We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil corner in an oasis of peace”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Zen Villas
Ranked #4 of 141 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights in Harmony Villa and it exceeded our expectations. The villa is spacious, pretty and very comfortable. The pool is fabulous - cool and refreshing in the Balinese heat. the delightful staff cooked our delicious breakfast each morning and tidied up with great charm and unobtrusiveness. Use of the mosquito net at night is strongly recommended! Zen is situated very close to the main shopping/eating area of Sanur which can be reached by either of two pretty, leafy and meandering streets. Each morning we walked along the beachfront on a well kept boardwalk and finished off with a good coffee at a local café before returning home for our homey breakfast. We wish could have stayed longer...

Room Tip: Harmony Villa was particularly spacious and we visited one other which was also spacious and charmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali4ever_10, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Stephen M. Thank you so much for your appraisal of your time at The Zen Villas. We were so pleased to hear that your visit exceeded your expectations! We hope you can stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our 5th trip to Bali and 3rd stay in Sanur having previously stayed in two other villas in Sanur.
Have to say this was the best so far - we stayed in the Tranquility Villa - pool a great size and spending a fair bit of its day in the sun the water was beautiful.
This is the first villa we have stayed in with an indoor living area - weather was quite humid so the indoors with air conditioning was great. Nice day bed, sun lounges and dining area outside as well.
We didn't arrive from our flight until 1am so reception was closed but security staff and our driver helped us to our room, showed us around and there were cold welcome drinks and towels waiting for us in the fridge.
Welcome pack of a variety of soft drinks, nibbles and bintang were also great.
Good variety of choices for breakfast - we went with the pancakes and fruit platter/pastries and there was more than enough.
Villas do not have solid walls surrounding them but thick hedges of plants - you would have to try very hard to see in. It felt very private - only downside was you couldn't keep the gates closed unless you slid the lock. This meant having to go to gate and let people in, also couldn't secure them when out.
Was a bit of a walk to the main road - probably 5 minutes briskly. We didn't have a problem with this, in fact enjoyed passing the many locals going about their business. Plenty of motorbikes but keep to on side an absolutely no problems. There are torches in the room if you walk at night. We took them but did'nt use them - it was quite well lit and we felt perfectly safe. If you took a taxi they would bring you right to the Villas.
All staff very attentive - we had two minor maintenance issues and both were fixed immediately. Also made a couple of phone calls for us to book dinner and a trip to Ubud.
Taxis waiting all the time in main road, (Tamblingan) also a great little laundry on the walk out (done by the kilo, love that!) and a little convenience store for extra soft drinks etc just to left on the main road.
What more can I say?! We loved it and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali4ever_10, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Andrea D. Thank you so much for your great feedback about your week with us this month. We are very pleased to hear you had a fabulous time, and would return "in a heartbeat". We were also pleased to be able to return the iPhone you left behind, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Zen Villas next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just back from a short 5 night stay at Zen Villas. We stayed in the Harmony Villa, (or Villa O as they call it) with my elderly parents, (their first time to Bali).

Boy did I pick the right place to stay for their first time - and the right villa!. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Harmony Villa. I want to start by saying that this was not cheap accommodation, but here you 100% get what you pay for! I was more than impressed with the Villa, the grounds, the cleanliness and the loveliness of the property. But what impressed me the most was the staff! They are absolutely fantastic! What a great bunch of girls and guys you have working there - they are obviously either very well trained or very happy in their jobs - or both! I just loved having a chat with them each morning or whenever we saw them. So hats off to the staff!
As mentioned by other guests, nothing is too much trouble. I cannot recommend these villas highly enough.

The WIFI was excellent, which was important to me as I had to work while there and I had not one single problem.

Yes the location is off the beaten track, but getting a taxi out of there and back is just not a problem, and if we didnt' have my elderly parents with us we would happily walk, or get a push bike or even a scooter.

I only have 2 small complaints - which are not really complaints, but I feel I should point these out. In this villa, I found the bed way too hard for my liking and I did have trouble but sleeping, but in the big scheme of things it wasn't really that important, but can you please get a softer mattress??

Also, and I think Fiona should have pointed this out to me when I first emailed my enquiry. There are 2 bedrooms, but the first bedrooms bathroom does not have a shower. The 2nd bedrooms bathroom is entirely outside, and that is where the shower is. With elderly parents, this could have been a problem, or with other people staying there it may not be ideal, as you have to walk outside the 2nd bedroom to get to the shower, and then the ones in the 2nd bedroom are stuck for a toilet! It didn't really worry us, and luckily we are family, but I feel it only fair to warn others, especially if they are staying with other people there.

I wanted to check out the other villas, but I ran out of time, but I will most certainly be looking at them for a future stay on our own.

Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to this awesome place.

Well done to the staff and management.
Cheers Nadine

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nads68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Nads68_13. Thank you so much for your thorough and flattering review of your time at The Zen Villas. Our team (who is well-trained and very happy) is thrilled to hear your kind words. I've noted your comment regarding the mattress - thank you. The first bathroom does have a shower so there is no need to visit the other bathroom - it is a hand-held retractable shower head - I'll make a note to ensure guests are fully conversant with this piece of equipment. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently stayed 7 nights in the Harmony Villa at The Zen Villas. What a BEAUTIFUL Villa !! This is a 2 bedroom Villa with a large lounge and fully equipped kitchen. There was an outdoor Bathroom and toilet, which we used all the time. It was so nice to shower amongst the tropical garden. There was also a large bathroom off our bedroom which was also beautiful. The pool was to die for. From memory, it is 17 mtrs long with a deep and shallow end. This Villa is totally private and you can lock yourself in and strip if you wish, no one would know. Fabulous staff, who are all very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they always greet you with a beautiful smile. They helped with money changing, supply lilos for the pool, transport, tour advice, food, etc etc. Just dial '0' !! Breakfast is cooked in your room and is fresh !.. Again, the staff were lovely and returned later to clean up the dishes and the rest of the Villa. We can't recommend The Zen Villas highly enough! A number of our friends have stayed in other Villas, Tranquility and Serenity. We have seen and swum in their pools also, and they were all beautiful. For us, we would stay in any of them. All private, clean and comfortable. The staff can also arrange for lovely ladies to visit you in your Villa for massages, pedicures, manicures etc. We had 3 massages and pedicures, very reasonably priced and well worth arranging. All in all, we cant recommend the Villas highly enough. If we go to Bali again, we would not hesitate in staying at the Harmony Villa again. Thankyou for making our stay peaceful, relaxing and all a holiday should be.

Room Tip: Harmony Villa has the biggest pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear DaveyStephen. WOW! Thanks so much for a fabulous appraisal of your stay with us! We're so pleased to hear you found the villa to be beautiful and totally private. Our team will be very happy to hear you thought they were "fabulous". We look forward to making your next stay as peaceful and relaxing as this one was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A very nice place for Relaxing, quiet. A beautiful garden with flowers. We enjoyed the nice pool.
With bicycle is is easy to make the way to the sea in short time. The staff was very friendly and
helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Werner G. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your stay at The Zen Villas. We are very pleased to hear you had a relaxing and quiet time in our beautiful villa gardens, and that our team was friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this lovely villa with "private" swimming pool in February. We organized to be picked up from the airport and arrived at reception where we were greeted by the friendly staff. Also loved the staff who were preparing breakfast in the morning with a choice for everybody and I tried them all even the nassi goreng. It is a 10 minute walk into Sanur or the beach, the path/road to get to the main road, is not too friendly with quite a lot of traffic, and puddles when it rains, but we could not complain as the rest made up for it. If you do not want to go out in the evening, as we did, you can order your meals from the restaurants, a list is provided.
We had dinner at our own pool with candle light, how romantic. My compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arinak347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Arina347. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of your time spent with us last month. We are particularly pleased to hear that your found our staff to be friendly and that your overall experience rated a 5 out of 5. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a week at the villas. We had a very relaxed time. Pretty gardens beautifully kept. Staff were friendly and discreet. Well appointed villa and good housekeeping standards. when next in Bali we will probably stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Mikeedarwin. Thanks so much for kind words about the "very relaxing" week you spent with us last month. We are so pleased to hear you may revisit at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
0.5 mi away
Karmagali Suites
Karmagali Suites
#3 of 141 in Sanur
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#8 of 147 in Sanur
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: $112 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing