We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded paradise”
Review of Villa Mahapala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mahapala
Ranked #25 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Secluded paradise”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, beautifully crafted villas. Just amazing!
Just loved being around the private pool. The staff were fantastic and very helpful.
The only complaint was breakfast, lacked variety.
Great location near the beach

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a fantastic villa. We loved every moment of our 5 day stay. The staff was excellent service great! Would returnany time. Our villa was dated somework needs to be done but still great value for money. Perfect for honeymoon or romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a new villa and not on street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Mahapala in May 2013. We arrived late to our room and thought we'd have drink to unwind. There were no glasses nor bottle opener in our room. We rang reception, they couldn't assist as they don't have access to the kitchen after hours. The problem is, is that we never got glasses for the 4 days we were there! The breakfast was awful. We chose to eat at Lutu's on the beach. The toilet in the bathroom was rusting which made it look dirty. The pool filter came on at around 5.30am so there was no chance of a sleep in! The location of the villa is great,the bed was comfortable and the private pool was nice also. No WiFi in your villa, only in public areas. We had friends staying at Mahagiri villas and their villa was amazing as was the service and food, and all for the same price as we paid! I would not stay here again as there's better accommodation for the price that Mahapala charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our honeymoon and were blown away by the villa and its one minute stroll to the beach. The staff were friendly and we had the doubles massage in our villa which came with two bottles of wine as well as a relaxing rose petal bath.

Our favourite thing was the large plunge pool that was accessed through three doors due to it being flush with the villa. We jumped in from the front door, lounge area and even bathroom just because we could. Unique layout which really encouraged those midnight romantic swims. Huge bed, high ceilings, double sink, outside rain shower and vast bathroom with the biggest and deepest bath we've ever seen. Villa 14 if that sounds your cup of tea.

The location is spot on. We took a ride using the free bikes and explored but really all you need to do is walk out the complex one minute and your on the beach in amongst all the best restaurants.
Ps. They serve THE best cheese burger I have ever had in my life here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

While Mahapala looks nice on arrival, we ran into a few issues during our first couple days in our 5 day/4 night stay.

Upon arrival we checked into our room and the staff forgot that it was our honeymoon, which is fine and we let it go. At first it looked fine but then we noticed there was paint peeling from the tub, and there were ants in there too. We asked for a room change, which we got, along with some honeymoon flower decorations. However, there were footprint marks and some light stains on the sheets. Upon notifying the staff, they were happy to change the sheets but somehow it took about an hour while we waited as they tried to bring new sheets and the staff themselves saw the "new set" was also dirty. We tried finding the manager and notifying him that all we want is a clean bathroom, sheets, and some relaxation. They said they would talk to the manager and see if they could do anything else to make our stay more enjoyable. After more than 24 hours and a couple times of asking, they said they could give us a complimentary set lunch. Fine.

Night 3 there was some party going on next door with really loud music. We called the staff and ask them to ask the people next door to turn it down. after 15 min, the music was still on. we called the staff again, they said they called but no one answered... So we asked them that they have to actually walk over. Which happened about half an hour...

Long story short, Mahapala is a nice location as it's only a 2 minute walk to the beach, but for the price paid, the cleanliness and overall management is not up to par. I will likely check out another place before considering coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djayku22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were there for 7 nights from the 29th of April. The pick-up from the airport and welcome at the hotel were flawless. The hotel is situated in a very quiet street about 100 m from the beach, so noise was never a problem. We used the dining rooms terrace , next to the main swimming pool, for breakfast every morning and usually there was only one other table occupied. Wonderfully quiet, but of course it was low season and hotels had very low occupancy.
The buildings, interiors, fittings, etc. all looked near new, were spotless and clearly well maintained. The villa was spacious, with the "living room" open air next to the villa's pool. Just a wonderful spot to spend an afternoon after being at the beach for the morning and after lunch at one of the dozen or so beach restaurants within 200 m of Mahapala. Would definitely be happy to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantadiver40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury western australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Mahapala is a relatively new Villa complex at the northern end of Sanur Beach. It is in one of the best locations for shopping and restaurants including the beach front dining.

Even though new – rooms have some minor maintenance issues eg toilet not flushing properly (fixed after 3rd try by staff). Staff training is also lacking – the staff try hard, are enthusiastic, but need better training on food serving.

Would I go back” Yes. This is a good standard (4.5 stars) villa accommodation close to everything.

Very comfortable Kings beds and TWO air-conditioning units – which is rare, but highly efficient in cooling the villa on hot days

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourism1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#25 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mahagiri Villas
Mahagiri Villas
#1 of 140 in Sanur
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajanta Villas
Ajanta Villas
#3 of 140 in Sanur
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mahapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mahapala

Property: Villa Mahapala
Address: Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Mahapala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mahapala is a luxury resort villa located in the quiet village of Sanur. The Villa's unique feature is its focus on the twelve signs of the zodiac. Exceptionally designed with immaculate facilities, Villa Mahapala will leave you with an unforgettable impression of your holiday in Bali. Each of the elegant villas, complete with its own private pool, is individually designed on one of the zodiac signs. The zodiac theme continues throughout the Resort, and our tasteful and elegant atmosphere will ensure that our guests enjoy a personalized villa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mahapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Villa Mahapala Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing