We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Melamun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melamun
Ranked #1 of 46 Singaraja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here one night mainly for the dolphin trip next morning.
The hotel do provided dolphin package at a better rate than our driver. But we paid before we reach the hotel. Sad.

Location -ok. Nearby the beach.
Food -good breakfast! But the portion a bit small.
Clean!!! Nice bathroom & nice bed.
Swimming pool -small but clean.
Security - good. At night I saw security walking around.
Service- the receptionist will ask us whether we need any additional service, etc massage.. but is not pushy. We are comfortable with it. good!

Kalibukbuk is not the main area in Lovina, so is not happening. But there are still a number of restaurant nearby the hotel.

Will recommend you all to stay here, and please book earlier. We met some other traveler staying nearby which they unable to book hotel melamum.
** I pre-booked around 7-9 months ago...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eevonn_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed here in July 2013, and I have to say it was like coming home. We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it and knew it had to be part of our travel plans again. Sue, John and all the staff make you feel like you are a member of their family and involve you in all special activities while you are staying with them. Just the little things make our stay at Melamun perfect. The staff remembering your name, the way you like your coffee and the extra towels of pillows that appear in your room before you return from asking for them. We noticed that the traffic has increased in the last three years but the popularity of Lovina had in creased. We will stay there time and time again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at melamun for 3 nights!our first impression was that the staff was very friendly and helpfull!the breakfast is great and for the dinner you dont have to go outside,the restaurant has many choices and if you re lucky the staff will give you a live performance!the owner John and his wife,who we unfortunately didn't see,will help you if you've got any problems!
Tip: if you want to go out for snorkeling or diving and watch the dolphins...BOOK at the hotel!they garantee everything and you dont will be ripped off at THE beach where you pay 3times als much!
Next time we ll be at lovina...we ll book again at melamun!

Thanks to all the staff that made our stay wonderful!

Greetings

Ruud en Debby from Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruuddebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean, modern and comfortable, with a great shower and lovely verandah to sit and watch the birds in the lush undergrowth. The swimming pool was lovely and refreshing. We experienced the most amazing thunderstorm just next to the swimming pool - it was very close and the lightning and thunderclaps went on for nearly an hour with torrential rain - extraordinary display. Completely unseasonal. The food at the cafe was all good. We also went to Le Jaenzen - it's only just down the road, but nice to have free transport at night. Worth going just for the building - and the food was delicious. We talked quite a bit with Suzi the owner of Hotel Melamum and admire what she has done and is doing for her workers, as well as for the children of the local fishing village. The girls came and practised their traditional dancing while we were having lunch and we were highly impressed by their concentration and the difficult skills learnt in such a short time. Bravo! Long may this continue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked for this hotel although when we arrived they didn't have any record of it. Given that its owned by an Australian it was ironic that it was the only place on our trip that didn't. Anyway - we were given a room and it was really like walking into a 1970s Australian seaside motel. Indeed looking out of the french windows which look immediately out onto the pool and absorbing the atmosphere it actually felt like being in an Australian seaside motel in the 70s.

We immediately went away and looked for somewhere else. We also then discovered that the hotel itself is a very long way from the main part of Lovina where there are really nice shops and restaurants and to get there you have to walk along a really busy road.

Now, it may well be that the food was fantastic and the service brilliant but just a warning - if you want a Balinese experience you probably won't get it here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balmaintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A stay at Suzi's Hotel Melamun is so much more than a place to sleep or arrange tours. Suzi is a wonderful Australian who wants to empower and educate locals in the Lavina area. She opened the lodge to help employ almost two dozen people and spends her profits on both upgrading the facilities and enriching her employees life through helping them with medical and educational opportunities for their families.

The facility itself is wonderful. Clean, cool rooms, a quiet veranda, excellent restaurant and relaxing pool greets you. The staff is happy to arrange tours. We enjoyed snorkeling both locally and at the national park, seeing the dolphins (which is a bit intrusive on the pod), and a trip to the market and local textile factory which created gorgeous sarongs etc. All were inexpensive trips well worth the time. We also ate twice at Le Jaenzan a nearby restaurant which will provide free transport to and from your hotel. It had some of the best food we have eaten in 10 months of travel! I would come back to visit the wonderful family like staff at the lodge and eat at Le Jaenzan again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the bungalow, which was basic yet comfortable. Suzy and her staff were very warm and friendly. When they realized we were on our honeymoon, they surprised us with a beautiful home made cake and a musical performance by staff. It was such a memorable evening. The human touch is what makes this B&B such a special place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singaraja
1.1 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 26 in Lovina Beach
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aneka Lovina Villas & Spa
Aneka Lovina Villas & Spa
#11 of 26 in Lovina Beach
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#5 of 26 in Lovina Beach
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adirama Beach Hotel
Adirama Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Singaraja
282 reviews
2 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 26 in Lovina Beach
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melamun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melamun

Address: Jl. Laviana 7 | Kalibukbuk Banyualit, Singaraja, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Singaraja
Price Range: $35 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Melamun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle of Southern Bali, the coastline of Northern Bali is still pristine with natural sandy beaches, mountain and waterfalls. The Lovina Beach is renowned for dolphin watching, diving, snorkeling, and spectacular backdrop for sunset watching. From here, you can charter a boat to Menjangan island, home to amazing preserved coral reef. Drive to the streets of Ubud, where plenty of shops selling traditional handicrafts, wood carvings, jewellery and paintings. At its heart, Melamun Hotel is an excellent place to enjoy your experience of the 'untouched' Bali. Melamun Hotel, with its lush garden setting, superb facilities and impeccable service, offers privacy and tranquility. Rejuvenate your mind and body in our Sundara Chocolate Spa. Unwind with a fine meal and glass of wine in our Istana Nelayan Restaurant. Melamun Hotel is the place for you to enjoy your holiday and give you a glimpse of how the contemporary and the classic are intertwined on this legendary island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Melamun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melamun Bali/Singaraja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing