We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close your eyes and imagine your in Italy”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
wollongong sydney nsw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and imagine your in Italy”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We went twice here & all the food was fantastic!! For us this is kind of "normal" food what we're used to, don't get me wrong, we love Indonesian food but for me this Resturant is a taste of home. (Better than Italy actually!) and inexpensive compared to home. I could come here every day!!
Drinks & gelato are really good too, they have a small bar.

As far as service I think it was better than anything you get at home, but you dont feel like you are "special" as in other places. The girls did their best & were very efficient, but since the Resturant is a lot busier than others (I'm not sure about here, but compared to other resturants they are probably rushed off their feet and starting 7am finishing 10 or 11pm is normal over here.)
What was nice was they didn't seem to rush you out, relax & stay as long as you like.

Overall great food & recommend you to enjoy the food or a drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mia,
thanks for your review.
We do have a very big operation and employee are running two shift of 8 hours each. They are a very good team and love them as a family.
Hope to see you back soon to have more nice experience at Massimo.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,420
    807
    235
    81
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Below average food, low service in a too big restaurant.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Pizzas were not so good, staff very in a hurry without any personal attention. Place is like a big all inclusive hotel restaurant missing any charm of a nice restaurant. We actually discussed the day before that we could not fault any of the restaurants we ate in during our three week stay across the whole Bali Island. Maybe we should not have said this since we did fault Massimo the day after. Also, we have a strong feeling that the white wine was mixed with water due to its taste and the structure of the winer, if not, it was very poor tasting wine. The only very positive thing is the ice cream they sell at the street side, this was very nice and we even went by the day later to get another ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuiTo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear GuiTo84,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Massimo. We value your genuine review and appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight areas of improvement for our operations.

Firstly, thank you for your comment on our pizza it is one of our bestsellers. We prepare our pizza bread in a natural way with 48hrs prove to make crispy outside and soft inside.

We do apologise that our staff had not given 100% attention to your family. We do have 20 staff at service and bar in one single shift, however sometime guests may arrive at same time giving us challenge.

We do serve Indonesian, Australian and Italian open house wine and it is always a big effort to get good wine at reasonable price to satisfy our guests.

Again, we thank you for your time and feedback and hope to see you once again at Massimo.

Sincerely,

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Molto Buono - from anti pasto to Espresso.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My Wife and I, the teenager and the kid visited for lunch. Initial impressions were good, there are several eating areas, an outdoor section, a large indoor section (cieling fans) and a closed in smaller Ac cooled area. We chose a table under a ceiling fan, which was great.
We shared am Antipasto plate with several cold itaian meats and cheeses. Served with some gorgeous bread which we could dip in the olive oil and balsamic supplied.My daughter liked the Chicken nuggets and chips, the crumbed chicken was more pieces, rather than the usual minced whatever. So that was pleasing, and my daughter is very fussy. Chips were french fry style, and well cooked. The other three dishes were very nice, Gnocchi Pesto (tasted home made!) , Meat lovers Pizza (pan style), and Pizza Fritto Misto (seafood , fish,squid,prawns)...All 3 were done really well, and my italian wife was impressed. Finished with 2 x espressos and Sorbet with local made baked waffle cones. From finish to end, a pleasure. Service was friendly, attentive, and well delivered. Ill be going back, and have already recommended this place to others. ps. I saw the XXL pizza being delivered to table, and it was massive.....

Massimo.... grazie per avere puo di italia in Bali :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family'o'4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Family'o'4,
many thanks for visiting our restaurant and time to write your review.
Wish u a nice memory of Bali and look for to great u again soon.
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent genuine Italian menu. We enjoyed the food and would recommend this place to anyone. Constant queue for ice cream outside!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofClubs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Salamander99,
thanks for your time to write a review on our family restaurant.
Look for to great you again soon.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place you can go for a perfect meal !”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best place you can go for a perfect meal in Sanur area ! If you are craving for a good pizza or a delicious pasta, you name it , they have it for you !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for time to write a nice review. Look for to see you back soon for another delicious meal.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing