We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Club Med (however, reception service needs work)”
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bali
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Family and I had a terrific time at Club Med Bali. We have only been to three Club Meds and this so far is our favourite. Lovely location, good facilities, nice GOs and good food.

Positives: It is a wonderful spot that has just been renovated plus, the grounds are looked after very well. Great sporting facilities and lots of activities (although, I do wish more guests would participate - I think this is the difference with an Asia Club Med vs. American Club Med). The food options are good and the restaurant doesn't feel crowded (mind you, occupancy was around 65% when we were there). Very safe location - security is present in a low key way - as a result, the public beach is a nice mix of locals and guests without any high pressure sales etc.

Also, nice mix of families and couples - it works at this location!

Areas for improvement: Two suggestions:
1. Reception isn't great and overall general administrative skills are poor. Reception doesn't care and they are not that knowledgable - there is a lot of passing the problem onto another "department" or just not dealing with any issues/questions if it is too hard.
2. We were on the bottom floor and could hear upstairs folks walking around with their noisy "flip flops" on the tiled floors at 1:30am at night.

Overall, would go again and spoil my children

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 4,140 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Despite some minor reservations due to other trip advisor reviews - we had a fab time - the kids clubs for our 2 girls (5 and 3 ) were just great - the staff were brilliant and genuine.
There was a good mix of nationalities - we went in the 1st week of the NSW school holidays and it wasnt overly busy. The evening shows were well worth watching - we are usually sceptics on this sort of entertainment but they were good. The balinese dancing was fantastic as was the flying circus show.
As per other reviews the rooms are slightly dated but were spacious, clean, cool and quiet. In any event we didnt spend too much time in them so they did the job nicely.
The resort was excellent overall. Yes there are few things you could pick at - main pool is a tad small - but hey - walk 100 metres to the beach!
We will seriously consider going back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at Club Med Nusa Dua in November 2011 with my wife and a friend and we had such an great time that we decided to go back in April 2013 with our two children (40 & 37 years) their partners and our four grand children aged 2, 4, 8, & 13 years.

We wanted them to experience the "happiest place in the world" and we wanted to see the joy on the faces of each and everyone of them. We new Club Med Nusa Dua would deliver to each of them regardless of age.
From the moment we arrived at Club Med and were introduced to the site by Leisure Manager Pierre Jean, until the time we were sadly leaving and farewelled by the Chef de Village Jean-Benoit and Pierre Jean and some of their staff, we experienced the most passionate, friendly, enthusiastic and happy staff who were committed to ensuring that each member of my family had the very best seven days holidaying that was possible.
Their motto must be "the happiness of our guests is the most important task I can perform each hour of the day and night"
We were wined, dined, entertained and engaged as much as we wanted as individuals, couples and as a family from breakfast until 1.30am at Starry Nights.

Grounds and Beach - Kept in pristine condition and there is nothing better than lying on lounges and day beds on the grass or beach, sipping a drink from the Beach Bar with the Nusa Dua sea breeze in your face.
Rooms - Large and comfortable with additional personal needs provided and spotlessly cleaned daily by a happy Balinese person,
Water and Land Sports - Kyacking, Windsurfing, Snorkelling, Trapese, Gymnasium, Yoga, Squash, Badminton, Basketball, Soccer, Bocce, Tennis, Water Aerobics, Water polo, Volleyball and Golf are available and managed profesionally and with great fun by the staff. The 6 hole golf course ranges in distance from 120m - 60m with each green having a bunker at the front and a large tree or two protruding onto the fairway. The holes were challenging, great fun and the 6 hole tournament held each day was a personal favourite of mine.
There is a Kids Cub which I could not keep my 8 year old grandchild away from and a very reasonably priced baby sitting service (which my 2 & 4 year old did not know about) at night to enable parents to enjoy the nightly entertainment.
Swimming pool - It is only about a bit over a metre and with the Bali sun it becomes a bit to warm during the afternoon. Club Med should look into ways to cool down the water. It has a childs area attached and in my view a sun shade should be erected over part of it to be more sun smart for young bodies.
Wisper Pool - This pool is about 1.7 metres deep and the water is about the right temperature. It is a delightful area with curtained lounge beds where you can snooze after your late nights. It is called the Whisper Pool because you have to whisper as some people are sleeping. Children under 18 are excuded.
Buffet Restaurant - There is a huge range of food provided for all tastes daily and there are quality specialty dishes that alter daily for lunch and dinner.
The Ala carte restaurant is available for meals at certain hours and for snacking at other times.

After dinner each night a quality show that has been professionally choreographed is performed each night for you by many of the staff who have looked after you on activities during the day. On one evening there is a performance by children, who have been at Kids Club during the day, which is highly entertaining. It is then back to the Main Bar where guests are once again entertained with music and performances by happy staff, dripping not only from sweat but enthusiasm from working so hard to make sure you are having a wow of a time. As if that is not enough we are then escourted by staff to the balcony in front of the ala carte restaurant for drinks and music while chatting to staff from all parts of the world as the Nusa breeze wafts past. Its now after 1.30am and we are off to bed - very happy.

Club Med Nusa Dua is amazing, as are the Chef de Village and Leisure Manager and all their Staff who engage with you daily. I cannot recommend a holiday more highly.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor in Lombock Block Room 4125 (Wife &me) Children and Grandchildren sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerendipLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Club Med is billed as being value for money. It is if you eat copious amounts of food and drink yourself into a coma. Otherwise, when you work it out, it is really way overpriced.
As a regular traveller, including frequently to Bali, there is far better value to be had for the money.
We were a family of 6. Parents and 4 children aged 6 - 16. Having opted to upgrade to the deluxe interconnecting rooms, we expected it to be reasonably appointed. It is VERY old and run-down. It is really only a basic 2-3 star at best.
The food is plentiful, but rather uninspiring. Made less so by the plentiful flies that adorn most dishes around the buffet.
The staff (GO's) try very hard. They are doing their best and put in a super effort given the facilities.
Until it is completely renovated, a family is better off at many other resorts such as Intercontinental and Padma both of which have kids clubs and are comparable in cost, but have far better quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozthelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves in Club Med Bali. We stayed two nights in the Superior Room. The staff was truly outstanding especially, Lucy, Allyn and JB. Very friendly and ever willing to keep you in entertained.

Food could be a little better as you expected it to be tastier. Also the meat station at the buffet area had problem with flies. There were lots of them during lunch. As for the beverages, the drinks at the bar lacks some 'kick'. Certain drinks tasted watery. If these two items can be improved, it would have made the place a lot better.

The Spa at Club Med was good. Try the sunburn treatment.

Overall, a good stay and recommended for families and couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a family trip with 13 of us booked for one week. Unfortunately,my husband (who made the booking) misunderstood the booking process - they ask for date of departure ( apparently being the date you leave Australia - he took it to mean the date you leave Bali). The result was that they had us (2 children and me) booked for the following week. The agent/employee who met us at the airport tried to fix it with the resort but was told they were fully booked. Seeing how upset the kids were, he
tried again and a room materialized but I was to pay $6000 more. Naturally, I declined this.
Eventually the two children and I ended up at the Westin for the weekend. On Monday afternoon my husband eventually got through to head office who found two interconnecting rooms but refused to refund the unused nights. When I checked out (after 5 nights rather then 7), the management refused my request for a late check out saying they were fully booked. I didn't believe them because a) I had been told that before and lo and behold a room materialized and b) I had paid for that night. After arguing for 20 minutes with the extremely unhelpful person in charge, I got nowhere. I was told that the rooms went back into "general release" and they were fully booked. If that's the case , why no refund? I feel completely ripped off.

The resort itself is tired. If the Westin is a 5 star, then this is a 3 star at best. The rooms are basic, bathrooms are tiny. The food, although plentiful, is average. The food in the restaurant was completely tasteless. Also I struggled to find clean glasses and cutlery.

On the positive side,the range of activities is enormous and the GOs ( particularly Chelsea) are helpful and friendly. The adults only "quiet pool" is great.


However nothing makes up for unhelpful management. This was my first Club Med experience and will be my last.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 267Debra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedAP, Customer Relations at Club Med Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Debra,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the Resort felt below your expectations during your last trip to Bali. Regarding your unfortunate booking incident which was booked on incorrect dates (27 Apr to 04 May) by your husband on our website, we believed a reasonable and fair outcome was reached by rebooking your holiday for your family in 2 interconnecting Superior rooms for 5 nights instead of your 1 Superior room booked originally on the website (7 nights) and in protecting your original package pricing. This solution was agreed and accepted at the time of rebooking. We apologise for any further inconvenienced this seems to have caused.

Being during the school holidays period in Australia, the Resort was sold out on some of the date wanted from 20 to 27 APR in the Superior room category you had booked and the only solution was to offer an upgrade to a Deluxe room that was available at higher cost which was declined. Unfortunately, no refund was possible due to the dates you originally booked 27 APR to 04 MAY were sold out and Club Med could not have resold the Superior room at such short notice (7 days prior departure).

We trust that the above will clarify the issues that you had raised and once again we appreciate your feedback and hoping we could regain your trust again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Club Med Australia / Customer Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had the best time during our stay in Club Med Bali and we knew that after we set our first food in the Club. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and we did not have a dull moment during our stay. There was all the activities we could have asked for a great play pool and even an adult pool if you wanted some quite time and just relax. There was never trouble finding a day bed.
The best was the food, we thought we would never make use of the lunch offer, but all three meals were so good we went back every day and couldn't wait to sit down in the restaurant again to see what they had prepared for us this time. Very relaxing and fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,761 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Address: Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $297 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing