We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot of our trip to Asia”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #5 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Osterode am Harz, Germany
1 review
“Top spot of our trip to Asia”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a trip with our rental car from Ubud to Lovina and back to Sanur we enjoyed the serenity of the Zen Villas for seven days and nights. The apartment and its amenities are excellent and the breakfast served by two young women each morning was extraordinary. After our daytrips we were looking forward to hop into our pool and cool down for relaxation. Among the many hotels we saw on our trip The Zen Villas was absolutely number one. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took care of everthing we needed. We do recommend this place to everbody who wants to stay in Sanur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Klaus O. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Zen Villas. We're very pleased you found the villa and it's amenities "excellent", and that our breakfast was "extraordinary". We are also happy that you would recommend us to everybody, and that you voted us "number one" of the many hotels you visited in Asia. We hope you return to Bali, and to The Zen Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place was a little hidden piece of heaven. Everyone that worked there was fantastic and very friendly, we wanted to buy them all gifts. We thought it was wonderful that is was tucked away from the main street. It was lovely walking a short 5 mins through the neighbourhood everyday to the main road. We will be coming back definitely next year with the kids. Swam in the pool everyday and every night when we came home from walking around so relaxing floating in the warm water. This was our best holiday so far.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeleTrixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear LeleTrixie B. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of the great holiday you had at The Zen Villas. Our team will be very happy to hear you found them to be friendly and fantastic! We are looking forward to welcoming you back - this time with the kids! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 14 nights in the Harmony Villa and WOW.....this totally exceeded our expectations and was one of the best holidays to Bali we have had to date. Everything was perfect. Staff were lovely, very professional and the villa itself was absolutely spotless. We liked it so much we are booked to return next year. The villa itself is large with lots of room, would be suitable for a family and for the two of us it was a decadent treat. TIP. the recommended restaurants by Zen Villa's are all very good, we also ordered home delivery from them a few times and the quality and freshness were excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaSato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AmaSato2013. It was a pleasure having you at The Zen Villas. We are so very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations - WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks enjoying the hospitality of this wonderful resort situated a little off the beaten track but only 5 minutes walk to the main shopping and restaurant area of Sanur. Sanur is a quieter village than the most popular areas but still has fine dining at a very reasonable price.The unit we stayed in had 3 bedrooms, 2 outdoor modern showers and a superb pool with Bale all with luxury fittings.
The staff are very friendly, will help you get taxis supply and all the little things that need doing whilst you are on holiday. We stayed in Villa F and would reccomend this villa.
We would br happy to return to Zen another time.

Room Tip: All villas have great rooms but villa F has been modernised in the last year .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear tonyfromaus. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and your experience during your stay at The Zen Villas this month. We really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

first of all: No, we don't want to condemn the zen villas. It is a great place after all, and for the most part deserves its excellent rating. The staff are friendly and helpful, the villas are a spacious dream. The "green walls" around are nice, although not as tight as to guarantee absolute privacy. But if you are not a naturist, it shouldn't bother you too much. And it is sometimes a bit noisy at night, because of the roosters crowing every few minutes, but an ear plug can also sort this out.

However, what really made us annoyed with the place was the breakfast. For some reasons no one has ever touched the topic in the reviews. Maybe they changed that only recently.
The booking includes "continental" breakfast,but doesn't specify which continent. And probably, since the management at the Zen villas is Australian, the meant the smallest continent. You get so little you can certainly not survive a hard traveller's day. They offer top-ups like eggs or fruit or local fried rice/noodles, but when you choose a top up, you won't get you continental breakfast in turn, unless you pay an additional 50000 Rp each. Not exactly a lot of money, but the price for a full two course meal with drink in a warung. Twice we left a note on our breakfast order sheet, stating that we would like bigger portions, and both times we were neglected. Instead we were (very friendly) told to order more top-ups.
The best part was that the manual we found in the villa (which was obviously outdated) stated that breakfast each morning includes continental breakfast with 2 rolls, PLUS a fruit platter and one choice of top-ups. That is more we had asked for!
We consider that ridiculous for such a place rather expensive as the Zen Villas. In Ubud we stayed at a resort that offered a luxurous all-you-can-eat buffet, and at an overall cheaper price.

leaving the villa hungry every morning in search for the next portion did not contribute to a particularly happy stay at the zen villas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agenttravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear agenttravel77. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Zen Villas. We’ve served thousands of guests breakfast during their stays at The Zen Villas and not a single other guest has ever remarked that they felt they didn’t receive a generous and filling start to their day. The breakfasts we offer, which are prepared and served in your villa, are intended to kick-start your day’s adventure in Bali, not to sustain you through to your evening meal. For the odd occasion where a guest is particularly hungry, we are happy for guests to order two breakfasts at a small surcharge, although not a single guest is yet to request this. Other places do offer all-you-can-eat/carry buffet and perhaps this should form the basis for the selection of your hotel for your next trip. We are sorry that your breakfast experience has blemished what otherwise appeared to be a great stay at The Zen Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in The Zen Villas (2BR Serenity Villa) with 3 adults and 2 children between 8 and 11th Sep 2013. 3 nights were definitely too short but that was the best we could squeeze in last minutes for holiday from our schedule.

Location: The villa is located 10mins walk from the main road (with restaurants & shops) and another 5-10mins walk to the beach. Hardy's supermarket is approximately 15mins walk away. The walk is not exactly convenient if you have children, but it is alright. Taxi is considerably cheap and the reception, Adi actually advised us on the average taxi fare, to prevent us from being overcharged.

The villa is beautiful – well kept, huge and well furnished. The kitchen was also well equipped.

We love the fact that the pool water is always warm regardless of the time we jump in! Great for the kids!

The dining menu within the villa is also very helpful as that was how we ordered our dinner every night. Very convenient for us with kids. Would have been more fun to eat out but with two children, it was more convenient to dine in, with food delivered to our footstep.

The staff members are wonderful! Prior to our visit, the Villa Manager, Fiona is very prompt and efficient in responding to all our queries via email. And the staff on ground are helpful and always cheerful! Especially the security guards. They are so sincere in offering their assistance, beyond their duty. When we couldn’t get a taxi on our first night of stay to Hardy’s, one of the guards actually offered to bring my husband on the motorbike. Well, we didn’t take up the offer as the ladies would want to do the groceries shopping as well but his offer was truly appreciated. He even lent us small change to top up for our dinner delivery as we only had big notes on our first day. Double thumbs up to the security team!

My son accidentally broke one of the vases on our last night of our stay - Thank God he was not hurt! And Sri was kind enough to promptly waive any charges when we informed her during checking out.

Just some suggestions to the management:

1. It will be good if there are shower caps available at the reception, upon request if there is no intention of providing it in every villa. It was inconvenient to shower especially with the rain shower without a shower cap.

2. I didn’t do much research before going to Bali. So I wasn’t aware that the tap water is hardwater. We were horrified when we saw the ‘dirty’ pots in the cabinet and had to heat up the pot by boiling water and scrub it very hard before using it to cook for my children. I couldn’t contact reception for a change as it was already past 6pm then. It was only the next morning that I understand from the staff who came to prepare breakfast, Made that the pots are like that due to hardwater from tap. Maybe good for the management to place a notice within the cabinet to inform guests who need to use the pots.

3. The management can consider having direction signs within the premise to direct to respective villas and reception/main gate. We couldn’t really find our way the first two times.

4. Maybe the villas around Kesari area can also come together to consider putting up signs to direct tourists to the main road and beach. The reception provided us with a map and I do understand that most visitors will stay for longer period of time to explore and would have familiarised with the area within the first few days. Just additional suggestions for consideration.

Keep up the goodwork! Will definitely stay in your villa in our next trip, provided it is not already fully booked :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puilai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Puilai. Thank you so so much for taking the time to write this email about your recent stay at The Zen Villas. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you also for the various comments and suggestions contained in your email. We take guest feedback (both good and bad) very seriously, and use such feedback as part of our decision-making process about changes in operational practice. We hope to welcome you back to The Zen Villas soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After searching the internet we came across the Zen Villas and were hesitant at first in paying over the internet. However everything went completely smoothly. The property is absolutely amazing.....we stayed in Tranquility Villa G and had our own pool and separate spa. Total privacy and gorgeous surroundings. The staff couldn't do enough for us and every small request was attended to promptly. Having so much space, inside and out was wonderful. We have been to Bali many times but always stayed in 5 star hotels.....we are now hooked on the villa lifestyle because of Zen Villas. Everyone to their own taste but we found the bed to be a little too firm, however everything else was perfect.

We have already recommended Zen Villas to family and friends who will be visiting Bali in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear DenR77. Thank you so much for letting us and other travelers know of the wonderful experience you had at The Zen Villas. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry the bed was a little too firm for your liking, but happy to hear that you are now hooked on a villa holiday thanks to The Zen Villas! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#5 of 140 in Sanur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing