trying to get in and wait staff trying to get around them with loaded trays. When food did arrive we had two really nice meals and the two men's meals look like they came off the kids menu, very small. The only thing that redeemed this place was the ice cream out front. They really need a front of house at this place and to start turning people away once they have so many wait listed.

Thank Broomie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Nice to read you enjoyed your dinner but not fair to give only two stars rating ... restaurant is very popular, we never push guests to rush with dinner and people like to wait for a table so we cannot really make them go away.
We are always very polite and try to help guests with their needs. If no reservation need to wait (as you notice with a reservation you got promptly sitting) and once in we make sure you have a nice experience.
We always very generous with portion and you should be fair in judge you meal size and price you pay.
Wish you happy new year and hope to meet back soon.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

been here 3 times for dinner, alwaya fully occupied. saved by the gelato stall outside though.. very nice and has vast selection. do reserve your table beforehand if you want to dine in.

Thank Pingcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review and sorry could not dinner at our place.
Dinner time always best reservation at +62.361.288942 or 0361.7444546
Hope to see you back soon.
Happy New Year,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Owner Massismo takes care of operation and food quality. Probably best Italian food in Sanur and around. We had several pizze and desserts, everything excellent. Great value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bodo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Many thanks for your excellent review.
Hope you take good memories of Bali and have chance to meet you back soon.
Wish you Happy New Year,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing