We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time this year...”
Review of Ellie's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellie's
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time this year...”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

August 2012 my husband and I stayed at Eliie's with some other friends for a week. We have stayed in a large resort in Nusa Dua for 3 years running prior to this year. We loved it so much we and our friends have already booked again for next year.

Ellie's may be small but the service is big. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They gave us great tips on eating and travelling around the area.

Although just off a main road, Eliie's feels like a relaxing oasis.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees and find stairs difficult ask for ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    91
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
64
189
41
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ellies was a great little find. Nice neat accomodation, very friendly staff, especially the owners David and Caroline really go out of there way to make your trip fantastic. Breakfast is very nice, and ordering in lunch/dinner from close by restaurants is no hassle at all, for the Ellies staff to do for you. Scooter hire was organised for me by David, and the rate was cheap. Beach is a 10 min ride away, and the pool at Ellies is nice to cool off and relax. Ellies was nice to come back to after a day of hustle and bustle in busy Bali.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aaron1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at Ellie's back in January 2010, for 2 nights. Without a doubt all the reviews about David and Caroline being the BEST are true! They helped arranged one of their drivers to pick us up from the airport, order food from local restaurants, as well as provided recommendations to beaches near by. It definitely left a memorable impression on both of us. So in December 2011, when we returned to Bali, Ellie's was my first choice! I love consistency, and so I love the fact that things have not changed at all. The breakfast menu is the same, rooms are the same, even our driver from the airport was the same! Although the staff was wonderful and very accommodating, David and Caroline were not around due to a family emergency -- so our overall experience wasn't quite the same. There was definitely a language barrier -- and unfortunately, we didn't come as prepared with our guidebooks as we should have since we had assumed we would just ask David/Caroline for all of our recommendations -- yes, they are that good! I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to Bali -- it's a great place, wonderful staff, great value! BUT, I would definitely want David/Caroline there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week during our recent (first) trip to Bali. We selected it based on TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed.

As per the majority of reviews it was quiet, clean and comfortable and a great place to be introduced to the Bali experience. We were sad to leave at the end of the week and head to Ubud for our second week on Bali.

David and Caroline are great - perfect hosts - and go out of their way to make sure all aspects of your holiday are enjoyable and of the highest quality.

These people are not interested in squeezing every last dollar out of their guests (for example you can order in food from local restaurants or send your laundry out through the hotel which is added to your final bill with no mark up) which we found especially heartening - not that common in today's world unfortunately. Personally I think a holiday is that much more enjoyable when you know you are getting good value for your money; definitely the case at Ellies.

Thanks David and Caroline for a lovely relaxing stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ellie's Guesthouse is a wonderful little property tucked in a back road away from a busy main road. We were traveling with our two teenagers, so had two standard rooms on the top floor just under where renovations are going on to add a spa to the rooftop area. Because of this construction noise did wake us up on our first morning after arriving, but despite this we found the laid back atmosphere very peaceful nd relaxing. Ellie's is smaller than we expected but due to the unique layout of where rooms were located we felt it was very private. The pool area is small, but we had it to ourselves. The pool is deep, therefore the water is cool and refreshing. Our oldest daughter came down with a fever when we arrived and we found the managers, David and Caroline to be so caring and compassionate -giving recommendations for ordering McDonald's food for her and helping to fix the DVD player in her room. There is a medical clinic nearby but we did not go to it. We all really enjoyed the made-to-order breakfast and my husband said they had the best coffee he had while in Bali. We ordered food one evening to be delivered to the hotel and while it was good, we found it to be very expensive. Ellie's is happy to arrange activities but we didn't do any due to our daughter's illness. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. All-in-all, we really enjoyed Ellie's and hope to come back when we are all feeling more healthy.

Room Tip: Standard rooms were good, but until the spa renovation is completed, I recommend travelers choose ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First off, Ellies is situated right between jimbaran and nusa dua, so there is no walking distance city centre to our experience. Never the less, everything else about this gem of a hotel is excellent. The owners, David and Caroline, are so passionate about their hotel and the area - all they care about is that you have a great stay and a great experience, while in Bali. Honest recommendations ranging from actual prices at restaurants and drivers, places to eat and see and where and when to go.

As this was the last stop before flying home, we had a very late checkout, but not only could we leave our bags in the reception, but we were given our room key, to have a bath and change of clothes, before going to the airport in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Ellie's. The staff were friendly and capable. Nothing was too much trouble. Ellie's has a real Balinese atmosphere and is very quiet and peaceful. As there aren't many rooms, I was the only one in the pool when I had a swim. A yummy breakfast was included in the price. I would highly recommend a stay at Ellie's.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs I would recommend a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
#33 of 54 in Nusa Dua
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
#36 of 54 in Nusa Dua
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lerina Hotel Nusa Dua Bali
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Segara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellie's

Property: Ellie's
Address: Jl.Taman Lawangan | Banjar Mumbul, Ngurah Rai Bypass, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellie's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ellie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie`s Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellies Nusa Dua
Ellies Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellie's Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing