We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise ship on dry land”
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Bali
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cruise ship on dry land”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We've just got back from 8 nights at Club Med Bali with 2 other families with young kids. This is a great choice if you want a relaxing holiday, with plenty of activities available, great food, and a multicultural atmosphere in a really beautiful setting. The all-inclusive cost also makes it good value particularly if you're planning to use the kidsclub, sports facilities, restaurant, bar and entertainment. The only possible down side is the main pool is quite warm, and the slightly cheesey "cruise-ship" feel you get after the 6th day of all you can eat buffet 3 times a day and good-looking French men saying good morning - but not much to complain about really.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choochPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,529
    990
    276
    113
    80
See reviews for
2,205
886
124
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

3 night stay at CM Bali, husband and myself. We had a dlx balcony room located in the 3000 block ground floor.

Check in was friendly and fast, we had bought out package independently of flights or transfers so caught a cab there. The registration had been predone so we didnt need to do a thing. Enjoyed the welcome drinks and cool towel. We got in mid afternoon and the GO asked us after we were shown to our room if we would like a late snack- we were starving so it went down really well- a great intro.

The rooms at CM are not special- 3 star I would say, we have been to CM Bali a couple of times now and the room was the same as before the renovations except for some new cushions, duvets and a coat of paint. Our room smelt very damp but no cigarette smoke odour and we liked the location so were happy to have it for the 3 nights. If you have allergies to mould (didn't actually see any- it was just the smell) it may be a problem.

The bathrooms are small but very functional- all amenities supplied, new towels and hot water (good water pressure). Soaps and gels had a really pleasant smell.

The room- The linens were good- fresh and white with lots of pillows. The cleaning was done well each day. I loved the vibrant orange feature wall. Beds are twins pushed together but that was ok- they were pretty comfy. As I said before, we liked our location, we were very close to the trapeze and pool with ocean glimpses. It was a quick trip to the dining areas if you took the path through the gardens- longer by walk way. I guess if it was pouring rain you'd use the walkways. It overlooked a nice expanse of garen with lots of birdlife. We were also well located to the sports areas.

Activities- all good, do as much or as little as you like. The pools were great- there is a large noisy ones and an uber chic small one (no kids allowed- shame they dont ban cigarettes as well!) Really enjoyed the small pools ambience. Very warm water. Didn't try the spa facilities but it looked very serene. We were there over Nyepi so water sports were off that 1 day- no big deal, Nyepi is very important to the Balinese. The gym is good- well equipped- good treadmills.

Entertainment- very enjoyable, we were treated to the Russian Performers one night and a Balinese show another. Nyepi night was subdued but guests were still entertained by candlelight. There are TV's and wifi in the room if you need to check email, etc and have a laptop.

Food- What can I say- I love love love their food. The multi themed eating pavilions is cool. Lots of choice-Air con or open air, non/smoking, etc Lots of variety, loved it. The a la carte restaurant was fabulous too, you book that morning and have a choice of 2 well balanced menus- all inclusive. The free drinks/snacking concept is great, we dont drink a lot of alcohol normally but it was fun to try some cocktails and liquers. Good atmosphere in the bar area and very speccy to look at.

Staff- GO's resoundingly friendly, all of the local Balinese staff are delightful too.

Overall- loved it, looking forward to hopefully going again next year for a week with our teenagers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed for three nights at Club Med Bali. The problems started when we checked in at 2pm. We have a nine month old and a three year old. They gave us two small rooms that were separate - i.e. did not connect. I had to go back to the desk-telling them how could we possibly stay in two separate rooms with a baby and a toddler. They said, you are right, "they" made a mistake and should never have booked you in two separate rooms, but we are booked solid for the third night, so the best we can do is give you another room that supposedly is bigger and has a king sized bed. When we checked out the room, we found out that it was essentially two twin beds put together, and was the same size as one of the rooms they initially gave us! So again we had to go back to the front desk (which was a 10 minute walk from the room!) and say this wont work, find another solution-we shouldnt be penalized for three nights due to an error that Club Med Bali made on their end. The assistant to the GM said there was nothing she could do, and again " they" (meaning reservation) made a mistake. We said, why do you keep saying "they" and "us"? Arent you all Club Med, and how does this solve our problem. Meanwhile, it was now 4pm, 2 hours since we arrived, with no solution. We asked to speak to the general manager, Stefan, and he came back saying that he was in a meeting and could not meet us until 7:30pm!! By this time a second assistant had come to try and help us - but again he gave us the same responses as the first assistant. He called Stefan to come and speak to us, but again Stefan refused. By this time we asked for our money back so that we could find another place to stay. They refused to refund our money, saying that only "they/reservations" could do so. Finally we asked to speak to Stefan's boss - which was apparently the Singapore office. The assistants called the Singapore office - we at this point had no faith that they would find a solution - so my husband tracked down the Singapore office himself, explained the situation, and asked for them to find us a solution in 10 minutes. Lo and behold, in 10 minutes, the Singapore office somehow found us an upgraded larger room that was available the third night (Club Med Bali is a huge facility with 5-6 large buildings - so hundreds of rooms. We found it hard to believe that it would be entirely sold out that night) and solved the problem for us. Net of it is-if you have any problems with the facility or check in, dont bother working it through the actual hotel - even the GM wont have any interest or desire in helping you. Instead you will need to go back to the reservation desk, and hope you check in prior to 5pm when the office closes.

The rest of our stay here was ok - Amenities and food was good. The room was very ordinary and old and not very clean (Club Med Bali has only renovated the common faciliies and the most expensive rooms). We had just come from a stay at Komenaka at Bisma, which was exceptional from a customer service, room, and amenities perspective. So when compared to that, this paled in comparison, especially considering we paid 50% more for Club Med Bali compared to Komaneka when including food costs as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gstSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed here with wife & 2 kids (3 & 6) mid Feb 2009 and have only 1 compaint
"7 Nights is not enough". Right from the start you are looked after, the check in process is quick and efficent and you are in your rooms before you know it. Our rooms were clean, cool and everything worked. They were on the ground floor just back from the beach but an easy walk though a very relaxing and well maintained garden to a beach bar (part of club med). The pool was great for us as the deepest part is only about 1100mm which ment our oldest boy could stand everywhere.
Be prepared to stack on a few extra kilos as the food is very good, there is plenty of different things to try and it is well managed and staffed by great people who make things easy for you. My wife inquired to a chef why they didnt have a particular indonesian dish on the menu one day at lunch and he then asked if she would like it for dinner that night - upon arrival for dinner he said give me 10 minutes and a specially prepared dish made for 1 person was given to her. Its the little things you remember.

The main bar is fantastic and you never have to wait to get anything as it has ample people working behind it. Apparently there is a night club but due to it opening at 11.00pm and club med's all inclusive food and drink policy I was generally asleep before the club opened so I cant comment on it.

If you have young kids the mini club is really good and run by people who seem to really like doing what they do which shows and made me feel happy when our oldest stayed there all day and could not wait to get back there the next. The range of activities the kids do is impessive.
The Spa is quite expensive but my wife enjoyed the pampering but being a bit of a tight ar#se I found the beach massages for 100,000 rups more to my liking.
All in all this place is very easy to relax in and well run by Stephan (the boss) and all the GOs.
We have started saving our pennies again for next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthGweedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My husband and I took our 3 year-old daughter and had a great time! especially my daughter~ she loved the petite club and the GOs! The kids programs were wonderful with a full day packed with swimming, sand castle building, treasure hunting, soccer games, daily swims, and nightly activies (just to mention a few). The GOs at the petite club and mini club were wonderful with kids.
The resort grounds were immaculate with a beautiful garden and stylish restaurants and bar. Although the beach was not very welcoming (with coarse, yellowish sand which could hurt the feet) the beach chairs were everywhere so it was good to just sit down with a good book and watch the waves.
The food at the buffet was ok~ not the best but alot of varieties.
We had a suite and the room was cleaned twice a day. ok service at the conceirge. Most of the GOs were helpful and smiling.
Overall, recommmend for young families but not honeymooners. Too noisy and too many kids running around.

  • Liked — petite and mini club
  • Disliked — poor concierge sevice/ room service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Me and my family had just gotten into the Bali airport it was very hot in there but as we got past customs. We saw a very nice man with a club med sign. He took us to the car and gave us cups of water to have. Be careful at the airport if anyone offers to take your bag for you they will want money when you get to the car.We arrived at the hotel late we were given iced tea and told about the resort and given our wristbands dont lose those. Our rooms were great clean everyday and always water in the fridge and if you ran out just go to the bar and get some more. At the bar you must try the conga its a mocktail and its delicious. The pool there is great with a contest everyday at about 11 great fun friendly staff When you hire a driver he will tell you the time you have so if you go to tanah lot you there for the sunset. The bicycle ride from mt batur is great and worth doing same with the elephant ride. The food had a great range and the circus place is great i reccomend this place for anyone

  • Liked — Alot
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealandHolidayGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We had a really great time in Club Med Bali!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamTraveller_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,646 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.7 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Property: Club Med Bali
Address: P.T. Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Club Med and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing