We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable but overpriced and out of town.”
Review of The Mulia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mulia
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very relaxing stay and the service was outstanding. It is a mega resort and there isn't much to do outside lazing by the pool. Nusa Dua is away from the action and on reflection ... 3 or 4 nights here and some time in Legian / Seminyak / Ubud would have been the way to go. Great for what it is, just a little on the expensive side with everything added onto cost.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have get a garden room (read construction).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rathmines23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Rathmines23,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear that you received great service while staying at The Mulia.
The Mulia Bali has a lot to offer: a variety of water sport activities, tennis courts, a gym with the state of art equipment, bicycle rental, aquaerobic sessions, yoga classes, an award winning SPA, the only one in South pacific with the Ice Room and last but not least, the only night club in Nusa Dua, ZJ’s with live band and DJ’s performances nightly.
In regards of our rates, we are in line with the other same caliber hotels on the island and far above when it comes to value versus price paid.
We look forward to welcome you back!
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We recently stayed at The Mulia in Bali over the New Year '14 period for over a week and it was amazing! They had Jermaine Paul perform from The Voice USA. Simply driving into the large resort was spectacular. The resort is split into three parts, The Mulia at the front with exclusive suites beach front, The Mulia Resort with rooms in the middle part of the resort and the large Villas at the back. We booked The Mulia as we wanted the privacy it offered as well as the cool jacuzzis on the balcony overlooking the ocean.

The service is IMPECCABLE. From the get go. There was a butler service to assist with any bookings and even helped to change our flight tickets etc. They were fantastic, I could not fault them at all. Perfect. The service while we were dining was 'A-class', you can tell they all received proper training. Even the buggy drivers were courteous and very humble. A stand out for us was the lovely pool lifeguard, Kariana. He kept a keen eye on our son while he splashed around the pool and was very honest and polite. Kariana would always greet us and ensure we were relaxed and happy. My son absolutely adored him. A truly humble and pleasant individual.

Soleil is a fantastic restaurant and the head chef is amazing! We ate there everyday! We met him and found him to be so friendly and his food is superb! We actually miss the food at Soleil. We will definitely be back. Beautiful location, with fantastic Balinese hospitality. We have to credit everyone at The Mulia for being so fantastic. Cheers to them all. They all deserve a massive hi-5. We will definitely come back. NYE 2015 here we come!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fel_moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear coco_dove
We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our Hotel and are thrilled to hear that you’ve had some great experiences in regards to service, staff, etc. during your stay at The Mulia.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Thanks for helping us staying hotel during holyday.
Great view from the windows in hotel room and gardens are immpress us and feel exotic moods.
Supported by many stuffs working in hotel are surprised us and make us like king and queen.
Thanks for Japanese stuff kindly helps us.
When I asked about electlic outlet extension for battely cherge . soon it will setted in the room.
Kindly supports makes us happy and expects next travel chance.
Thanks for all stuffs in hotel Mulia.

Room Tip: Window View form the room is great look down the pools and Big womans statues. Jacuzee is haliest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yamada y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Yamada Y,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback!
It was a pleasure serving you. We are pleased to learn that you had such an amazing time at The Mulia. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Mulia has been termed a megaresort, and this is fair. The place is big. When considering the Mulia you need to understand that there are three main parts to the accommodation. The main part is the Mulia Resort. This is the large resort with two wings that come off the lobby and main front building housing the main restaurant and bars. Two wings of 6 stories of rooms run down to the beach around cluster of pools and gardens. The Mulia resort has a range of rooms, from those on the outside of the main courtyard to the rooms with a partial ocean and partial court yard view to the absolute ocean view rooms. Many of these are Suites with a large bathroom and freestanding tub. Remember that the Mulia resort is huge, with many pools and it houses the main restaurants and bars.
“The Mulia” is an all suites hotel that sits on the end of one wing of the Mulia resort with its own pool and all ocean views. The Mulia (Hotel) has higher price suites and a very nice, but somewhat deserted pool area. Remember the main action is back in the resort, the edge of which is a short walk, but the real action including the breakfast café is quite a way away. So if you want the exclusivity of a opulent suite and privacy of your own pool area, realize you will need to do a bit of walking, or be chauffeured by the helpful staff in golf carts.
The villa/ residences were set back on a hill, and I didn’t get there, but again are quite a way away from the main resort.
After this megaresort orientation comments I can say that my experience of the Mulia was staying in a partial courtyard/ocean view suite.
The first impression of the Resort was the imposing lobby. What it lacked in intimate Balinese woods it made up for in gloss tones of marble, stone, metal and glass. A balcony looked out over the spectacular rows of Balinese women with fountain bowls standing over one of the many pools. The gardens cascade down past more pools to the beach with regular wave breaks off a sandy beach and shallow sea close to the beach.
Staff were friendly and attentive from check in and throughout the resort. One noticed the many blue uniformed security staff around the resort, who were polite and friendly.
Our suite was all quality finishes and pleasant décor. Timber veneers and light wood complimented marble tiles and Asian art. The lighting was pleasant, the AC efficient and the balcony a great place to relax on a modular lounge. The king bed was firm and luxuriously comfortable, the pillows and bedding were also good. The room had a number of power points behind the bedside table that took a range of plugs (Australian/UK/Europe), a double power board sat next to the TV perhaps as an afterthought (a response to the Conde Nast Hot list mention perhaps?). The bathroom backed a power point that was a design flaw in an otherwise great room.
The bathroom has double sinks, a Toto robot toilet, rainhead shower with extra jets and a freestanding bath with floor to ceiling windows. Amenities were pleasant in a essential oils added kind of way.

The Resort courtyard grounds are huge and immaculately landscaped. The place was only 12 months old when I stayed and in this time the garden had done well, but lacked the mature lush feels of the older resorts. The stone everywhere was very impressive, perhaps due to the Mulia company’s core business of stone and building. A view to a forested temple looking out over the sea added charm to the vista.
The pools were many and varied. The Ladies Pool closest to the reception was good for morning lap swimming and had a swim bar for later in the day. The courtyard pool was good for late afternoon shade, which fell on the terraces around the pool. The kid’s pool had shade and amusement for infants. The largest Ocean Pool was where the action was. This pool had lounges in the water, areas between garden beds a big pool bar and seemed to cascade over right on to the beach with more umbrellas and lounges. The Ocean Pool staff kept food and beverages coming throughout the day with friendly grace and poise. The air-conditioned, and immaculate pool toilets were quite special also.

The breakfast was served in three restaurants, but I couldn’t go past the café. This huge place had a buffet breakfast to make the mind boggle. Favorites included Japanese, fresh fruit, many Chinese/Indonesian and other Asian options, pancakes and many dishes I can’t even name. The staff were efficient at seating and serving the large crowds who would hungrily descend. The espresso coffee was good, and freely available.

The Café also did a great dinner buffet. I am not usually a fan of buffets beyond breakfast but this food was fresh and fantastic. Other dinner options included a Japanese restaurant and Soliel, the poolside Asian/Italian restaurant aimed at a more formal dinner occasion. The prices were quite reasonable for pasta dishes and went up and up for exotic options (eg Canadian Lobster / Japanese Wagyu). A great wine selection, with high prices was also available with a Sommelier to help the choice and enjoyment.
The bar under the Lobby did good cocktails and wine, but seemed to lack a bit of intimacy as it was located in a large open area way from the views of the ocean. the pleasant Cascade lounge had a view and was a good place for an afternoon tipple. A nightclub was also on hand for after 9pm fun. A better place for a drink was the Sky bar on the rooftop with pool and sea views.

The gym was huge to match the resort and stocked with state of the art Octane and Life Fitness machines. Free fitness classes ran throughout the day.

The Resort was not near capacity but still had many people in it when I stayed. The crowd was mainly Chinese, Indonesian, Malaysian with a few Australians, Russians and North Americans. I suspect the brand is not as familiar to Westerners with only one other hotel in Jakarta. You became aware of the vast number in the resort around the breakfast buffet, but then later in the day around the pools the crowds seem to be dispersed by the sheer size of the place. Although the lobby area and common spaces under it seemed a bit shopping mall impersonal due to the sheer size, the pools and courtyard area felt more intimate and well spaced out so you didn’t feel over crowded by fellow guests.

The St Regis is within walking distance along the beach as are the next couple of resorts. A few local restaurants can be found on the beach at either end of the resort, but there are no shops outside the gates on the main road, so bring supplies if you need them.

This is a big place, but done well. I imagine the best balance between cost and luxury is the Ocean/Courtyard view suites in the Resort, but if you have the cash to splash there are many other options above.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear DiboTraveller ,
Thank you very much for your kind and generous review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed serving you. Our Mulia team and I look forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely, The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

For the first time since having four kids we decided to leave them at home with the grandparents. Whilst we would normally take them to Bali, their absence opened up a whole new opportunity for accommodation. It was a surprise for my wife, so only the best would do. Having been to Sunday brunch on earlier trips to Bali the Mulia was definitely on our short list. We were not let down. the Muli was pure opulence, with the most outstanding service we have ever experienced. From our butler, to the pool team, to the staff in the exclusive lounge we could not fault it! We stayed on the beachfront Earl suite which had large bedroom with king size bed, large living room, large bathroom plus a second toilet. Free standing bath overlooking the view plus a huge balcony with private jacuzzi. The pools are amazing and most of the time we had them to ourselves. We secured a pool side cabana each day. Aside from the service the food is really what sets this property aside. Quality is unbelievable. Basically if you want something they will make it for you. Obviously not budget prices, but for what we got outstanding value. Breakfast in the lounge is included, all freshly cooked, so much variety, right on beach overlooking pools. Then there is afternoon tea in the lounge 4pm -6pm. Unbelievable! Whilst there you must also do Sundat brunch at Soleil. We will return. It looks like a big concrete jungle as you approach but once inside it has all the features of a giant resort, but the intimacy of a boutique property. Beach location is great they take great effort every morning to clean it. Can walk to central Nusa Dua along beach or an easy taxi ride away, but once inside you will not want to leave. Every detail is attended to. A new level of travel for us. Cannot recommend highly enough. Perfect!

Room Tip: Must have ocean front suite at the Mulia. Three to choose from Baron, large bedroom, Earl, includes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear CandkMelbourne,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcome you back!
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Food was consistently good. All kinds of cuisine available and large menu variety.. Best Indonesian food ( quality , presentation and quantity ) good value… Rooms very clean and definitely better than many 6 star hotels. Rooms are spacious and have the luxury essentials. Security is excellent that one feels safe wandering on the beach or in the large property.; the resort is so big and comprehensive that we did not feel we needed to leave the hotel for the entire 5 days that we were there.

Room Tip: Ocean front view ground floor feels like a villa yet not as isolated as a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Shaun T,
It was a pleasure having you as guest at The Mulia. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take our guest comments at heart and share them with the rest of the staff.
We look forward to serve you again in the near future.
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quiet gigantic resort hotel in Bali, Indonesia. It is consists of three different type of accommodations, villa type, ocean front hotel type and inland yet near to sea hotel type which are situated in very large site. Guests can take the breakfast at any restaurant of all resort.
Foods are quet high standard and in variety of many kinds. Rooms are very spacious and comfort. Only a complaint is very high room rate when considered the price index of Indonesia.
広大な敷地に配置された3ヶ所のタイプが異なる、大リゾートホテル。コテージタイプや、オーシャンフロントと海から少し離れた2種類のホテルタイプがあり、宿泊客はどのタイプのレストランでも利用できる。食事の質は高くバラェティーに飛んでいる。部屋はとても広く、とても快適。ただインドネシアの諸物価を考えると、質量が余りにも高いのが残念。

Room Tip: Ocean front. 海に面した部屋。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masaofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMulia B, Manager at The Mulia, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Masaofc,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at The Mulia.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time at The Mulia.
In regards of our rates, we are in line with the other same caliber hotels on the island and far above when it comes to value versus price paid.
We look forward to welcome you back soon!
The Mulia Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 55 in Nusa Dua
2,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Mulia Resort
Mulia Resort
#13 of 55 in Nusa Dua
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulia

Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan | Kawasan Sawangan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $383 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mulia 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the majestic coastline of Nusa Dua, The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas evoke a relaxed yet polished sensibility. Cutting edge design throughout, the resort comprises three signature experiences; The Mulia is a boutique all-suite resort with 111 suites. Mulia Resort has 526 accommodations including lagoon pool rooms and suites and Mulia Villas is nestled on the hills of Nusa Dua with private pools and tropical gardens enjoying views of the Indian Ocean, offering total privacy and relaxation. The Mulia – Nusa Dua, Bali is a member of Leading Hotels of The World and offers a selection of one and two bedroom suites. Each has a patio with a Jacuzzi, spacious living area, state-of-the-art entertainment system and indulgent oversized bedrooms. The interior and outdoor spaces intertwine effortlessly, offering views of the vast pool decorated with beautifully crafted Balinese statues and the infinity pool seamlessly flows to the beach and continues to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulia Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing