We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for seven nights end of February, myself, wife and another couple. We had superior rooms on the southern side upstairs which were spacious and clean with a nicely renovated bathroom. We looked at other rooms there, and while the downstairs standard rooms on the same side were smaller and a bit dark, the standard rooms on the northern side have more windows, are a lot brighter and not a great deal different from the superiors. Breakfast was good, fairly basic but all you need really. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. However the reception staff were not as friendly, which is a shame as you gain your first impression here. The location is great and despite a sizeable group of long term European tourists we could always get a lounge on the beach. Bit more difficult around the pool where the lounges were occupied almost all day, but at least the people were actually using them rather than reserving them all day. A small downside was some green staining of the pool tiles which initially gave the impression of uncleanliness due to algae. This does not seem to be the case as the pool was well sanitised and the green did not come away,but it is a bad first look. The food in the restaurant was always good and inexpensive. One night we had the seafood BBQ which was an excellent seafood platter for two for 220,000Rp which consisted of small lobster, king prawns, scallops, schnapper fillets, mahi mahi fillets, tuna steak, fries and a salad bar with soup and dessert. Great value and tasty fresh food. All in all would definitely stay at Vila Shanti again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 176 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel in the beginning of February 2013 and liked our stay.
The hotel was clean, the beach was great but it was full of Dutch retiree tourists which occupied
the sunbeds on the beach from early morning till closing time, the sunbeds at the pool from morning till dusk etc.
The garden and the pool were lovely, and the location was great near the main road of Sanur and the shops and bars and restaurants.The rooms were good, not luxurious, but OK. We were
bothered by the mosquitoes, but we were both on malaria medication after a long journey to Cambodia, so we were not worried.
The breakfasts in the restaurant by the sea were very good and I hope I managed to teach the
boy at the egg-frying counter the meaning of "sunny side up". My wife´s capri shorts which were white turned yellow in the laundry, but the second try turned them white again.On the whole we enjoyed our stay (next time we check the Dutch in advance)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel seems to be favored by the retiree community and is as basic as a good basic hotel could be, but I would only recommend it if one is bargain hunting. The location is great, the landscaping excellent, the breakfast 'adequate' considering the hotel rate ($100 per night for single occupancy in February), the food and service are nothing to write home about and the pool a perfect illustration of 'two's company, three's a crowd'. The room I stayed in was spacious, clean, the bed comfortable but the furniture long overdue for an overhaul. And being surrounded by lush greenery, don’t be surprised to see the occasional but harmless creepy crawly calling in for a visit. The staff was all gracious and always smiling, but I found the personnel behind the reception somewhat detached and indifferent. The beach is superb, but not ideal for swimming (apparently this is the case with all Balinese beaches). The walkway outside the hotel I was told stretches for five kilometers but it seems only a small section of that comes alive at night; but it makes for a great stroll at sunset. You should also checkout sunrise. The entire bird population goes into overdrive at that time producing a delightful symphony of bird sounds perfectly in sync with the breathtaking colours of dawn.

Room Tip: I found the balcony of my first floor room far more pleasant and serene than the 'exposed' p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al29252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This small hotel is very conveniently situated on the beautiful beach of Sanur and has a very nice garden and pool. From the restaurant you have a great view on the beach. Breakfast is exellent and the staff makes you feel at home. The atmosphere is very relaxed and it's a very quiet place. Rooms are good, although not very luxurious. I hope to return one day...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNdilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice place to stay, relaxing and friendly. Stayed in January 2013 and found the place to be fully booked with retired tourists from Holland. They stay there for 2 months and even take their own Doctor. Only found one other Australian there. Facilities are good and clean and very central to the centre of Sanur. We enjoyed our stay at Vila Shanti.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had stayed at the Beji Ubud resort for the first half of our holiday and, for the same price ($100/night), we were at first disappointed witht the Villa Shanti after so much luxury in Ubud. But the staff at Villa Shanti were lovely (despite often limited English) and the gardens beautiful. We had rooms on the first floor and from our balconies we overlooked beautiful gardens and myriad birds and, one day, a squirrel in our Frangipani tree - lovely.

If you are Australian and only coming for the beach, stay home. It is rare to find beaches superior to the ones on our front door steps. The beach at Sanur is so small it is almost non existent at high tide. There was no surf whatsoever when we were there in January. But we both swam in the sea. There were heaps of boat hire places nearby from jet skis and speed boat rides to paddling fishing boats.

If you're coming to wind down and maybe learn a bit about different cultural values, this hotel and Sanur are laid back places to do so. Surpirsingly there were lots of fairly cheap restaurants and bars in the main street with very good covers bands, so Sanur, while laid back, was not as dull as the Lonely Planet had made out.

There is an excellent walking/cycling track along the entire length of Sanur Beach which includes the place where the locals hang out and also catch the boat to Lambongan Island. The Villa Shanti will rent you a bike for $3 for 24 hours - excellent value - and such a great way to explore Sanur while looking after your knees and getting fit.

The hotel is not young - the lock to my room was a bit tricky and the hot water took ages to come through. But sitting on your balcony or lounging in the pool or the beachside restaurant far from made up for this. Sanur is a very easy place to stay. Don't miss the night market, not far up the road - the food is amazingly cheap. The hotel restaurant does a great Caesar Salad for $4.50 and you can get fresh fruit shakes brought to your sun lounge from the beach-side restaurant for less than $3. For breakfast every morning I had fresh papaya and yummy yoghurt plus a freshly made omelette with everything - this was included in the tarriff.

The wifi in the room or on the balcony was not so great but no problem from at the restaurant and the beach sunlounges - very good. The TV in my room had lots of very interesting local channels as well as CNN and an American movies channel with Indonesian subtitles - educational.

The Villa Shanti caters to German and Dutch guests, some of whom were fairly unfriendly, but better than coming all the way to Bal to hang out with only Australians. (There were bars in Sanur where you could go and watch the Aussies VS Sri Lankans at cricket, it that was your wont).

We went on lots of good day trips from the Villa Shanti - from taxi rides to Seminyak to guided tours of temples and a day trip to Lambongan Island. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: I thought upstairs was better as your balcony is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0v0castrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hi there,
I have had a good time in the villa shanti beach. The rooms are Ok but it is in the middle of everything and the stuff are very friendly. The beach is pretty good and having breakfast with the seaview is nice.
Thanks to everybody for the pleasant time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulpenfee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#33 of 79 in Sanur
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Shanti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Shanti Beach Hotel

Address: Jl Danau Tamblingan 47, Sanur, Denpasar 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#29 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $69 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Shanti Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Shanti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing