We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation! Paradise for parents with teenagers!”
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bali
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

In the absence of the chef de village, Pierre-Jean and the team gave us a wonderful week to completely relax, eat delicious food, and start being active again after a very tough year. Our 16 year old daughter felt very free, and we as parents felt secure as all GO's were looking out for her safety and wellbeing. Our 13 year old son was delighted by the archery, where Anshley inspired great enthousiasm and improved evryones skills. The shows were delightful, the pools a bliss, the beach with kayaking, windsurfing and snorkling great fun and maintained with high diligence and attention for safety; high quality equipment.
We are tough to please, living in Belgium we are quite spoiled... Yet the chef managed to delight us with new foods from all around the world, so much choice, prepared with great delicacy.
We had a most lovely week, felt spoiled, pampered in the spa, welcomed, and thoroughly enjoyed the international and friendly atmosphere created and maintained seemingly without effort by all the GO's. as the children stated "c'etait vraiment excellent!"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 4,226 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

The fourth time at this wonderful place was just as good as ever. The GOs were fantastic and a special mention to Oka and Made the two golf pros, who never stop being friendly. Also to Ardi and Paletha who are always smiling and are the best bar people in the world. Also to Kori and Sam who are very good at what they do :) One suggestion would be to have more acting and comedy in the shows because they were too much the same(a lot of dancing).
Thank You for another great stay we will be back!!
Brodie

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pricey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A big thanks needs to go out to all the GO's at Club Med Nusa Dua. I only just got home from the most memorable birthday celebrations I will ever have. I was celebrating my 40th and all the staff made me feel great. Also my wife and mother were having birthdays at the time. Both my sons (11 & 9) made good use of the kids club with my 11 y/o getting the most out of it. We didn't see him most days from 10am until 9pm, and when we did he was exhausted and thrilled at the days activities. The 9 y/o got more out of the pool but I suspect that was the lack of kids of his age at the time, (no fault of the program).
Special note goes out to:
Bar side:
Adi behind the bar
Rosi around the pool
What lovely people and personalities.

Restaurants:
William for organising my seafood BBQ party and Sam and his team for cooking an amazing meal.

Sports:
Jeff and Chelsea for the water aerobics and the touch rugby, the latter took a bit of recovery.

Remember to bring the bug spray as the mozzies get you in your room at night, once we discovered this the staff sprayed the room regularly.

Awesome holiday!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Callum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Attending a resort with all-you-can-eat buffet style dining and an open bar can be a recipe for pretty serious weight gain. Club Med on the other hand encourages physical activities to help balance this and the Bali Club offers a superb range of options. From the great tennis coach, to the gym staff, and the especially super keen water aerobics team, there was an enthusiastic and talented GO wherever you went; exercising can't be much more fun. Aussies were well represented in the GO équipe and did our country proud - special mention for (can we name names?) the Balmain and Geelong connections. Other reviews on this page attest to many other great aspects of this Club, so I conclude saying we will return again, hopefully soon (after shaving a kilo or two off - it was a holiday after all!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We checked into this hotel yesterday after spending 9 days in Legian and Ubud at similar star rated hotels (i.e 4 stars) - our last hotel being Alaya Hotel in Ubud. Unfortunately Club Med falls far short of any of the comforts and value for money you would expect and what we experienced at other 4 star establishments in Bali. Just to put things into perspective....At Alaya we paid R10,000 for 3 nights for 2 adults/2 teenagers including a lovely breakfast and stayed in beautifully appointed rooms, the service was fantastic and overall, we really felt special. We decided to spend our final 3 nights in Bali at Club Med (fully inclusive package) to relax after seeing all the rave reviews and at a whopping R39,000 for the 3 nights we thought we were in for something really special! Well, "dissapointment and regret" is a complete understatement!! The rooms are basic to say the least!! They look every bit of their 26 years. The bathroom is tiny. Damp problems are evident on the wall in the toilet area which is probably why the room has a slight musty odor. The beds aren't very comfortable. The cupboards are ancient, the blinds on the windows are broken on one side giving a shoddy appearance. There isn't even a mirror above the dressing table. Honestly, I just don't know how this hotel has been rated a 4 star!

Now onto the facilities. Granted, they do offer many great activities for the kids but that's really where it ends. For such a big hotel, there are definitely not enough sun loungers in the pool area. Also, the pool looks like a public municipal pool - it amazes me how pictures on the Internet can be so deceiving!!

Anyway, to sum it up - this has been our first and definitely will be our last experience of a Club Med Hotel. At 3 to 4 x the price of much nicer hotels, we should have rather taken the remaining R20,000 or R30,000 and blown it on fine dining and all day activities for our kids and still have change at the end of it (after all, there is only so much you can eat and drink, and do in a day).

Honestly, when I read the odd unfavorable comment on Tripadvisor I thought the type of people saying these things must be really picky and just generally contrary. I have to say though, they are spot on with their summing up. This place definitely doesn't deserve the superb rating it gets. Rather do your research and go to a newer resort and pay extra for the activities. I promise you, it will work out much cheaper!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pixie-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have visited Club Med Bali for the past 4 years. I convinced my family to come up with my family (2A, 2C aged 9 and 7). I am a little embarressed. We have always come here in July school holidays and what a difference this year has been.

1) Where is the afternoon entertainment, which included joking and pranking the guests - fake weddings/ games before dinnertime/ water dunking machine?
2) Waterpolo matches in the pool?
3) The food has gone downhill - no wine presented in the restaurant? Walnuts as a choice to put in your omlette in the mornings (?) not Ham or mushrooms etc?? No dim sum in the morning or anything to put in the chinese porridge?
4) You couldn't drink enough cocktails to get vaguely drunk, they are SO watered down. The orange juice is more like a strong syrupy cordial.
5) Aircon in room is dreadful you break a sweat just walking around the room. The toilet in the room is on an angle you almost fall off the side of it.
6) No presence of GO's coming to chat or asking how we are? Stark contrast to previous years (our best was 3 years ago when Stefan (Chief) and Oliver (head of entertainment) were here - the best stay we've had!!) What happened to the friendly, funny, outgoing GO's?

It is like the fun has left the village - no fun like it used to be....this is what I have sold friends on the idea of, how unique it is to be here, how fun everyone is but now nobody talks to you - there is no music or dancing around the pool during the day, nothing spontaneous at all - these are the things you clients LOVE!

On the upside, our kids are having fun but have noticed how QUIET everything is too. You need to get a guy like Oliver back here to rev everybody up and have a good laugh, he was incredibly entertaining and the GO's back then were awesome....

I'm not sure we'll be back, as the reviewer below me said - if this is your first visit you won't notice the difference but to the regulars, it's incredibly obvious how downhill it has all gone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nicnac121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We are just about to complete our second trip to this fantastic resort with our 10 and 8 year old kids. Even better the second time. Fantastic food and beverages, new cocktails to try, great activities for the kids who were constantly entertained and happy. Really love this resort even in a really busy time, you can always find somewhere to escape to. The GO's and management team are to be highly commended on their impeccable service and hospitality. Thankyou very much again for a fantastic stay. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tristo-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,041 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Address: Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $286 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing