We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible room”
Review of The Bale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bale
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
tenerife
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible room”
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We have been there for a week in early november and we were very surprise for this hotel. All what you see in their internet site is true. The room is incredible. You can go from the bathroom through the pool and is spectacular the view. You can see at the end the beach but the other guests can not see you in your room.
The breakfast is amazing, I also loved the benedict eggs, and you have plenty of choices. We had dinner onces in our room and it is just ok.
The beach is a little dirty if there has been some storm at night but they try to keep it clean. The temple at the end of the beach is very beautiful and you can visit. It takes only ten minutes by foot.
The staff are allways there to help you and they adviced you where to go for dinner or shopping (thanks Rocio for all your help).
We lived in another island (Tenerife) but we miss Baly and its tropical weather and nice people.

  • Liked — the privacy of the room
  • Disliked — it is a little expensive for Baly prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    81
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
495
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Less than 30 villas at The Bale, u hardly see other guests in the complex except for the attendants, feels like u r the owner of the whole complex!!

Nice attendants, service was great. But keep in mind that transfer service might not be on time, sometimes 10-15 mins late.

On the 1st day, I stayed at No.20 villa, it overlook the whole complex from the top, so it got a great view. However, I can say it's a villa to see and to be seen, people can see u if u stay in the garden. So we moved to No.17 where we got more privacy. What's more, the pool is attached to the bathroom @17, so we can jump right off the pool from our room.

U should definately try to order in room breakfast. They would set a table beside the pool for u to enjoy the great food.

The sand & the water condition @ the beach club was just so-so, not a nice place for swimming, but it's a gd for beginner surfer.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank vyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I ended our honeymoon in Indonesia with 4 nights at the Balé. It was our second hotel in Bali (first was the Viceroy in Ubud). The hotel is really modern and well built. We booked a superior villa and it was wonderful : very confortable, well equiped, very nice private pool etc etc But ....

I have had the luck to stay at great hotels. What make the difference is in the details : first we waited 2 hours on arrival to have our room (ok... it can happen), we asked for a nice restaurant and we were sent to a "on the beach" restaurant where the food was not good. Breakfast was average etc etc, we noticed that the hotel is not as clean as it seems.

To sum up: Fantastic room, friendly staff (even if not very efficient), good restaurant (not the b.f. though).... but the hotel is sleeping on its reputation (if we compare to the Viceroy where everything was premium - with a same price range) and there's nothing to do in the area (the beach is not pretty).

My advise is to forget the south part of Bali (where all the tourists go). The beaches will only make surfers happy, there's nothing interesting to do in the area, and it's too crowdy. On the other end, Ubud was really amazing and I have heard that the north part of the island is becoming really interesting.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pdesaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Me and my partner stayed at the Bale at the end of our stay in Bali. See other reviews for Ubud and Seminyak.
The Bale picked us up from the Elysian hotel in Seminyak and drove us to Nusa dua for our last 4 days in Bali.
The hotel is amazing and very modern..lots of white stone and lots of steps.
We had originally booked a single pavillion but got upgraded to the most amazing double pavillion with a massive garden and infinity pool.. we were amazed by the sheer size.
The villa itself was totally gorgeous too with indoor and outdoor shower, tub, 2 sinks etc. Our butler brought a selection of soaps etc for us to choose from (nice touch). There were complimentary drinks (soft) in the fridge and also bottled purified still water. NOTE that the perrier (imported water) is not complimentary like we thought...
Breakfast was amazing.. you have to have the eggs benedict with truffle.. to die for.. well, everything was good actually.

There is a complimentary shuttle to the beach (5 min ride away) where the hotel has got a reserved area of the beach. You get complimentary sun lotions and potions when you arrive and are very well looked after. Saying that.. our pool at the hotel was soo nice that we only managed to go to the beach once!
My partner played golf once on the course next to the hotel and he really enjoyed it.
We also had a massage each at the hotel.. very very good.

We took the complimentary hotel car in the evenings to different restaurants.. there is also a big outdoor shopping center in Nusa dua that is quite nice. Lots of shops and restaurants.
We loved our stay at the Bale and would happily go back again. Take a look at my photos and you will see why!

  • Liked — the infinity pool and garden
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Bale and stayed in a single pavillion (number 8) for 5 nights. Our room was very spacious and airy - the design is very sleek and minimalist but it is still very comfortable/simple and not at all like at all like those ultra-modern design hotels where you can never find the light switch! The bathroom was big and very nicely designed, complete with indoor and outdoor showers. We loved the steps down into our pool from the sliding bathroom doors. The private pool was lovely and it is a decent size as private pools go and there is plenty of private outdoor space.

The single pavillions do not have sun loungers but there are deckchairs and there is also a double daybed outside for relaxing (but it has a roof over it so you can't use it for sunbathing). Our garden/pool got the sun for most of the day (until about 4pm) but the downside was that we were quite near the main road - there is a constant stream of traffic which means it is not very relaxing or condusive to mid-afternoon snoozing! At the main pool, we couldn't hear the traffic so it is probably worth asking for a room that is higher up in the complex. The main pool is a good size for swimming (about 20 metres) and it never feels crowded as most people seem to stay in their pavillions during the day or go to the beach club.

The Bale's private beach club is very nice with loungers and umbrellas and attendants to bring you towels/drinks etc. - the hotel will drive you down and it only takes about 5 minutes to get there. The beach is not very wide but it has lovely yellow sand and the water is clear and turquoise (much nicer than the beaches at Kuta/Seminyak). There is some seaweed washed up on the beach but The Bale clear it away from their section of sand!

The Bale's spa is really nice and most of the treatment rooms have big jacuzzis for private use after treatments. The treatments are fairly expensive by Balineese standards (about $60 for a 1 hour massage plus 21% tax/service) but the therapists were very good.

We had breakfast in our pavillion every morning (at no charge which is a nice touch) and the food was great - there is a good selection and plenty of different things to try over the course of a few days.

The staff are very pleasant and are happy to arrange anything on your behalf. The hotel offers free transfers to any restaurant in Tanjung/Nusa Dua and Jimbaran, which is a great service and we used this every night - we found Bumbu in Tanjung to be one of the better places nearby. They have great Indonesian food and a decent wine list in terms of both selection and prices (rare in Bali). We were disappointed by PJs at the Four Seasons in Jimbaran - beautiful setting on the beach but the food is not exceptional and the wine list is extortionate (for imported wines, prices start at around $80). It is definitely worth going to the Amanusa hotel (next door to The Bale) for a sunset drink as the setting is really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetsansjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

The good:

This property is architecturally gorgeous and well-designed, with a fabolous pool surrounded by day-beds and perfectly placed for a sneek view of the ocean that is some distance away. The rooms are equally-well designed and comfortable, with an adequate seating area and beautiful bathrooms. The staff are quite friendly, and do go out of their way to assist you.

The Bad:

That said, our experience at the Bale fell short of what one would expect of a property with a high-price tag. Although service was generally excellent, there were some shortcomings in this area. Check-in was adequate, but ithe hotel failed to adequately explain the complex controls in the room to us. Check-out was especially challenging and unpleasant. Although a car was waiting to transport us, our luggage was in fact held hostage in the room until the hotel was certain that our bill had been paid. This simply delayed our preparartions for departing. Breakfast was excellent; dinner above-average, but lunch merely marginal at best.

One would expect that the hotel would (as other hotels of this caliber in Bali do so)provide bottled water for free whether in the room or dining with the hotel, as most hotels do not have potable water. Being charged $5.00 US for a bottle of Aqua simply becuase you request it with lunch is ridiculous. That's gouging the guest for a little extra money.

The Ugly:

There were problems with the airconditioning and ceiling fan. When we moved into a new room our second night, which had already been reserved in a different, lower price category, the new room had multiple problems, from a sink that obviously leaked (with a towel placed under the sink to catch the dripping water!!), a toilet that ran all night, and a resident frog in our room, which defied our attempts to move it outside our quarters while we tried to sleep.)

Although the hotel clearly knew about some of the problems with the new room before it moved us into it, instead of informing us of them, it tried to upsell us into another room at a higher price!! Indeed, when brought these problems o the attention of the rooms manager at the time of check-out, we were informed that the hotel had planned to take this room out of service because of the problems with it. This did not sit with us well. The hotel did not offer anything to address these issues other than a smile.

We were not smiling when we left.
.

  • Liked — beautiful
  • Disliked — not well-maintained
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topaccommodations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Simply awesome..great staff with their heart & soul in service

  • Liked — The Staff's service attitude
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spxcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,796 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Property: The Bale
Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing