We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Good at all~!”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT Good at all~!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and my fiance love to eat Italian Food.We travel alround the world to try best foodies only. After looking at recomendation from Trip Advisor and friend, we tried to go there and experience ourselves what is so called by best pizza in Bali.
Too bad there are few points to be higlighted for the owner :
1. No people greet us upon our arrival and we had to find our own seats.
2. The servers have no knowledge about their product and we had to wait till the third person came to explain to us with her unfriendly face.
3. Food taste not good at all, I have no idea if the servers' recommendation was bad or it was really our unlucky day to choose the worst foodies from all. We had mushroom soup that came in a very big bowl, no taste pizza and 1 kind of fish dish.
4. Finally tried our luck with the gelato, its even dissapointing, the gelato is worst than ever! too bad we had to throw it away on the 5th spoon.

I would not recommend this place to my friend as this is not as good as its preview.
Even Gorgonzola Pizza in Uluwatu tasted way better than this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,514
    855
    247
    84
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildersbach, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love the Pizzas!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After more than 2 years in Bali i can tell that's my favorite pizzas there! Not a fan of all the menu but you can close your eyes on the pizzas!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“terrible food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

after hearing many good reports about it , we went there, food was too oily. garlic bread tasted lke oiled was spread over the bread and toasted,the pizza i had was not the best & mate ordered salt N bocca, it came out in very thin slices of meat and again covered in oil, we hardly ate any of the bread or main meals, staff were very friendly, but dont thnk i'f ever return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Did not live up to its reputation”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had heard great things about this restaurant. Nice spot, but if you want to sit in the garden area, make sure your phone has a torch on it, otherwise you won't be able to read your menu. We had some garlic bread for starter, was ok, but nothing to write home about. I had a deep dish chicken pizza and my partner a thin crust pizza. Maybe that is where we went wrong. Perhaps in an attempt to get both ready at the same time, my pizza base ended up very undercooked. The crust was definitely not cooked properly, and, to be honest, the flavour really was not there, it was quite tasteless overall. However, the one redeeming grace, was their very tasty gelati. Would not recommend this place based on our experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbaran
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Bali”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I Love going to Massimo's for both dining in and take away. They do fantastic wood fire pizzas with top quality toppings. Personal favorite is the Diavola. Very spacious inside, clean tidy and kid friendly. if you're ever in bali dont miss out on this gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_expat_bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing