We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice place to stay, relaxing and friendly. Stayed in January 2013 and found the place to be fully booked with retired tourists from Holland. They stay there for 2 months and even take their own Doctor. Only found one other Australian there. Facilities are good and clean and very central to the centre of Sanur. We enjoyed our stay at Vila Shanti.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had stayed at the Beji Ubud resort for the first half of our holiday and, for the same price ($100/night), we were at first disappointed witht the Villa Shanti after so much luxury in Ubud. But the staff at Villa Shanti were lovely (despite often limited English) and the gardens beautiful. We had rooms on the first floor and from our balconies we overlooked beautiful gardens and myriad birds and, one day, a squirrel in our Frangipani tree - lovely.

If you are Australian and only coming for the beach, stay home. It is rare to find beaches superior to the ones on our front door steps. The beach at Sanur is so small it is almost non existent at high tide. There was no surf whatsoever when we were there in January. But we both swam in the sea. There were heaps of boat hire places nearby from jet skis and speed boat rides to paddling fishing boats.

If you're coming to wind down and maybe learn a bit about different cultural values, this hotel and Sanur are laid back places to do so. Surpirsingly there were lots of fairly cheap restaurants and bars in the main street with very good covers bands, so Sanur, while laid back, was not as dull as the Lonely Planet had made out.

There is an excellent walking/cycling track along the entire length of Sanur Beach which includes the place where the locals hang out and also catch the boat to Lambongan Island. The Villa Shanti will rent you a bike for $3 for 24 hours - excellent value - and such a great way to explore Sanur while looking after your knees and getting fit.

The hotel is not young - the lock to my room was a bit tricky and the hot water took ages to come through. But sitting on your balcony or lounging in the pool or the beachside restaurant far from made up for this. Sanur is a very easy place to stay. Don't miss the night market, not far up the road - the food is amazingly cheap. The hotel restaurant does a great Caesar Salad for $4.50 and you can get fresh fruit shakes brought to your sun lounge from the beach-side restaurant for less than $3. For breakfast every morning I had fresh papaya and yummy yoghurt plus a freshly made omelette with everything - this was included in the tarriff.

The wifi in the room or on the balcony was not so great but no problem from at the restaurant and the beach sunlounges - very good. The TV in my room had lots of very interesting local channels as well as CNN and an American movies channel with Indonesian subtitles - educational.

The Villa Shanti caters to German and Dutch guests, some of whom were fairly unfriendly, but better than coming all the way to Bal to hang out with only Australians. (There were bars in Sanur where you could go and watch the Aussies VS Sri Lankans at cricket, it that was your wont).

We went on lots of good day trips from the Villa Shanti - from taxi rides to Seminyak to guided tours of temples and a day trip to Lambongan Island. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: I thought upstairs was better as your balcony is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0v0castrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hi there,
I have had a good time in the villa shanti beach. The rooms are Ok but it is in the middle of everything and the stuff are very friendly. The beach is pretty good and having breakfast with the seaview is nice.
Thanks to everybody for the pleasant time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulpenfee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had 5 nights in October with myself & husband. A very convenient location on the beach and in the centre part of Sanur. Found the rooms spacious - we were in an upstairs room which had a lovely balcony. Bathroom a little on the smaller side, and with only small windows high up very little air circulating which sometimes made it a ilttle smelly. The toiletaries with on the sparce side, but that is OK with us as we always bring our own.
Staff were tremendous and couldn't do enough for us. Were always greated with a smile and hello by the gardening staff.
Breakfast was included, although we did tire of it after a couple of days and experimented further afield for breakfast and preferred The Porch Cafe only a short walk from Villa Shanti.
Would recommd this accommodation mostly for its location, cost and the lovely staff. We personally prefer to stay in smaller establishments as they feel more intimate to us - just our preference. Jess

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessietau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Again I stayed here & I loved it. I had a newly renovated room on the ground floor. most of the staff is the same [ I always see that as a good sign] the b/fast is very good overlooking the beach & thurs. PM a fantastic seafood BBq on the beach. There is heaps of new restaurants in Sanur now & so I find this an excellent stay.

Room Tip: I always ask to check out the exact room for that room rate. Also order the type of bed. It can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrainne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my second time staying in Sanur ,the first being the Griya Santrian and I was very satisfied with the hotel , Vila Shanti is a lot smaller which I really liked, at times I felt we had the place to ourselves, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was nice and the food from the restaurant was great. I especially loved sitting having my breakfast overlooking the beach, overall great value for money, I will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Because the hotel is quite small, location of all the rooms are good ,I would check that the room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed here previously but this time we were very disappointed with the hotel. The best thing about it is its position and the restaurant overlooking Sanur beach. The pool is also OK. However there is no tea/coffee making facility in the room, minimal toiletries - a very small soap, toilet paper so thin it is like tissue paper and no ventilation in the bathroom and very small towels. We found the front office staff unfriendly and unhelpful - a change from last time we were there.
Will not be back..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.4 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#33 of 79 in Sanur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Shanti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Shanti Beach Hotel

Address: Jl Danau Tamblingan 47, Sanur, Denpasar 80001, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#28 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $69 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Shanti Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Shanti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing