We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoil Yourself!!”
Review of Villa Mahapala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mahapala
Ranked #25 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room 114 - My husband and I have just returned from a delightful 7 days at Villa Mahapala. We absolutely love Sanur and this was our first stay at Mahapala. We have stayed at Ajunta Villas previously and were most impressed but the price has risen $90 per night so we chose Mahapala this time, and we are so glad we did. We have no complaints. A choice of eating breakfast in restaurant or villa each morning, at no cost and a very diverse choice of foods to start our days. Villa was cleaned each day to a very high standard, one day we even found our hand towels had been folded into the shape of a swan with frangipani flowers placed all over the bed and patterned into a heart, this really made us smile and we didnt want to get into bed that night to mess it up!!! The outdoor shower was fantastic and hot water was constant. Big bath/spa in the interior bathroom which was all very clean. The bed was kingsize and extremely comfortable. Tv and dvd player in the room. The bedroom was large and very accomodating. The private pool was lovely, two lazyboys beside it to snooze on under a gazebo. 2 seater couch and 2 comfy chairs to sit on under a second gazebo by the pool plus a dining table and chairs. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, giving a very personal feeling to the hotel. The Zodiac Bar is very pleasant to sit in of an afternoon for a drink and chat. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to the beach and also to Luhtu's cake shop which we highly recommend if you need a kilojoule hit!! We would definately stay here again and cannot recommend the resort highly enough. If you want a private villa, worth every cent, the private feeling and also the personal touch from staff, stay at Villa Mahapala.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatpraylove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I expected a lot more for our money. The place is nice , good location to beach, breakfast ok, staff struggled with english. We stayed in 2 bedroom villa, which was right on the road, very noisy and lots of dogs barking at night. We travelled with 2 children ages 3 and 5, thinking that they could sleep in the second room..... WRONG. Far to dangerous as their bedroom had 2 doors leading straight into pool and no interconnecting door to main bedroom...Spa not operating, cooking class not running yet!!!! Got charged when my son accidently broke a plate, but was ok for them to serve us breakfast on chipped bowls and plates.....Private pool in villa was freezing and the main pool not much better......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Persan1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's hard to rate this place because it works okay. Nice villas, nice location closed to the beach, nice gym. but you don't have the " villa feeling" as you have in others places, its more like a "resort feeling" witch are okay if thats what you looking for.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom pool villa. The villa is nice, so is the pool.

There are a few things that lacks..
Things don't run smoothly, staff are friendly but the logistics in the place just don't work, ex. The spa, which they promote on the website are closed, They forgot to serve our breakfast is that the villa.

Another annoying thing.. the 2 bedroom villas are next to the road, and there’s a lot of traffic :-(

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank kosmopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Whenever I'm having an "off" day, or I'm swamped at work, I think back to my days at Villa Mahapala with a fond smile. I didn't find Sanur all that exciting, but that's quite all right since we didn't want to leave our villa...ever. Why would we? Between the delicious in-villa breakfasts, to the gorgeous shared infinity pool, to the luxurious bath tub and outdoor shower, to the refreshing dips in our private plunge pool, we hardly ventured out into town! Our villa was beautiful, and the staff was lovely and most helpful. It was pure relaxation at the end of our amazing first trip to Bali. Counting the days until we return!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koala_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Bali and we were not really enjoying Bali at all, but the nice place of Villa Mahapala was it worth. We have no comparision with other Bali villas (as one guy wrote above), but we have much travel experience and can compare it with one of the most attractive hotel - Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi.
We love that place absolutly, the private atmosphere and the young, very friendly and helpful team as well. The service was at every time perfect.
For breakfast you can choose between 5-6 possibilities (like Japanese, Continental, American...). We were to all three breakfast time to late (due to our "appointment"), but this was no problem.
The beach is not so nice and the traffic is horrible for that small isle, the Balinese people like to rib you off, but the hotel is definitely the nicest place, you can stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wuschel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews, we started thinking that we may have made a mistake in booking Mahapala, but this certainly wasn't the case. It looked great online, and it was in reality. The staff were really friendly; not only the desk and restaurant staff but even the gardeners, pool guy and security staff. They always greeted us with a smile, a look in the eye and a big hello.

The villa, grounds and pool were fantastic. The outside shower was awesome, especially at night under the stars and moon. Bed was comfortable and the room well presented.

This was one of the most relaxing short holidays (10 days) I've had for a long time and Villa Mahapala in Sanur was a large part of achieving that.

There were a couple of very minor lapses, as you would expect anywhere, but frankly if you're going to make a big deal of these things and let them ruin the experience, then you're either a primadonna or a whinger. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TheAdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Firstly I must say that I have travelled a lot and this is by no means the worst place I have stayed. My main issue is that when I pay $20 for a hostel I know what I am getting. Or nearly $350 a night I expected a little more bang for my buck. Overall the whole complex is nice but for a reasonably new hotel it is showing its poor construction in places. The main pool is really nice but the plunge pool was so noisy I hardly used it. The filter is poorly located under the day bed and is unbearable. Our pickup service was late with no explanation or apology and the transport was an old Toyota 4wd which didn't reflect the price of the hotel.
The bathroom is well equipped but it is so hot in there that we didn't use the bath. The shower is outside though.
The breakfast has a good choice but I had better at hotels costing a quarter the price (eg the haven in Seminyak).
There is WiFi in public area and if you want in room you have to pay. This is annoying especially considering your 3hr voucher expires in 6 hrs. So not really worth buying unless you plan on using 3hrs straight.
At other hotels in Bali you are greeted by every staff member you pass like gardeners and service staff. I thought this was annoying at first but at mahapala some of the staff look at you with contempt.
This was the last part of our honeymoon and we wished we had've just stayed in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juzz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dampati Villas
Dampati Villas
#44 of 79 in Sanur
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mahagiri Villas
Mahagiri Villas
#1 of 145 in Sanur
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajanta Villas
Ajanta Villas
#3 of 145 in Sanur
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mahapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mahapala

Address: Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: $143 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Mahapala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mahapala is a luxury resort villa located in the quiet village of Sanur. The Villa's unique feature is its focus on the twelve signs of the zodiac. Exceptionally designed with immaculate facilities, Villa Mahapala will leave you with an unforgettable impression of your holiday in Bali. Each of the elegant villas, complete with its own private pool, is individually designed on one of the zodiac signs. The zodiac theme continues throughout the Resort, and our tasteful and elegant atmosphere will ensure that our guests enjoy a personalized villa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mahapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Villa Mahapala Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing