We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Delight”
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bali
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bali Delight”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at Club Med Bali. Club Med is the ideal holiday package where your every need is catered for. Once you are there, you don't have to worry about spending any further money as it is an all inclusive hotel. Located right on the beach, beautiful views of the sea, loads and loads of entertainment and within walking distance to local village and shopping.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank minimord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    988
    276
    113
    80
See reviews for
2,205
884
124
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I have travelled to Club Med Bali with my best friend and we really enjoyed our stay.
The Club is beautiful. The main bar is amazing (so are the cocktails). You can stay around the pool and a waitress will come and ask you what you want to drink. We walked a little on Nusa Dua beaches and Club Med beach is the most beautiful one. It is not too crowded. You can enjoy your own privacy. The main pool and the quiet pool are magnificent. GOs bring you fresh towels to get cooler (much appreciated!!). Everything is decorated in the Balinese style. There is a lovely pond in the middle of the Club. The buffet is amazing!!! Excellent food and a very large choice. You can find specialties from everywhere in the world. We had a lot of fun when we tried some of the offered sports: archery, golf, badminton, tennis. You can play whenever you want (really!! You can play golf during the night).
What is also really nice is that you can have your own privacy if you want or you can fun with GOs during night show. It is really up to you.
We also visited Bali. It is a incredible island! So many things to see!! And you can discover a lot a them in just 1 week.

The only problems rely more on the weather than Club Med:
1. Pools and sea are too hot. It s not really refreshing when it is already really hot outside.
2. It is a little bit too humid in the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2009

This is not our first CM experience so we do know what CM can offer. It was almost the ninth hour when we have decided we would like to book a holiday close to the xmas holidays which was almost impossible.. fortunately the CM sales team in KL, Msia replied to our request and threw in an irresistable kids stay free package for 3N at CM Bali for us. Kristy was kind enough to wait for my confirmation and assisted to secure a connecting room with balcony close to the amenities, yes at the very last minute. We couldn't ask for more.

We felt welcomed and treated like long term guests throughout our short 3 nights stay. Food and drinks were fantastic, we take this opportunity to thank Chef Michael and Chef Ahmed who made sure that our son's needs were taken care of. Dr Dipa who came in at midnight to see our younger boy..patiently explaining in detail what to do if his vomiting recurred. Luckily he recovered quickly so we all had a wonderful time. Stefan and his team of GOs were great entertainers and most hospitable. Everyone we met were jolly and we felt completely at home away from home.

We noticed that all the staff are properly trained to make sure guests' or GMs' needs are taken care of irregardless of nationality; totally no unpleasantness with racial discrimination. I take pride to praise the local staff at reception, housekeeping and restaurants/bar are the most hospitable to us, also the local GOs.

My spouse and elder son had a great time at the bungee jump and flying trapeze, just to name a few. We would definitely return to CM as it is ideal for family like ours from age 3 to 60. it's a hassle-free holiday with lots of good food, entertaining and beautiful beach!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolmamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I was in Club Med Bali from 11th Dec to 15th Dec & this is my 5th visit to a Club Med.
Upon arriving, we were received by an expressionless & stony face GO Elf, there was no smiles, no greetings, & we did not feel welcome at all.
Throughout our stay, the foreign GOs were unfriendly & they prefer to mingle with their own nationalities, like the Chinese GO prefer to mingle with the chinese guests..
The rooms were dusty, & there were ants everywhere !! The food in Agung Restaurant was nothing to rave about, some dishes were almost bland & tasteless.
The Cheif de Village-Stephan, was hardlly visible. He was only around during the nightly shows...i believe there was some commnication issue as he spoke no chinese, korean or japanese. Its a pity since the resort' main clientele are from China, Japan & Korea.
Perhaps its about time Club Med engages Chief de Village that can speak Asian languages of Chinese, Japanese or Korean, not french speaking ones as hardlly anyone can understand him.
Also, 90% of the clients are from China, so if you not want to feel that you are in China, I would recommend that you avoid Club Med Bali.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
club c, Manager at Club Med Bali, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Google Translation
谢谢你花时间在巴厘岛地中海俱乐部度假村体验页面做出你的评论。对于一些不满意的地方,我们感到十分抱歉。我们会根据你所提出的反馈进行进一步的管理,确保对你的意见严肃对待,.至于员工的服务是我们最看重的,我们可以向你保证,地中海俱乐部确实是不允许这样的工作人员的行为,所有我们的工作人员都受过乐于助人、尊重和服务意识。我们会根据你的信息,督促及严格要求每一位G.O做的更好。希望有机会来恢复你在我们公司的信念,欢迎你的家人在不远的将来到另一个地中海俱乐部度假村。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I have just returned today after a 7 night stay at the Club Med - Bali and all I can say is that the experience has changed our perspectives on what one should expect from a holiday.

While our start at the Club Med was disappointing with some particularly cold behaviour of staff (including the front office Reception Manager) - the service recovery was quick with the Chief of Bali Club Med - Stephen making some special arrangements to make our stay comfortable. While this was done - we had already lost out on 2 days of our holiday not knowing what Club Med had to offer.

Post this initial incident we continued to encounter sub-standard service behaviour at various points - to cite a few - Gusto - Manager at the Batur Restaurant, Deena at the front office etc etc - were particularly rude and uncaring in their attitude. But we soon learnt to take this in our stride as there were much stronger 'Heroes' at Club Med Bali - who became very very friendly to us and I would like to particularly name a few GO's here ... Chef Ahmed, GO Sam, GO Oliver, GO Eric and few more.

So net net - the positive service behaviour far outweighed the negative experiences (which am sure can be corrected) and we have come back with loads of pictures and video's to sort and make a good viewable family album.

The resort has a small pond which has loads of fishes and yes - 5 Iguana's too. The Iguana's were seen to be feasting on ever hungry fishes - esp when guests were feeding the poor fishes. I saw a large fish being caught in front of my eyes and was shocked how the Iguana dragged the fish out of water and later swallowed it entirely. Gory National Geographic kind of visual. But thats not all - one of the Iguana was spotted in the area for sun-bathing outside my room and caused panic among my children. Had to shoo away the dreaded amphibion - but you can imagine how scary it is. I think the management must do away with the Iguana's and send them to the Bali Zoo.

Full Marks to Stephen in creating the energy every evening and ensuring that all guests felt really really high and enjoyed every moment of the evening programs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogeshGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Hi,

Here are my comments regarding different aspects of the resort

ROOMS:
- Only part of the resort that was not renovated during the last year and it shows! It took three room changes for me to get an air conditioner that worked properly
- If you don't like to walk to your room, do not take a room in the block 5, it is far
- Rooms were cleaned extremely well
- Wifi in the rooms is quite good. No problmes to check your email on a regular basis. If you bring your computer, you should because the resort will charge you if you use their computers

Ambiance
- If you are a single, do not expect wild nights at this resort. If it is what you are looking, you will need to go out in Kuta
- However, if your goal is to relax, it is the perfect place! On an 8 day stay, I had 6 wonderful nights of sleep
- The Go's are good depending on their own motives!!! If you are going as a family and you have girls between the ages of 16-20, I would keep an eye out for them because they will be prime targets for some of the younger mal Go's
- The resort grounds are wonderful and beautiful. They do put an emphasis in maintaining everything (from the gardens to the beach)
- If you are going without kids, you should hangout at the quiet pool. You feel like you are in a balinese temple
- The beauty of the main bar is quite spectacular. You feel like you are in a trendy New York or Montreal bar

SPORTS
- Tennis and golf lovers, this is the place for you!!! The tennis instructor Leo is amazing and was incredible in helping me improve my tennis game. However, make sure to reserve some time in the morning and evening considering that the heat is unbearable during the day
- The worst part of the whole resort is the gym. I felt like I was back in the 80's with the outdated weights and machines. Furthermore, the gym is also where the yoga classes take place and the instructor will often turn-off the A/C and also ask you to stop making noises (sort of hard when you are trainign with weights)

FOOD
- The best part of the resort. The buffet was excellent with different theme nights (Indian, Thai, French)
- I was even able to have some maple syrup for my crepes in the morning

Overall
- You should rent a driver and guide in order to visit the island. The best decision I made during my whole trip
- The service is excellent. They do try to help you out when you have problems or questions.
- Some of the other reviews refer to the French being kings on the resort, I can tell you that I did not feel that. However, I can tell you that there are a lot of French and yes a lot of them are quite rude.

Feel free to send me questions if you have any!

Michael from Montreal

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

This was our first trip to Bali, and after reading some of the reviews on ClubMed, were a little nervous. However, after making it through the crazy airport arrival, we were collected by the ClubMed bus and taken to the resort where our bags were whisked away, and we were greeted with cold refreshments and charming staff. We were shown to our rooms, and given a general overview of the resort and its facilities. They have a daily orientation for new arrivals, however, we skipped this and found our own way around the huge resort.

We had a superior room, which is middle of the range. It was a long walk with small children, however, it was also well away from the bar and nightclub, so it was very quiet. The room itself was pretty basic, but they had supplied everything we would need with a toddler (cot, potty, bottle warmer etc.) so that was fine, and we really didn't spend much time in it anyway.

The staff were all very friendly, with perhaps exception to the French - you got the feeling that if you weren't French, they weren't really interested in you. We found the Australian and Asian staff to be very attentive and friendly, and they went out of their way to help.

The pool area was lovely, and we spent a lot of time in and around it. The bar was in close proximity, so that was also very handy. The range of drinks available at the bar was a litle disappointing - my husband took a liking to the local Bintang beer so he was happy, but the spirits were all very cheap and nasty (Maison House??), and the cocktail list was average. However, in saying this, we still consumed plenty of cocktails, and the bar staff were happy to mix any drinks/cocktails as requested.

The restaurant was fabulous. We mainly ate in the Agung buffest restaurant, as this was more family friendly. They had a huge (almost too much - I hate to think of all the waste) selection, and the chefs were willing to make just about anything you requested. We snacked on burgers and stir fries in the other restaurant (the name escapes me), and this was also lovely, with a more intimate setting. We were concerned about taking a toddler to Bali and the infamous Bali Belly, however, we were all completely fine for our entire stay. The food was very fresh, and everthing looked clean. We asked for milk for bottles at night time, and this was always chilled, and the staff ran our bottles through the steriliser for us which was very obliging. We did brush our teeth with the bottled water that was delivered to our rooms daily, just to be sure.

The resort offered a great variety of acitivites, and we had only just started making full use of them when it was time to leave.

The nightly shows were really good, and there was always something to suit every taste. My only criticism is that they never started until 9:30pm, which is very late for small children, so we often found that we had to leave the show after only half an hour or so, as we didn't want our toddler disrupting others.

We paid the extra for Petit Club Med for our 2 year old, however, I feel that for us, this was a waste of money. We had to pay for every day whether she attended or not, and she only attended twice as we were'nt 100% happy with the level of care. There was a language barrier between carers/children/parents, and once again, unless you were French, you felt as though you took a back seat. On our next trip (we will be back!) we would not pay for the kids club upfront, as when we got there, we found that you could just pay daily (as long as they had space available), and this was heaps cheaper than paying in advance. I think I would be more happy leaving older children (4 years up) in the provided care.

The resort offered massage/spa treatments, however, these were exorbitantly priced. I was a bit hesitant, but walked the two minutes down to the beach and had a 1 hour massage with the local ladies for $10AU which was great value for money, and very relaxing.

We have already planned our return trip, and would also consider ClubMeds in other locations. We really liked that fact that everything is paid for up-front, so at the end of your stay, there's no extra costs. We loved it, and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newhinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,642 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Property: Club Med Bali
Address: P.T. Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing