We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”
Review of Ellie's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellie's
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Trip Advisor probably ruined our experience a bit, because after reading all the rave reviews here we expected something special. What we found was a budget hotel, with typical flaws. A/C working badly and leaking water. No tv-channels working. Wifi not working in the room. The cracks around the balcony door so large that you could literally see geckos walking in and out at night. A location where you have to use a car to get anywhere.
The owner was a very friendly and helpful man and I almost feel bad for writing a bad review, but as a frequent user of Trip Advisor I also hope that other users are honest when it comes to reviewing disappointing places with nice staff.
We checked out early and went to a newly built hotel closer to the beaches and the action. Yes, we paid twice as much. But we got five times the comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatbali_9, Manager at Ellie's, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

your review is right on one point, Free Wifi is not available in the cheapest rooms but Free Wifi is available in the social areas of the Hotel for all guests,
The small lizards that you see around the place are not Gekcos and these native little fella's are harmless and not interested in humans you will find these in every single Hotel in Bali. It's a Tropical Island!!
Aircon is fine and not leaking at all, This review does help people because for readers that prefer larger chain Hotels on the beach in Kuta that are the same all over the world and pay double the cost Ellie's. If these places are where your comfort zone is at, and to step out of it for something different makes you twitchy please don't book at Ellie's because you are wasting your time and our room which could be sold to the style of traveler that we aim for. That style is people at that looking for a comfortable, clean room, relaxed atmosphere, staff that know your name and can provide you with great service and give you an insight into a different side and taste of Bali. you only have to read all the good reviews to see if you are on the same wave length as our past guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

From the booking up to the airport pickup, everything were smooth. Location is quite tricky at the beginning, better get their transport. Just nice distance to Kuta, Uluwatu or Tanjung Benoa. Room was pretty, nice balcony view towards the ocean, also frequent planes taking off. Good location to stay at Nusa Dua.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacknose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for about 4 days a while ago, breakfast they prepared was great, lovely taste, lovely preparation. The pool was very chlorinated, stung the eyes, location ok if you have a car, however very isolated. English staff member was really helpful, Balinese guy was ok, no shops around so can't walk anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at ellies for ten days in early January, and the only way we can describe the place is perfect. Every one of the staff were always happy to see you and help however they could. Not only that, they also took the time to chat to you which made you feel far more at home than one of the faceless 5 star hotels of the Nusa Dua Resort. After a while it felt as though each evening we were coming home to family!
The breakfasts (included with the rooms) were always delicious and served in an open dining area next to the pool. The room was spacious and the air con worked wonders after a hot day spent exploring. There is great cheap food nearby which you can even have delivered to the hotel. Kuta is about 20mins away (although road construction near Kuta at the time increased the journey to about 30mins) and Nusa Dua and Geger Beach are only 10mins, just ask at the front desk and they will call you a cab!
David and Caroline were incredibly helpful, giving great advice on places to go and even arranging a driver for us one day to tour the sights slightly further afield (a must, at only $50 US for the whole day).
Overall our time here has been amazing, and would come back in a heartbeat. If you prefer the friendly, homely feel and want to see what Bali is really like then Ellies is a must!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at Ellie's from 13-18 Dec 2012.
Very friendly and relax place.
Great staff and David is very knowledgeable of what to do and what to look out for in Bali.
Our room was #105 just above the pool.
The WiFi was weak in the room.
Tip: I found out that by moving my laptop to the window facing the breakfast area; I could get better reception.
On our last day, we had the massage up on the hotel covered rooftop and it was absolutely brilliant.
Oh, by the way there is an entry and exit tax in Indonesia depending on your passport, so make sure you have enough money to pay for your exit.
See Entry and exit in the link below.
http://www.smartraveller.gov.au/zw-cgi/view/Advice/Indonesia

Room Tip: For Room #105 - Position your laptop close to the window facing the breakfast area; to get better WI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLeongCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place that I started to call home after staying for 7 weeks!

David and all the staff at Ellies couldn't be more accommodating, friendly, informative and helpful. From sorting out hire cars, giving endless maps and directions to places I wanted to go, not to mention actually picking me up and dopping me off places at no charge, plus recommending great restaurants to eat and great places to visit off the beaten track, always going beyond the call of duty to make sure my stay was the best it could possibly be. Going to the local market for me so that they could get the best price on the goods I wanted to buy - I could continue!

Ellie's really is brilliant, I spent many an afternoon reading on the roof terrace and watching the sun go down, while soaking up views of the harbour. The whole atmosphere at Ellies is very relaxing, soaking up the sun by the pool, enjoying the very delicious breakfasts! I couldn't fault anything. Great place to meet other travellers too, Ellie's seems to attract very friendly people, never a dull moment.

Will definitely come back when I return to Bali, missing all the staff now I'm back in the UK.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and just loved it! You have to use taxis everywhere, but you can retreat to Ellie's when the hustle and bustle get to be too much.

Breakfast was great & David was fantastic with organizing little things.

The rooms are spacious and has everything needed. Our bathroom's ceiling had a mouldy spot, and that gave it a bit of a smell - if not for that, would have been a perfect score :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#12 of 54 in Nusa Dua
321 reviews
2 mi away
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
#35 of 54 in Nusa Dua
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
#39 of 54 in Nusa Dua
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lerina Hotel Nusa Dua Bali
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
#31 of 54 in Nusa Dua
361 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellie's

Address: Jl.Taman Lawangan | Banjar Mumbul, Ngurah Rai Bypass, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $21 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellie's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Ellie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie`s Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellies Nusa Dua
Ellies Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellie's Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing