We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place in Nusa Dua, Bali!”
Review of Ellie's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellie's
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I spent 3 nights in Ellie's with my parents, grandpa, my gf, her parents and siblings. The experience is superb, everybody enjoyed themselves.

David helped us plan for our itineraries in Bali, transportation, meals, shopping tips and even rooms as we're traveling with senior family member, he advised us not to take sea view rooms as there are many steps. My parents and grandpa loves the pool front room a lot.

We all love the privacy, the environment is really relaxing. Breakfast was great. It's equipped with internet and a printer too. Well, it saved my day since i forgot to bring along my flight itineraries and some job related issues to sort out via emails.

While i was busy checking emails and replying them, i left my hand phone on the desk till the next morning. David picked it up and return it to me the next day. I feel very very grateful, Thanks again David! It's a very very safe place to stay. All of us are very impressed and we will definitely recommend Ellie's to our friends. Two Thumbs Up for Ellie's!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Ellie's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

I booked this with some trepidation despite the glowing reports on Tripadvisor ,as previously we had stayed at 2 of the beachfront resorts at Nusa Dua [Club Med and Nusa Dua Beach Hotel] and apart from the very different style of accommodation we were a bit concerned with other reviews about it's location.
Ellie's is just off the busy main road into Nusa Dua and although you do have to get cabs everywhere it is definately not 'remote' as other reviewers have described.
There is a good supermarket across the road when you need some extra tonic for your gin and Bintangs of course, although the hotel minibar also provides this at very reasonable cost.It's just that sometimes you just need a bit extra !.
We did walk from one of the restaurants just outside the main gates of Nusa Dua but it's a fair hike.
Ellie's will call a cab for you which are very cheap and arrive within minutes.We spent a couple of days at Geger beach at David the manager's recommendation.This is a lovely beach better than the main beach at Nusa Dua with cheap beachside cafes for lunch.
We also went to BVLGARI resort for cocktails [spectacular] and afterwards at Peperenos at Jimbaren Bay for a wonderful meal that was all on David's recommendation.
On this occasion we had one of Ellie's drivers 'Gin' who is a very careful driver and highly recommended.
On other nights we went into Kuta/Seminyak area and never had a problem getting cabs back.
We had the top floor room with great views.The room is very spacious ,clean and the beds are very comfortable.[Any chance of the very vocal cockerel who lives on a neighbouring property being dispatched before my next visit ?He's a bit of an early riser]
We enjoyed nighttime drinks on our balcony and also had evening drinks on the lovely upstairs terrace.
The breakfasts are very nice in a relaxed setting next to the pool.
The staff are fantastic.Special mention to Made who was very helpful.
We had a fantastic stay at Ellie's but can't end this review without saying that David and Caroline were the most perfect hosts.Our holiday would not have been the same without all off David's brilliant suggestions.Am returning to Bali in June with my sister and a couple of friends and have already booked Ellie's.Thanks once again for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillkatecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

It's hard to add more to what's already been said, but Ellies met all of our review-based expectations from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Two things not touched on much - definately take the time to read the folder left on the bed that managers Caroline & David have taken the time to put together, it's an invaluable source of info on where to eat / where to go. It saved us lots of time trying to figure out our days and meals, and all of the restaurants were great, esp - DON'T miss the sunset dinner at a seafood restaurant in Jimbaran Bay, we went to Blue Marlin Cafe, you will pay western prices but is worth every bit for the fabulous locale and food. Another tip: don't miss getting a rooftop terrace massage with Wayan, one of the most talented masseurs my husband and I have ever had! It's lovely in the evening with the breeze blowing and a great end to your day. For women who might not be comfortable with a male masseuse, he is absolutely professional, you won't regret it.
Also wanted to say that although Ellies is ideal for a romantic couples trip, and I was a bit concerned about our very "vocal" 3 & 6 year olds, everyone made us feel perfectly comfortable and we were assured they host plenty of children. The pool was great for kids with it's bench and fountains. Nearby Geger beach was fabulous for small kids as well, very shallow and warm, and there was always a taxi within minutes to take us there, so not being walking distance to the beach was never a problem for us.
We can't wait to come back someday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SitiSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I agree with all those below! And probably above! Service, breakfast awesome, massage up on the terrace and close ( by car) to great places like Jimbaran Bay. Fantastic value for $$.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambermai_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

It has been said over and over in the reviews....the service in this quaint hotel is 5 star, the managers David & Caroline go out of their way to help you, and so do the staff...The photos really don`t do this place justice......the room was huge, I had a pool, ocean view room...gorgous, remote & peaceful, great place to chill out. It is remote, but thats where the charm is.

I would happily recommend Ellies to everyone...Thanks for making me so welcome, it was more like visiting good friends....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Ellie's is a fabulous gem of a place. Hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the very busy Nusa Dua roads, this charming hotel will look after your every need. Dave and Caroline are on hand to help in sharing the best Bali has to offer. Rooms are comfortable with both bath and shower, air conditioning, fridge, TV and dvd player. The hotel will supply breakfast only which is fantastic! I highly recommend the banana smoothie, french toast and the muesli....absolutely delicious! There are plenty or dvd's at your disposal which is great for a night in if you feel like unwinding with a movie and an ice cold beer. There are many places to order food in the area and the hotel staff will happily make an order for you to be delivered to the hotel. The view from the communal top balcony is wonderful and a very pleasant way to sit and relax with a book after an exhausting day tanning at Geger beach.

All in all this hotel is perfect for those wanting a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay in a charming hotel that acts as the perfect base to visit Bali. Spa treatments can be organized including an on site masseur. For those who may want to visit the various hot spots of Seminyak and Sanur can arrange for a five star make-over from a professional MAC make up artist to ensure you're looking bang on trend and ready to party alongside the celebs.......Caroline and David really can make anything happen!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienLee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

For us Ellies was perfect, we didn't want to stay in one of the hotels in Nusa Dua as we wanted to know we were on Bali and not a resort that could be anywhere in the world. Ellies suited our needs, good breakfast, clean, tidy rooms with very good value minibar!

David, Caroline and the staff are excellent and very helpful, David wanted to help us in every way to have the best holiday and was very good at getting us the best deals, always going the extra mile. We didn't find the location of the hotel a problem as taxis are so cheap. Although Bali being a big island probably best to stay at Ellies for three or four days, then maybe do a few days in Ubud, and then on to somewhere on the North of the Island (Lovina?)

Overall we would highly recommend Ellies if you don't want a resort hotel and want to experience something different, where staff are very people focused and a hotel which is excellent value for money. We look forward to going back to Ellies in the near future.

Steve and Jo, Manchester

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#8 of 54 in Nusa Dua
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
#38 of 54 in Nusa Dua
116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
#34 of 54 in Nusa Dua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lerina Hotel Nusa Dua Bali
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
2.0 mi away
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
#28 of 54 in Nusa Dua
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellie's

Address: Jl.Taman Lawangan | Banjar Mumbul, Ngurah Rai Bypass, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $24 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellie's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ellie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie`s Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellies Nusa Dua
Ellies Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellie's Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing