We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Extras”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #6 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Well maintained accomodation with efficient friendly service in trying conditions. On my arrival at Zen, following heavy rains for a couple of days, there was a stormwater flooding issue. Access to all the villas was ankle deep in water. One of the staff carried my bag on his shoulder whilst I waded along behind. Very pleased with the accomodation and facilities. Clean, fresh, well provisioned. Very surprised to find full selection of crockery, cutlery & stemware. Breakfast is brought to your room each morning at the requested time & the friendly staff cook the eggs to your preference. I would highly recommend a stay at Zen, even though it is at the more expensive range of available accomodation. Make sure you get your bearings, tricky getting back if on foot (I got lost twice, but had all day to do it).

Room Tip: I stayed in a tranquility villa, which has it's own outdoor spa (not heated)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rice-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 Our villa was spacious and of a high standard. The living area were spacious. The bathroom in our villa had some issues - you had to climb into the bath to turn the taps on as the shower blocked access to the taps - the bath was tiny. villa more suited to families.
Unfortunately there were renovations happening in one of the Villas so not very restful during day but Manager Fiona was apologetic and provided a free massage. I have read other reviews of this occurring so i would suggest checking if any renovations occurring as we only knew after checkingn.
The only other detractor is the level of privacy. The perimeter fencing of the villas is not solid walls, but vegetation. This is a nice green touch, but does not provide 100% privacy, as we have experienced in other villas in Bali. When you walk along the lanes to your villa you can see into other villas’ pool areas. If absolute privacy is a requirement, then this may be a detractor.
The reception staff are brilliant, Ari and the others are so wiling to help with anythg - butit is not 24 hour receptin although there is 24 hour secuirty, the locality if you are on foot is not easy to beach and altogh taxis were easy and cheap many had trouble locating the Villas. if you had pushbikes, scooter would have life much easier but wiite a way from earing and beach, and although several restaurants apparently deliver reception is shut at night and the book listing them is locked away. breakfast is okay if only staying for a few days and is cooked for you in your villa but gets no hum.

Room Tip: Not much privacy if that is what you are after and check building program
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here in late December 2011. Our villa was spacious and of a high standard. We only wanted a 1 bedroom unit, but we got a 2 bedroom unit with the second room locked. This meant that the living area were spacious.
Unfortunately we were next to a privately owned family villa and the owners were having the rear boundary wall built. The builders were working on the wall as close as 2m from the spa. This was clearly a one off situation, but the timing and planning wasn’t good.
The only other detractor is the level of privacy. The perimeter fencing of the villas is not solid walls, but vegetation. This is a nice green touch, but does not provide 100% privacy, as we have experienced in other villas in Bali. When you walk along the lanes to your villa you can see into other villas’ pool areas. If absolute privacy is a requirement, then this may be a detractor.
The reception staff are brilliant, and we liked the locality. We rented a scooter to go to the Sanur main area and used taxis to travel further afield.

Room Tip: Ask about proposed building activity and get one at the end of a lane for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were 2 families who stayed at the villas with a 2 year old and 6 month old. We had a 3 BR villa with a small plunge pool and large garden and verandah area. The villa was clean, well furnished, had everything we needed. It was a 7 minute walk from Hardys supermarket and the main strip with a dozen or so restaurants to choose from. Most would deliver too.
We had the most lovely staff, fresh beautiful breakfasts delivered each morning and nothing was too much trouble which was so great with the little ones. The little things like extra choccy croissants for breakfast or a phone call to say our taxi was waiting made all the difference.
We also hired baby equipment from 'Bali baby" which was set up and delivered on arrival which was a godsend.
This was our 3rd trip to Bali with little ones and we will be back to Zen Villas.

Room Tip: The villas are all set in stunning lush Balinese gardens and the pools & spas are all different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeejWaikerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked a family trip to Bali for January/Feb this year (2012). With all preliminary dealings/conversations done via the internet, I was already impressed! When we arrived the children squealed with delight & I tell you I was too. The villa was beautiful, the grounds were gorgeous. We were in great need of some family time & needed a home away from home & this was it, fabulously appointed, clean, modern, comfortable, it was heaven. Every morning we had a beautiful staff member come & attend our breakfasts which were absolutely fabulously delicious, a wonderful selection to suit all tastes, and more than enough, I in fact looked forward to the ladies that came every day, they were lovely to talk to. Any time we needed a staff member or assistance they were readily available & always always pleasant to deal with. The villa's were made up & cleaned every day, inside & out, there were so spacious & really I can't say enough good things because I loved it!

Having young children going out every night was a little hard & so we had take-aways delivered which was easy & there is a good selection of businesses offering that service.

While were were in heaven, the heavens decided to rain, and rain & rain, alas this put quite a damper on our holiday as it was difficult to get out of the villa due to flooding, which, escalated effecting an evacuation. This was handled with absolute professionalism, understanding & urgency while it was due to nature & no fault of the Zen Villa's, it was just one of those things. We were very grateful to the staff who were there to help us transfer to another hotel.

When we got to the other hotel, we missed the Zen Villa's & everything about them, staying were we did, did not compare at all.

As for the Sanur area, well having been to Bali before I loved staying in Sanur & much prefer this area over Kuta. We had to take a cab everywhere due to having small children and this was never a problem. It is a lovely area of Bali. The villas are in what I feel is a good location.

Thank you Zen Villa's & staff, we had a beautiful time with you & you know we are also planning to come back, not only to Bali, but to the Zen Villa's (not in rainy season though he he he!)

Thank you - David & Donna Parker & Family (Jan/Feb 2012)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A peaceful beautiful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Bali. We stayed there 5 days in Villa F, so clean and well maintained. The staff are so friendly and Adi so helpful. Breakfast can get a little hohum, with eggs on the menu every day but the pastries and fruit platters are wonderful. I will be staying there again. Thank you Zen Villas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We recently stayed at Zen Villas in the Tranquility Villa, this was our second stay at Zen. As per our last visit everything was perfect. The villas are always very clean and oh so welcoming. There is nothing that you need for a perfect holiday that is not at Zen Villas, they have thought of everything.
We had some fantastic conversations with the staff, especially Sri and Adi. I wish I could remember all the staff names as they were all fantastic. One of the days my partner got "Bali Belly" so the house/ breakfast ladies went and got him some guava juice and then went and picked fresh guava leaves and made up a special concoction for him, you do not get this kind of personal service anywhere else. I also had a lovely conversation with Adi whilst waiting for a taxi, it was raining and there was a long wait so he waited with me the whole time and kept me amused so that I hardly noticed the long wait. It these small touches that set Zen apart from the rest. Fiona and Trish are also wonderful and their knowledge of the area is a great help.
I highly recommend Zen Villas and cannot wait for my next trip to Sanur and Zen.

Room Tip: Tranquility Villa H has a great lap pool with overflowing jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindie-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tandjung Sari Hotel
Tandjung Sari Hotel
#5 of 82 in Sanur
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.8 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
0.1 mi away
Klumpu Bali Resort
Klumpu Bali Resort
#3 of 82 in Sanur
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: $124 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing