We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Vila Shanti - 1 l in Vila - is your typical 3 star balinese hotel when it comes to the accomodation: that is the quality of the rooms. However, what separates Vila Shanti from many others is it's location. Located right on the beach the hotel has it's own sun lounges feet from the beach entrance to the hotel. The entry from Jl. Danau Tamblingan is among some great restaurants and shops and only about a 5 minute walk to Hardy's.
Breakfast, included in the price, is a basic American breakfast consisting of eggs of your choice, bacon, corn, noodles, rice and a selection of tropical fruit. More than adequate.
The rooms are clean and basic,all with a.c.. Housekeeping is done daily with sheets and towels changed daily. Also, a nice little touch is that sealed bottled water is given daily to each guest.
The Griya Santrian is directly next door and having stayed at both Griya and now Shanti I cannot justify in spending an extra $US 70 - 80 a night to stay in Griya Santrian unless you intend spending ALL your stay in the hotel room.
We have already booked and paid for another 4 week stay at Vila Shanti next June 2011.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodandwine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 171 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my two children aged 8 and 10 and other family and friends for a short stay in mid December. I would rate this hotel extremely highly for its price. The location is unbeatable. It is right on the beach beside Griya Santrian and there is easy access for transport, restaurants and shopping - as well as the unforgetable views. The rooms were large, very clean and comfortable and were equipped with a fridge and television. They also had a very roomy balcony with comfortable chairs. We stayed in a deluxe/superior room which worked out to just over A$75 for a triple per night. As per earlier posts on this hotel, I believe the standard rooms are a good option as well, being close to the pool and having larger windows for more natural light. The room tariff included breakfast. Breakfast was fairly standard Bali hotel fare, with tea and coffee, eggs cooked just as you like them, bacon, a fruit selection and as much toast (toasted by guests) and danish pastries as you like. There was also an Indonesian breakfast choice. The gardens were not the best that I have seen in Bali but were still quiet and relaxing and full of wildlife which kept the kids (and I) entertained for hours. The pool and restaurant are beside the beach and are both large and inviting. The staff are very friendly, honest and keen to make your stay a comfortable and pleasant one. The only negative worth mentioning is the fact that some of the hotel rooms near the pool were undergoing renovations when we were staying at the hotel and it could be quite noisy at times. This will not impact on future visits, and will mean we have some newly renovated rooms near the pool to look forward to!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenofpuddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Stay very comfortable. Rooms spotless, good size, king size bed, dresser, table chairs, tv, fridge, air con, wardrobe, shower in bath, fresh linen and bottled water daily, nice outdoor setting each room. Gardens improving. Pool area good. Breakfast adequate juice, fruit, tea coffee, cooked eggs or pancakes, ample. The dining area has a great outlook over the water. Beachfront quiet location. Stayed 10 days wanted to stay another 10 days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We were starting our 3 week stay in Bali with 2 nights in Sanur.Having stayed at Santrian Griya (next door)last time we wanted something on the beach but not with the price tag.Vila Shanti is right next door and directly on the beach.We arrived after midnight and were collected from the airport with free transfers from the hotel.We were quickly shown to our rooms.We had requested ground floor rooms for the three parties but were only given one.Not a big drama but the hotel was not full and we could have been accomodated.The rooms were clean and spacious and met our needs.The pool was fabulous and the kids loved it.The water was quite warm and in view of the beach.Sunrise was a blissful time on the beach or on one of the pagodas on the beach.Breakfast was provided but very basic.You cooked your own toast and there was a small plate of 2 fruits to choose from.You could choose eggs of your choice and a small piece of bacon.Indonesian breakfast was also available.Im not a big breakfast person so it was Ok for me but if you like your breakfast maybe eat out of the hotel.Breakfasts are so cheap in any of the beachside cafes anyway.
There was no Wifi available in the hotel so we had to wander the beach to find a hotspot.There was work going on with the renovations but they never interfered with us as we were out of the hotel by 9am anyway.The gardens leave alot to be desired.They are run down and not very enticing.Grotty statues with scaffolding around them.The big plus of this hotel is its location.It is walking distance to the Sindu Beach Markets where we spend most of our time anyway with our local friends.Bennos cafe being our favourite.The rooms were $62US for a deluxe but I think next time if we stayed we would take a standard ground floor room near the pool.You cant pay the hotel directly and have to wait for the gentleman from the tour company with his mobile credit card facilities to pay.Staff were great, especially the ladies at the front desk.I would not recommend this place for a weeks stay or a romantic holiday.There are so many other better places to stay but for our purposes which was a quick port of call before we travelled the East Coast, it was perfect.I would use it again but only for a short stay.Looking forward to seeing it after the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I reviewed this hotel in September and again now after our stay in December 2009. We had 2 standard rooms for my family and our friend had a superior room. The hotel is nearing the completion of scheduled renovations of 2 blocks of standard rooms but we were not inconvenienced by this at all. Noise was kept to a minimum and it was interesting to see the progress. I managed to look inside one of the 'new' rooms and the results were very good. New lights, ceiling and walls, bathroom renovation (the bathtub has been removed) and there is a new good sized shower and vanity. The upstairs rooms have a new railing on the balcony and timber has been re stained where necessary. There is also new tiling on patios, steps and other various areas. I asked if the other standard rooms were to be refurbished but the answer was 'not at this stage'. The person I asked did not know if TV's or any other facilities were to be added to the 'new' rooms. The other major work is the complete replacement of the pavers in the central courtyard and a lot of the garden has been cleared to make way for this but the gardener was busy re planting grass and other plants. The water feature was also re painted. As for the rooms we stayed in although they are a bit dated and could do with a bit of a facelift they were clean, large and comfortable. The standard rooms are larger than the superior and have bigger windows to allow for more natural light. The air con worked well in the two standard rooms we had (number 6 & 7) but not so well in room number 2 the superior room. All rooms have a small fridge, none have tea and coffee making facilities and there is only a TV in the superior room. Bed linen and towels are replaced each day and two bottles of water are left in the room free of charge. The restaurant serves the usual choice of eggs any style, bacon, pancake, tea and coffee and juice for breakfast and you can also help yourself to fresh fruit, toast and a few pastries. Some mornings there is also two men playing gamelan at the restaurant. We did try the restaurant for lunch one day but found the food we chose rather basic yet fresh. Room service is also offered. The pool was kept clean and there are sun loungers available both here and on the beach front. There is free wifi at the restaurant. Vila Shanti has an excellent beach front location. It is not easy to get a beach front hotel in Sanur for this price. There are plenty of great restaurants and shops all walking distance. If you are after a good budget priced beach front hotel then this place is worth considering.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Another reviewer found the staff unfriendly, but we found the reception staff good - one showed perfect patience repeating what information he had to a guest who was enquiring about renewing his visa. Restaurant staff casual ("you can open the wine yourself, it's a screwtop") but pleasant enough. Room basic (no kettle, TV reception poor) but good size with lovely carved door and windows onto the balcony. Towels slightly stained but clean. Plumbing, bed, aircon all good. Half the price of immediate neighbour Griya Santrian where we also stayed (flasher but room not available for further nights so we moved to Vila Shanti). Right on the beach and handy to Sanur's best shops (eg Uluwatu cutwork lace ladies' clothes).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Unfriendly staff, old and dirty rooms, call themself "international standard" but not television, internettconnection, hairdryer, hot water, etc..

We have been traveling around mother eart many times, and stayed in many places.. but this hotel is not value for your money... never again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.1 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#71 of 79 in Sanur
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#34 of 79 in Sanur
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Shanti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Shanti Beach Hotel

Address: Jl Danau Tamblingan 47, Sanur, Denpasar 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#29 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $74 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Shanti Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Shanti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing