We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - pleasant atmosphere”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a good restaurant for Italian food and the seafood we tried was great. Plenty of choices on the menu including most popular Italian food - great service and not bad value.

Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you ...look for to meet again soon ...best wishes do family and friends in Darwin

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,808 of 3,086 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having started on our Bail holiday without a lot of homework, one evening at the hotel we got chatting with a young couple who had been diving in Sanur for four months. They directed us to
Massimo's, their favorite place to eat.

We had lunch there on Valentine's Day. A special display had been set up which helped to set a romantic theme in what I guess is normally a family restaurant.

I can only pass on their good tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Grazie Cecilia ... wish to meet you back soon

Friendly,

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited Massimo's again on the evening of 11 March. This was the night of Oogah Oogah and many restaurants were closing early in preparation for the holiday of Nyepi the following day. We had specifically booked a table in the small air-conditioned area for 7 pm. Unfotunately, a TV was blaring in this normally secluded air conditioned area with a family of expats watching cartoons with a young child (Groan). This is very annoying. After complaining about the TV the waiter did turn the volume down such that a conversation could be had.

My wife and I shared a plate of antipasti which was very nice. For mains I ordered the special ...a lobster with large pasta shells. The half lobster was very small and the pasta was overcooked. it wasn't possible to find any actual pieces of lobster in the dish.

My wife ordered a crab linguini which again lacked actual crab...there was maybe a teaspoon throughout the dish. Again disappointing.

For desert I ordered a chocholate souffle which had not risen at all. It presented as a undercooked chocolate pudding with melted chocolate center. It was not even close to being called a souffle.

Overall, a very disappointing visit. Massimo - please get rid of the TV from the air-conditioned area and teach your chefs how to cook a proper souffle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

some of the best italian cuisine I have eaten in and out of Italy. consistent , fresh and tasty food with good service. I ate here three times over seven days , highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thannasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Many thanks ... hope to see you back soon.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been to Massimo in Sanur 3 times now and each time it has not disappointed. I would highly recommend sitting in the outside area as the atmosphere is so much more intimate. The larger airconditioned dining area is brightly lit and personally I feel it really loses the feel of an Italian restaurant. However be sure to sit under a fan outside!
Their pizza is traditional Italian and so don't go expecting Australian/American type pizza with lots of chopped ham etc. The minimalist style of Italian pizza has fresh toppings that are just wonderful.
The owner/chef Massimo takes a stroll around the restaurant introducing himself and making sure all is in order....a lovely touch and from the amount of people he seemed to know...I would say that they are, like myself, repeat customers which is always a good sign.
Yes it does get busy and so a good idea to book ahead. However if you don't you can always have a drink at the bar until a table becomes available.
The gelato stand at the front of the restaurant is always busy and it is a fabulous dessert to finish off a great night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MdeR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Grazie... thanks for your visit.
Always a pleasure to have you here @ Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing