We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta and pizza”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great pasta and pizza”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really enjoyed the food here and would definitely dine here again. The menu is really huge, but every dish that our group ordered was tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Hapitraveller from beautiful Darwin,
thanks for your dining at Massimo and time to write your nice review.
Wish to see you back soon in the nearest future.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,514
    855
    247
    84
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anchorage,ak
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the better meals in Bali”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I walked from the Bali Hyatt to Massimo's. I enjoyed the Balinese cuisine, but this was a welcome change of pace. We thought the food was excellent and you can hit up the gelato stand for dessert before you leave. I'm kind of embarrassed to say this, but Massimo's was probably our favorite place we ate in Sanur.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaPanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Alaskapanic,
many thanks for your nice review.
Wish you take home a great memory of your Bali holiday.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Very Average Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have holidayed in Sanur in July for the last 3 years during July. Unfortunately I recently forgot why we did not go last year. After being in Sanur for 8 nights we felt like some Italian food. As usual the wait was a good 45 minutes. We have had this before so we put up with it. There seemed to be poor organisation or a shortage of staff as it took a long time for empty tables to be filled. Basically all of the meals we ordered were rubbish. The Hawaaiin Pizza did not have pineapple. The spaghetti bolognaise was rubbish. One of the orders was incorrect. basically we walked away dissatisfied. A lot of restaurants in Sanur are really good now. This was the only one we were did not like. We have excellent Italian in Perth, Western Australia. The only positive is the gelato you buy from the front of the restaurant. This has always been excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_from_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Alan_from_perth,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Massimo. We value your genuine review and appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight areas of improvement for our operations.

Firstly, thank you for your commendation on our pizza ... It is one of our bestsellers ... we dedicate 48hrs to prove the dough light and crispy and all topping are selected Italian products. If for any reason your Hawaiian pizza could be without pineapple we are always ready to repair mistakes and make new preparation.

We note that your order included bolognese. We do apologise that our highly appreciate bolognese sauce did not meet your palate.

We constantly supervise the restaurant and talk to guests make sure about dining satisfaction, unfortunately did not receive your message in the dining room and we do apologise that your request we overlooked.

Again, we thank you for your time and feedback and do hope to see you once again at Massimo.

Yours Cordially,

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Queueing out into the street”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an extremely busy restaurant if you don't have a reservation you can wait or come back another night! So best to book! Fabulous cocktails, fabulous Italian cuisine. When the main seating area is full they can set you up in the airconditioned wine room. You miss out on all the hustle & bustle out there but not the sort of room you'd want to stay in all night, that is why it's best to reserve your table out the front. I have nothing negative to say about Massimo everything was excellent. The complimentary bread sticks are long skinny cheese flavored delights! This is a perfect restaurant for groups, families and singles! Just terrific! Oh and a Gelato bar out the front for your walk back to your hotel! They've got it all covered here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickenmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear MickenMelbourne,
thanks for your great review and time you dedicate to appreciate our restaurant.
Look for to meet you again soon and deliver another dining experience.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good place
Good food
But the service little bit late, have to ask 2-3 times with difrent waiters, then finally u can get what u need, for example like chili chop
After all I LOVE THE GELATO

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kayla,
thanks for dining at Massimo and time to review our restaurant.
I read personally every comment and work to get the best. So we do daily briefing to instruct staff and get better or correct mistake.
Look for to meet you again soon.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing