We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting; Dreadful owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Singaraja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely setting; Dreadful owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The French woman who purchased this hotel a year ago from the former owners is in the wrong business. She seemed to have a mission to make our 2 night stay as unpleasant as possible in spite of the fact that the hotel itself is nice. Although free computer access was promised, we were initially told our time would be limited and then the service was intermittent at best (a problem as we all needed to check in with our various jobs). The towels were not changed and the bed was barely attended to. Since we occupied all of her VIP rooms, we were not expecting an absence of basic hotel services. Her son suggested that perhaps we should have stayed elsewhere when we asked for ice and protested when told we would be charged 50 cents an ice cube. Fortunately the service at the 3 other hotels where we stayed was charming, warm and wonderful, in the Balinese tradition, so this was an anomaly.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms have the nicest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balibrige, Manager at Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
At Frangipani Hotel, we try our best to keep all our guest satisfaction.
Our goal is to provide our guests with a High Standard of service in all areas
and continuously doing so.
We therefore, regret to read that your stay was not up to our standards.
We are happy to inform you that we ll make change in our website. it now statement in-room consumption is not allowed in huge quantity and no BYO in our restaurant and swimming pool area. It was anyway already written inside the hotel.
Additionally ,we have changed the place of the notification (now in the bathroom) that, for environmental friendly, if towels need to be changed, so leave them on the floor. Our staff will be happy to change them for you. If not hang them.

For future references please address our staff if when you have such issue.They are more than happy to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
You ll read the same answer for one of your friend comments, american one, as you were numerous to stay by the same time.
Best regards and thanks a lot to help us learning and improving more and more our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    36
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
93
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, poor menu. But the thing is : there is nothing to do in Lovina, except visiting dirty beaches, crowded by so called dolphin watchers. Won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
633 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 791 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Myself and a friend checked out early, so didn't stay for the third night. See issues below. We had an extra night in Sanur instead. 

We stayed in the 'VIP' 'sea-view' room which also faces the pool/kitchen/eating area. NB. There are also four additional ensuite (non-VIP) rooms at the quieter rear of the property away from the pool area. 

Pros:
Backstreet location away from traffic noise. 
Friendly local staff, although English limited. 
There can't be many hotels in the world where you can walk from pool to beach to sea in less than 50 steps. 
Fabulous sunsets. 
Numerous sun loungers and parasols. 
A hammock. 
Outdoor shower next to pool. 
Plentiful pool towels. 
Water pool to clean feet off beach.
Massage/fitness room with bench and dumbbells. 
Guard dog (chained) on site makes you feel safe. 
Whole premises are very clean.  
Well maintained gardens and range of plants throughout. 
Torches available for loan at nightfall. 
VIP: Spacious open plan bedroom with partial high ceiling and 4-poster double bed. Twin bedside cabinets. JBL iPhone/iPod speaker/charger dock. 2 large storage cupboards with hanging and shelf areas. Several more drawers opposite. Electronic safe with clear usage instructions. Inside twin sinks with large mirror and walk-in shower. Outside shower, toilet and bidet with large hole in straw roof to view sun/stars and hear the waves. Wall-mounted quiet & effective air-con. Floor fan. Fridge (all contents, excluding 2 small cartons of water, are chargeable). Kettle with tea/coffee facilities. Wall-mounted flat-screen TV (just 6 channels). Nice large wall-hanging Buddha painting. Plenty of mirrors. Tiled floor throughout (large cream squares). 
Free WiFi (intermittent signal). 
Breakfast 8am onwards (not sure about end time): Bodum Bali Coffee or Tea pot (green, black, jasmine, fruits tea). Fresh mixed fruits juice, fresh fruits platter. Warm French bread & home made jams, + by choice: 2 eggs nature, onion, tomato: omelette, fried or scrambled. Pancakes with honey. Cornflakes or muesli with milk. Breakfast supplements available at extra charge: cheese or bacon (RP20,000), fresh fruits platter (RP27,000), yoghurt (RP15,000).
Also available: Snack (RP40,000), Meal (RP50,000), BBQ (RP80,000), Sweety (RP30,000). These prices (Aug 2011) do not include tax & service. 
Map (albeit hand drawn) available of route from hotel to the nearest village of Kalibukbuk, which is considered the 'centre' of Lovina. It's a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Dolphin Monument along the beach/a cement path. NB. There are several hawkers peddling jewellery, shorts, T-shirts, fake designer watches, motorbike hire etc en route, plus when you enter the town you're hawked for the bars and restaurants. 

Cons:
Long narrow, dusty access road off main road with several stray dogs.
I had to drag own suitcase to room, although I did receive a welcome drink. The family (Brigitte et al) were having a birthday party with a live acoustic band by the pool for husband Didier's birthday, so perhaps were distracted.
Brigitte gave us a brief orientation of the room before returning to the party. 
There's limited hotel or local information in the room. 
No twin rooms, but owners put a wooden single sofa-bed into the room for me. Unfortunately the foam (not sprung) mattress was too thin and not of equivalent standard to the double bed. As a result of the furniture changes I had limited space to put my wallet, watch, torch, glass of water etc. Brigitte showed us a double sofa-bed, with a proper sprung mattress, in the adjacent room but refused to swap it unless we reversed our decision to cancel our final nights stay, as the sofa-bed was "too heavy" to move for "just one night".
Sheet, not duvet, on both beds. 
Adjoining door to next bedroom - I'm not a fan unless you've got a large family. Faces onto pool area so intermittent noise from splashing. 
Opposite open-air kitchen so some noise from food preparation and from dragging around the furniture. 
Shared seating/table area next to bedroom window - annoying when other guests are talking, when trying to sleep. 'Sea-view' from room blocked by furniture and vegetation. Some might not like the thought of their bathroom toilet 'noises' potentially being heard by other guests, due to hole in roof.
Additional charges for breakfast supplements. 
Not too keen on the omnipresent 'No food, no drink from outside' signage around the site. Presumably so owners can charge premium prices for their alcohol and meals. Additional charges for bottled water and even refills. 
Bottles of water at breakfast are chargeable. 

During our stay the facilities were shared with the family (Brigitte, Didier, two teenage sons). I understand Didier and the youngest son were over from France for a holiday. They've owned the property for a year and we are funding their lifestyle. However, I don't believe they should have used, smoked and drunk around the pool whilst guests are trying to relax. In my opinion they should have been more respectful.

My route from Denpasar Airport (and later to Sanur) was a 3 hour taxi journey  along windy, narrow, uneven roads, over the mountains so not one for the easily travel sick.

There's not much to do in Kalibukbuk itself beyond a grey beach, backpacker-orientated bars, restaurants, cheap hotels and aggressive hawkers, but it could potentially be used as a base to visit places further afield on Bali.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Frangipani. It was our first time in Lovina and Brigitte, the owner truly did her best to make us feel welcome and gave us lots of tips on sites and restaurants in the area. She even came with us on the dolphin watching tour ( amazing experience!) and brought along a delicious home made breakfast! The hotel is beautiful, modern and stylish with some traditional balinese touches. The outdoor bathrooms are spotless and modernly designed and the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable.There is a lovely swimming pool and the beach is just in front of the hotel where you can watch the gorgeous sunsets. Oh, and the breakfast is delicious! the best we had in Bali: try the pancakes which are absolutely yummy, with the home made jam that Brigitte makes. The staff is lovely and always ready to help. The manager in particular is very kind. It is a bit pricey for balineses standards, but given the level of service and comfort it is well worth it. Both Brigitte and her son Camille were very kind and helpful and made our stay a memorable one. We highly recommend this lovely little hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: the rice paddy view room (VIP) is the prettiest but all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Holland is very far from Indonesia. But when you're staying at Frangipani, it feels like home. We stayed for 2 nights and were very sad to leave. I could have stay there forever.

The villa's are very nice and clean. The bathroom is super, the swimmingpool is great etc. etc. But the most important thing is the staff. They are so warm and friendly. Brigitte is the most warm hotel owner, i have ever met. She can tell you all about Lovina and she has a great little map with all the good restaurants.

If you're going to stay at Frangipani, ask Brigitte to make a barbeque. You are going to eat balinese style, great food and the band is fantastic.

You don't wanna miss this hotel if you're going to stay in Lovina!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Frangipani Beach Hotel is a very special place to stay. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and you have everything supplied for your stay. Brigitte celura (the owner) is a lovely women who will make sure your stay is very memorable. The hotel has a restaurant which serves quality food and a lovely swimming pool which is just so relaxing to sit around on the large pool lounges. I recommend this Hotel to couples, honeymooners and families. It provides a wonderful boutique environment and i hightly recommend this private villa type rooms to everybody. the hospitality by the staff is very impressive and your stay there will never be long enough.

Room Tip: The VIP room has ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I was having a drink with my girlfriend in a bar when we heard a woman speaking english with that lovely french accent that you can so easily recognize, being belgian we also speak french, so we decided to start speaking with her , she told us that she was the owner of the Frangipani so we started asking her questions about what we could do in Lovina, she invited us the next day to her hotel
She showed us her hotel which was just amazing, she gave us good advices about what to do in Lovina and she even asked her son (Camille) to show us the neighbourhood.
So, to sum up, we didn't even sleep in her hotel 'cause we were travelling as backpackers and despite that she has been helping us, giving us good advices, that's why it's difficult to give an advice about the price or the service in the hotel but from what we have seen the garden is very nice, the showers in the rooms with open sky made me and my girlfriend dream about spending our futur honeymoon in such a nice place.
Thanks once again to Brigitte and Camille ( he gonna be a great guide, he can speak french-english and bahsa indonesia!!)

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lupopoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singaraja
0.4 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#10 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adirama Beach Hotel
Adirama Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Singaraja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel

Property: Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel
Address: Jln. Dewi Sartika 99, Singaraja 81151, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Singaraja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Hotel has is own direct access on the beach from the garden. it has 4 Deluxe rooms with private terrace around tropical garden with fountain on the back resort, AC, king sized bed, open-bathroom with hot water.2 VIP room with Bali sea or Rice field view for 2 or 3 pers., 1 VIP room with Rice field view for 2 to 4 pers. and 1 Vip suite for 2 to 5 pers (5 if kids) . They are on the beach side, on the main garden, near the swimming pool. You can have a private breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace in front of the main restaurant, also on the garden area. Satellite TV and Wifi Internet connection are also available. We offer REAL balinese experiences : diner in balinese way : sit on floor, eat with your right hand, balinese food and balinese acoustic music band. Tours in places which are not in touristic books and made by mixte team foreigner and balinese : Trekking different, new opened waterfalls, Healing place, Local market, experiment the Hindu pray, family temple and meditation courses... We are in favor of protecting the nature, so we act for dolphins and guests from negative behaviors, we have settle up different kind of tour taking care of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel Bali/Singaraja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing