We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Ellie's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellie's
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We started our first two nights in Bali at Ellie's. It was a wonderful place to stay! Not too many things were walking distance, but Nusa Dua and Jimbaran were both very very short cab rides.

David was awesome! Gave us very good tips on where to eat and good beaches nearby.

Geger Beach was very close by and such a great little beach! We had dinner in Nusa Dua and the breakfasts at Ellie's was delicious!

The hotel was very small, which was a huge plus, and the staff were very nice and accommodating! We loved it here.

Thank you David!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    92
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
190
42
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hi! We was impressed by the quality of the reviews, so we booked 5 nights at Ellies. Good call, I'd say. This was my first time in Nusa Dua, though I had been to Seminyak/Ubud twice before. Nusa Dua is an interesting area of Bali. On one end is the resort compound. We don't like that kind of scene as we find it overpriced and not at all stimulating. The rest of Nusa Dua is basically a typical town with warungs, motorbikes and mini marts around. Don't expect to be ON the beach, or to be on a lush resort compound. We spent 3 nights in Seminyak and did Ku De Ta, La Lucciola, etc., so we were happy to give ourselves (and our wallets) a rest. Ellies was perfect for that. Also, if you're wanting to explore the southern part of Bali, this is a great home base. More below.

Things we loved:

1. Price. We paid $36USD on Agoda, which included breakfast, Air Con room, bathtub, big bed, nice pillows, pool and wifi. Value was outstanding. We would have paid $50 for the same room.

2. Breakfast. We had a big mound of scrambled eggs on toast, with toast on the side, smoothie and coffee. We were filled up and it was free! Delicious butter and jam on the toast. Staff was lovely. French press coffee--good and strong.

3. Cleanliness. Our rooms were spotless, every day with housekeeping. Seriously, no dirt or sand anywhere. No mildew. Free bar of soap. No geckos, no gecko poo on pillows. Nice blanket, clean sheets. New zircon.

4. Service. All of the staff was lovely, and check in was a breeze. Our room was ready, no waiting. David and Caroline were fantastic--many reviews have mentioned it already. My husband said "David is the kind of hotel manager that focuses on us having a good time, rather than the money." That's true. Ellies doesn't get any kickbacks from Jimbaran restaurants, drivers or bookings. Instead, they pass that savings onto you. We booked our Gili tickets through Ellies and saved $28 on each one, thanks to David. He also set up a driver for us to go to the Culture Park, Uluwatu Temple, and Jimbaran. His rec for Jimbaran seafood was PERFECT. Lia Cafe. Cheap and good. David even helped my husband build a pinhole viewer so we could watch the venus transit. Who does that?! It's like a little family at Ellies, only it's the "stay out of your way, but help you along" kind of family.

5. Sleep quality: We had room 103, and we slept like babies. It's on the bottom floor of the building, and doesn't get early sunshine. It does get early roosters, but they didn't wake us up. We slept REALLY well. Awesome pillows.

Notes:

1. Food--Ellies does not cook lunch or dinner, but they plate your delivery for you, and can also run a tab to add to your hotel bill. The scenario is better than a regular hotel! Variety and convenience.

2. Mini marts nearby for your water/beer.

3. Warong Kampoeng was excellent restaurant about 15 minutes up the road. We loved their Soto Ayam for $1USD. Yum. They also deliver.

Things we didn't like:

1. Only one--weak wifi, and no wifi in room. But can't really complain much for the price, and all things considered. Also, not Ellies fault for slow Indo wifi.

That's pretty much it. Hope you book at Ellies soon. You'll be thankful for the rest.

Room Tip: Sunset from the terrace is good. We liked room 103.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here in transit to Nusa Dua, Ellies is a quaint place with great ocean views and it is well located. A good place to stay if you want to be close to the Nusa Dua/ Benoa beach area. Service exceptional and they had a nice pool area which we didnt get to try as we were just overnighting. We had 2 families here and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom looked a little tired but no real complaints here. This is a well managed and pleasant place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Ellie's last summer in three different rooms. Owner David was very helpful with email booking and the staff was friendly. Because we checked in late, we did not get to enjoy some of the amenities like the sitting room with a view. The room is an average room, nothing spectacular (but it's inexpensive...so it's expected).

The reason why I would not return to Ellie's is because my husband and I (as well as our friends in a different room) felt ELECTRICITY SHOCKS intermittently while we showered and/or used the sink with running water. It was VERY SCARY to be in contact with water and be shocked every 30 seconds to one minute so we had very speedy showers.

Because we left very early the next morning, we did not have a chance to talk to David so I emailed him, and his response was that there were some lose wires causing such an incident and that he would give us a very good discount if we were to stay there again next time. I don't think he realized the seriousness of such faulty shower...someone with a pacemaker or heart conditions could have easily been hurt or died in the shower from all that electricity. If it were a major hotel, the owner would have probably refuned the entire charge and gave complimentary rooms in the future because someone could have died. Luckily, we were okay...but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatbali_9, Manager at Ellie's, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Firstly may I say that the electricity problem which occurred on the night of your stay 10 months ago was taken extremely seriously and taken very seriously, guests welfare is a priority at Ellie’s, this problem was resolved the very next day and I would like to point out to those reading your review that Ellie’s is very much a safe place to stay and no ones life is in danger while showering! We maybe a small hotel but there is no way that we would ignore something as serious as a electrical fault that may injure guest. Certainly not for 10 months so the relevance of your review is some what out dated really. I could understand if you posted your remarks right after leaving the Hotel, then it would of been more relevant but 10 months down the line to address a one off incident that was take seriously and fixed as soon as possible does not really help anyone. Ellie’s is safe no one has ever Died while enjoying a stay here, its a shame this unfortunate incident means you feel you could not return to Ellie’s for more than one night to fully enjoy our accommodation and we apologise once again to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Ellie's is a perfect snapshot of what Bali is all about, warmth. From the moment you arrive, you'll be made to feel like a guest, not a customer. The staff knows you by name, and you will in turn grow fond of them too, like Mary who serves breakfast, and April who welcomes guests and even David and Caroline, the couple managing the small hotel. Set out on your Balinese adventure from Ellie's (David will make great recommendations) and be sure to ask for Pak Gin, the hotel's official transport provider, who simply is the best. The hotel design is balinese at its core, with its shrines and intricate wood and stone carvings, and the rooms are comfy and spacious. My wife and I won't be looking for any place else next time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are close to the open top floor of Ellie's, where you can sit back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufrisuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband decided to start our honeymoon at Ellie's and what a great decision that was!! The staff is very nice and polite and are always willing to help which was real nice.
David the owner has been more than great, he has been SO helpful to the point we could not believe we were just hotel residents! He's helped us get around, recommending places to go and where to eat, he's always given us tips to avoid being ripped off, he's given us the invaluable tip to rent a motorbike which is the BEST way to get around town BY FAR. In a nut shell, there's no way we would have managed to do most of things we did if it were not for his help!! In fact, he's been nice enough that he's still giving us a hand although we checked out several days ago!!
The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathroom has hot water and the AC works pretty well which is much needed in Bali :)
The breakfast menu was small but simply delicious, my husband still can't get over their pineapple juice :)
By far, we enjoyed every minute of our stay in this small and cozy hotel, looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: Do check out the top floor, the hotel has an amazing hidden roof that's just breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyatKamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed In ellies for few days , i can say that it was perfect, all the staff were very polite and friendly. Everything was clean and confortable, big pool, Nice place! Just chilling out and relaxing. It is a little bit difficult to find, so book your taxi with David. David helped us a lot, and he knows how to deal with guests, always helpfull and very friendly. Caroline as well, they can help you with trips and advices and good prices,although everything is cheap In Bali.......

We strongly recommend ellie's hotel and for sure we will be Back next year.
Take care guys!!!!


Jorge and Eli
From Brasil travelling around Ásia

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#10 of 54 in Nusa Dua
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
#34 of 54 in Nusa Dua
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
#37 of 54 in Nusa Dua
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lerina Hotel Nusa Dua Bali
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
2.3 mi away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellie's

Property: Ellie's
Address: Jl.Taman Lawangan | Banjar Mumbul, Ngurah Rai Bypass, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellie's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ellie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie`s Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellies Nusa Dua
Ellies Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellie's Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing