We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolphins are nice, but the room is terrible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Singaraja
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dolphins are nice, but the room is terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Oh my god, the room is terrible! No phone, the lights are burnt and they have spooky deco in the toilet. Breakfast is no frill and the lobby lights are turned off at night! But if you can over come all these, the mini zoo and dolphins in the pool are really very interesting. And the beach is really close thus very accessible to fishermen ready to give you a ride in their fishing boats to chase the wild dolphins in the sea! The kids will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemonCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    34
    20
    38
See reviews for
64
27
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I would like to thank you so much for all the negative reviews that I came to this hotel with very very low expectation. I am taking their dolphin therapy package for 5 nights. And it is better than I was expected. My austistic daughter love the dolphin on her first day. The therapists are great people. They know what they are doing. This is Indonesia, by looking at the living standard of locals people around. These animals are in a much better condition. My older daughter loves the animals there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zihanong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 kids for US $80 a night which is very cheap considering breakfast included but keep in mind you pay for what you pay for what you get. The room was average, our toilet played up as soon as we arrived & we had umpteen maintenance men coming to fix it. Am sure it was all due to lack maintaining their septic system. We found staff very friendly & willing to help.
As our kids were small they accommodated them by putting a single mattress on the floor. The kids loved it here. They resort had otter shows, dolphin shows, snakes, sharks, & other various animals plus offered pony rides & swimming with the dolphins.
One of the dolphins looked sick & as an animal lover it also made me sad to see the dolphins kept in a pool about twice the size as your average backyard pool. There is also a kids club which has glass windows on either side running pretty much the length of the room which is fantastic as you can always wander over to quickly check what your child is up to without disturbing them.
All in all the kids loved it here which is the only reason we chose to stay here. They definitely would love to go back & I'm sure we'll come for a visit soon & give them the option of staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

How many people get to have a swim with real dolphins in this world?? Not many. We did.... and it is a wonderful experience. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will remember it forever. Lovina is a lovely little town and the Melka resort is a good hotel. Rooms are very nice, with good amenities. Eat in town. There are lovely restaurants, reasonably priced.
Going back in July for a return visit!
Well worth it!

Room Tip: Get near the pool... walk out the door for a swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemcmach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a very basic average hotel. So, do not expect much. We stayed in a deluxe room overnight. Deluxe rooms are in urgent need of renovation. Basic facilities like kettle, tea & coffee making facility etc are not included in the room. On request we were provided with a water kettle which wasn' t used for ages and hence was pretty dirty.

Dolphins and some other animals(deer, kangaroo etc) may be of some attraction to kids. But I personally, do not see any reason for a hotel to keep animals. Overall I'm not very happy with service and the facilities that this hotel offers.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms that are near the lobby are far away from restaurant. So, walking up-to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajHar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Melka in Aug 2011. The hotel had just been taken over by new owners and the staff were still being trained. We had a great time and spoke to many of the staff. We loved the little waitress called Era. Everyone was helpfull and although some of the staff had a bit of trouble speaking english, they always tried their best. We also had hands on encounters with lots of the animals there. The place was clean, the food was great and it was excellent value for money. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philnsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was disappointed. I READ TRIPADVISOR before, but the most negative things were about the animals, so i did not mind, but I was disappointed for the restaurant(food) and room (no sunlight and every night full of insects bites).
My kids loved the animals and dolphins.
It is in a process of being taken over by Chinese owners, so I do not know the fure of this hotel.
We never got fresh towels, and only 2 towels for 4 of us. Food. I love asian food, but this was not good enough (i recommend other restaurants).
Staff is very friendly, but sometimes they do not understand enough english.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brusselei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singaraja hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singaraja
2.0 mi away
Adirama Beach Hotel
Adirama Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Singaraja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Hardys Singaraja Square
0.8 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banyualit Spa n' Resort
Banyualit Spa n' Resort
#9 of 12 in Singaraja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aneka Lovina Beach Hotel
Aneka Lovina Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Singaraja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Lovina Beach Cottages
Bali Lovina Beach Cottages
#20 of 23 in Lovina Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel

Property: Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Kalibukbuk | Lovina, Singaraja, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Singaraja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melka Excelsior Hotel Kalibukbuk
Melka Excelsior Resort Hotel Bali/Singaraja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing