We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and fancy”
Review of The Cafe

The Cafe
Ranked #5 of 208 Restaurants in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cafe offerings are designed to suit the most discerning guests. Each station is dedicated to preparing authentic cuisines from selected regions, ranging from fresh sashimi, oysters, and sushi rolls in the Japanese corner, Chinese barbequed ducks and pork, tasty tom yum goong and Thai salads at the Southeast Asian station, exotic butter chicken and naan from the Indian section, to a la minute pastas at the Western corner. The dessert section is abundant with chocolate fondues, homemade ice cream and sorbets, heavenly cakes and mousse. Aesthetical use of scale, screening and materials are combined to create an impressive yet approachable restaurant that welcomes guests to an intimate and relaxed resort environment. A place where guests may enjoy delectable meals in the restaurant and outdoor area looking over the lush landscape with large swimming pool and Indian Ocean views.
Bali
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and fancy”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The buffet selection are fantastic and the food quality are superb. The price is very reasonable and i would rather say its a bit under-price for what you are getting . I will definitely come back again and again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalSurbakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at The Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear NatalSurbakti,

Thank you for dining at The Cafe and for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed our dining experience.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali.

Thank you,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    115
    45
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite cuisine in Bali”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have you ever heard the term "melt in your mouth"? Uhuh...there is such a thing, literally. Recently my husband and I dined at the beautiful Mulia resort in Nusa Dua, Bali. Ok yes, it is a 6 star so a high expectation is deserved...but as far as I am concerned the exquisite cuisine, polished patronage, delicious tangible aromas & present flavours were easy to savour with full appreciation. Tender cuts of poultry, game, marine & dairy accompanied beautifully presented and tasting side dishes that lined the stately room from one end to the other.
Desserts were a plenty and divine...
I fully reccomment Mulia to dine at and if you can to stay...ENJOY!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesireenSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at The Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear DesireenSteve,

Thank you for dining at The Cafe and for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your dining experience.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali.

Thank you,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unwelcome”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

So i am just a budget traveler(but dont mind paying for good food now and then) decided one night to ride my scooter there alone and have dinner. Total pain to find underground car park and walk back in dark to dinning area. Had to wait for table and then was shown to table outside and around corner assuming because i was not staying at hotel(tables about 30%). Felt like a fool sitting there so left. Food did look good price 319k plus 21%(why do places do this) i expect better treatment at a place like this

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at The Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Tom R,

Thank you for dining at The Cafe and for your review, we are sorry to hear that our dining experience didn't meet your expectations. Service Charge and Government Tax are mandatory, every dining and hotels establishment in Indonesia applies them. We certainly never discern our guests, our wish is just to present the best dining experience with our quality and food concept that has not been done before in Bali.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali.

Thank you,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Dining and Great Food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had my lunch at The Cafe, Mulia, Nusa Dua recommended by a friend of mine in Bali... The restaurant is WOW.. The food display more than WOW.. I impress and amaze with their details.. And the food taste is sooo great!!! I love the pecking duck, I love the curry, dessert also tempting. Its a good price and great food.. Really worth! Would like to visit and dine again there soon on my next trip to Bali! Oh, only one that I am a bit feel disturb by standing waitress not far from my table, she was not doing anything, just standing and seems keep an eye on us...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at The Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear ZeeCarl,

Thank you for dining at The Cafe and for your kind review, glad to hear you enjoyed our Peking Duck it is certainly very juicy and moist.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali.

Thank you,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive and sorry, but I found it over rated...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's called a café but it's a huge somewhat cold hall almost... It's quite formal and wasn't what I expected for a lunch buffet. The food was pretty good. But garnishes like lemon and lime looked dry and sad. Can I just commend the interior designer for picking some of the nicest looking cushions I have ever seen.

There were no drinks included in the price and it was about $28 for kids!! It cost us about $160 for 4 for lunch - no drinks - not even water! The desserts look good but were also a bit dry.

The resort is like nothing I've ever seen before. BIGGEST EVER! It goes for miles.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thiedemonsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMuliaBaliResort, Manager at The Cafe, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Thiedemonsters,

Thank you for dining at The Cafe and for your review, we are sorry to hear that our dining experience didn't meet your expectations. We strive our best to offer the best value for money for the quality we are serving, our team work tirelessly to present the best taste to guests from around the world. Hopefully you will give us another chance.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas – Nusa Dua, Bali.

Thank you,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to The Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing