We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect if only………..”
Review of The Bale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bale
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

What a beautiful resort with friendly staff and a manger that will not only introduce himself but converse with you for as long as you like. All Bale staff is tentative but there are a few that really are exceptional.

Our deluxe standard room was very spacious and well designed. The pool and daybed is simply lovely but the pool is too cold to swim in although we expected warm in July the pools were just freezing. The ocean was much warmer with a designated area for The Bale only and a person to help you set up and get food and water for you when you need. We were also impressed with how picturesque the beach was, clear blue water and white sand. Some minor details were missed such as one night they missed our turn down service, didn’t refill the tea bags etc but like I said, they are minor.

As mentioned by another reviewer there are many stairs but at the side is a path, still up hill but it reduces the amount of stairs.

This was almost perfect if only the traffic noise was not so incredibly intrusive. Day and night, even inside the villa with everything closed we still struggled with the traffic noise. We were given a villa just behind the kitchen so the combination of the kitchen phone ringing with orders and the constant traffic noise we found we just could not relax as much as we wanted too. Pancha was very responsive to our concerns with moving us to a villa furthest from the front but we had to wait two days before we could move as it was occupied. This was an improvement but still some noise but at least I could start sleeping again! It wasn’t until Saturday; the day we left, the traffic went completely quiet!! I was informed the Balinese do not work Saturday or Sunday resulting in less traffic. The concrete trucks and motorbikes without mufflers finally stopped and then it was perfect!!

Based on this we would return but we would ensure our time there would be just over the weekend plus one day either side.

Room Tip: stay at the back of the resort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thaihappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Thaihappy

Thank you so much for such a lovely review… We have taken note of your comments regarding those little details and I will share with our team in the morning briefing so we can all pay a bit more attention in the near future. It was a pleasure meeting you both, our chats and stories.

I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding our team, their genuine passion and care, smiles and heart to serve, that makes the difference: they are simply amazing! I will convey your comments onto the team.

But for the noise from the road I just replied another comment that pointed out similar situation ... on a positive note we have made adjustments to the water feature at the entrance to the villa so the increased flow reduces noise pollution from the road.

Furthermore I will be meeting our owners in Jakarta this week to explore some options for addressing this matter in the big way and preserve the blissful environment that has made The Bale so unique and special all these years. In the meantime we have blocked those rooms closer to the road so we can avoid allocating guests until such issue is being fixed.

Thanks again and please stay in touch!
Jose Luis Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for The Bale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 662 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

Wow, what a trip, if you are looking for privacy and quietness, the Bale is for you. Everything about the resort is top notch "SPECIAL",,,, and if you want to laze around your private pool in luxury.... this is the resort for you. All staff are so helpful and the food amazing. With the new freeway - 15mins from the airport, very convenient. The only issue I had, and this is so minor - the razor blades in the room are no good, make sure you not forget to bring your own. Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marcimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Marcimoo

Thank you so much for your positive review…. We are delighted to learn that you had such a good time and appreciate what The Bale is all about: privacy and friendly service only for couples ! thanks again and stay in touch!.
Jose
PS>> noted ref. razor.. will get something better sorted. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were meant to stay at The Balé for 5 nights on our honeymoon but we only managed 4. Our experience at this hotel was perhaps not as wonderful as some of the many positive reviews that you see here on Tripadvisor, which also helped us greatly in the decision making process.

When we arrived at The Balé we were quite surprised that you are actually dropped off at the roadside and not in a sweeping drop off greeted by porters that you see at most 5 star hotels, the security guards did take our cases and you walk through a small pathway to their reception, which is quite charming, modern and contemporary. While checking in we were greeted by the manager who was very friendly.

We're were shown to our pavilion via a number of small staircases and long pathways, the resort is very modern and contemporary with white stone and water features surrounding you everywhere. We decided to stay in at Deluxe Single Pavilion which included the half board package (lunch/dinner/60min treatment). On our first night we had dinner at their restaurant Faces where we were one of only two couples in the restaurant. The food was delicious however the restaurant did lack atmosphere. The couples massage is also very good, we used the Jacuzzi after although the sauna was broken.

During our first night we struggled to sleep through the very noisy traffic that passed our room. Mopeds speed past every minute through the night, it was like sleeping next to a Moto GP race track (no exaggeration) and we happened to have the room directly next to the road, so do try to avoid room 32. The following day we asked to move and the staff were very accommodating and understanding and offered us alternative pavilions that were available. As our pavilion was on the top level we benefitted from more sun in our garden and an infinity pool, which we liked and therefore as the other rooms were inferior to ours we decided to stay there and see if we could put up with the noise. Even when we spoke to the manager at reception he had to pause to let the traffic go past before continuing.

It is worth noting at this point that although the pavilions are beautiful, with a large pool, garden with outdoor daybed, contemporary design, they are very tired and in need of a refurbishment. Much of the metalwork has rusted away, the wood needs varnishing, cracks in the stone floor, the blinds above the pool doors were filthy and little things such as the sunbeds not matching showed a lack of class and quality that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The service was certainly 5 star but the standard of the hotel was that of a 4 star.

The rest of the hotel is nice but remnant of a clinic or priory, the staff even wear all white! The main pool area is deserted all day as most people would rather sit by their own pool. The new bar/restaurant TAPA is cool and if filled with people would be a good place, but again is almost empty most evenings. The happy hour as part of our benefit provided decent cocktails but these are good for a pre-drink as you would need to leave the resort and go somewhere to regain some sanity with atmosphere and vibrancy.

If you are sold this hotel due to its beach club then think again, to walk to the beach takes approx. 8 mins and this is accessed by crossing the main road, then walking down the service road of the Mulia hotel and then down a small dirt track where piles of rubbish and wild dogs roam. Once there The Balé beach is a mere postage stamp of Geger beach with 12 beds and although you are provided with towels, water, lotion and body mist the rest is not so appealing; old sunbeds, the lockers at the back have rusted and warn and even the hotel branded flag is in tatters. While laying on your bed you face a water sports rental guy on plastic Coca-Cola chairs. The toilets are shared with a cheap Beach restaurant where we had lunch. Directly next to The Balé beach is a mass of sunbeds from another resort so the beach is not private in the true sense of the word. It really hit us when we walked 200m along the beach to the St. Regis hotel to find what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, wicker beds with cushions, all along a cleaned beach with pool bar serving cocktails and food.

By the 4th night we could take no more and managed to move hotel for a final night in Bali. The hotel staff were very lovely and accommodating to our needs knowing our issues. We moved across to Seminyak, which is where there is life and activity, Nusa Dua has nothing.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for 5 star quality and although it might seem appealing for a honeymoon to have the tranquillity and time alone together by the end of it you will find yourself craving life and activity, especially if you are used to that. Although the hotel may appeal to some, clearly by reflection of the other reviews on here, it was not for us and we made an error of judgement when choosing this particular hotel. For the money that you are putting down in this hotel, this could be better spent in any of the other many 5 star hotels on the island.

Room Tip: If you have booked a Deluxe Single Pavilion do not choose room 32, it is very noisy and next to the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Simonarch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director of Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Simonarch82

Thank you for sharing your personal experience with us and Trip Advisor readers. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you both during your stay in Bali although it’s indeed unfortunate that you left with such impression of the property and our surroundings here at Nusa Dua. On the positive side, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments regarding our family (as we call our team at our resorts), the quality of the food and spa as well as the team sincere efforts to accommodate your feedback during your stay.

As shared with you personally, it was our priority to make sure that you would have a wonderful stay in Bali despite of which resort you would decide to stay, either The Bale, a couples retreat, quiet and blissful or relocate to another luxury resort in Seminyak were you would have had more options for dining / entertainment, a more lively ambiance, as offered after we met. I believe, now that I have read couple of times your review, Seminyak would have probably better suited your expectations.

The Bale was fortunately almost full during your stay although one may perceive otherwise given the fact that most of our guests often decide to spend quality time in the privacy of our villas instead of going to the beach, exploring restaurants or bars, shopping, … romantic candle light dinners, private barbeques or in room massage are tailored made for in-house guests instead.

In regards to the noise pollution at unit 32, you will be glad to know that we have made necessary adjustments (by our engineering team) to increase the flow of the water feature at the entrance of the villa in order to minimize any possible disturbance / noise that might be caused by cars or motorbikes driving close by the resort. I can’t deny that traffic in Bali as a whole has increased being Nusa Dua not exception. Readers can rest assured that we are taking your constructive feedback seriously to upgrade our product and minimize similar complaints in the future. Although I showed you around the property and presented some options for staying at the same category or even upgrade to unit 19/20 (Double Pavilion), I was under the impression that you were expecting a different type of product all together.

But for your views regarding the resort needs of refurbishment, I would like to share with you that we actually closed the entire resort for a period of 7 months back on 2012 investing just above 2 million USD in upgrades and enhancement of our product as we work hard to keep up the standard of the resort in line with our positioning as a luxury boutique resort.

Nevertheless, being located meters away from the beach affects certain aspects of the product offered as its obviously metal and wood, both elements regularly serviced. Please kindly accept my most sincere apology for not having met your expectations and having let you down with those details you kindly shared with us. Running with high occupancy over the last few weeks may have compromised certain details that you can be now sure are on top of my daily check list making sure that not only our service is 5 star but also our product.

Thanks again for your time and for choosing this magic island of Bali to celebrate your honeymoon. Congratulations again!
Warm regards

Jose Luis Calle
Managing Director
Lifestyle Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

While we only had one night at the Bale it was a great experience. Walking though the big wooden doors to our Delxue Pool Villa through the courtyard with lovely water features, a large daybed, grassed area and a huge pool I was blown away with the luxury. And this was before we opened the door to our beautiful room. The Bale is part of the Lifestyle Retreats group of resorts and the standard is very high. The Rooms are Huge with all the 5 star features plus a great outdoor waterfall shower and a huge standalone bath with its own TV to watch while you soak. Free soft drinks in the fridge and ample supply of beautiful soaps and other items.as well as an oncall Chauffeur to take you anywhere in the Nusa dua area and Butler for any requirement . Breakfast is a real treat which you can have brought to your room or eat at the restaurant located by the main pool. The breakfast is A LA carte - all you can eat with amazing options like Eggs Benadict and the best Fruit pancakes I have ever tasted.
We also ate dinner at Hotel's new Tapas restaurant which was great fun(another new experience) and very reasonable with lovely staff .As other reviews have mentioned the bonus is Geger Beach only a few mins walk away that has heaps of good cheap local food a lovely beach and massage ladies to prod and poke you.The Bale has a private beach club area here with free sun beds and staff to look after you and if you dont feel like walking back to the hotel the staff will call the driver for the 1 min drive back to the Bale. This beach was my husbands favorite. Cheap very cold Bintang and good snacks while sitting watching the passing parade of people.
There are a few cosmetic things that need a touchup in the outdoor area of the villa but these are minor and I recommend everyone to spoil yourself for at least one night at this wonderful resort. As a travel agent who has visited Bali more than 40 times and has seen many beautiful villas and resorts this is definately up there with the best.While the price is not cheap it is well worth saving for this special stay.Thanks to Budi and all the staff for making us feel like a King and queen.. Sandy Brasier Harvey world Travel Mt Waverley

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear HarveyWorld

Thank you so much for such a positive review.. It was a pleasure meeting you and your lovely husband during your short visit to The Bale. Eggs Benedict are indeed many guests’ favourite! (I shall include myself too)

he Bale is indeed the perfect spot for couples wanting to chill out and spoil themselves. Stay in touch and hope you can make it back for a bit longer next time.. you deserve it!

thanks again

Jose Luis Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I will preface this by saying I stayed in Hanging Gardens and COMO Shambalah Estate in Ubud and the Bale was my absolute favorite. Intimate staff who anticipate your every need. The property is jaw dropping and well thought out. Our private villa with private pool was simply the most amazing place I have ever stayed! I cannot say enough about this property and the staff. The manager at the time was the nicest man! He gave us local suggestions for shopping, eating and even drove us to multiple ATMs when our cards wouldn't work. Truly a high-class place that cares about their guests.

The food and drinks were incredible. I cannot use enough superlatives to explain how much I loved this place. I cannot wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: 2 of us stayed in a single villa and it was perfect. Private pool in unbeatable and unlike anything...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Lauren W

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at The Bale. .

You touched our heart with your positive comments and compliments not only regarding our product but in particular the genuine character of our family (as we call our team at the resorts).

I will personally convey your message onto our team. Stay in touch and sincerely hope you can visit us again soon..
Warm regards

Jose Luis Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel. Rooms were comfortable. Staff very accommodating. Food was excellent. A nice alternative to the big box hotels nearby. Does require an 8 min walk to get to the beach, although hotel will furnish a car to drive you there. Was very lovely and quiet. Only downside is that the hotel could use some refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank caracal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Caracall2011

Thank you so much for your positive review.. We are delighted to learn that you had such a good time and enjoyed not only our villas but also our cuisine and overall ambiance. .The Bale is indeed a magic place!

But for refurbishment, we actually closed the property for over 7 months back on 2012 investing just above 2 million USD in upgrades and refurbishment. Being located relatively close to the ocean causes us some issues every now and then, especially wood and metal produced: often get affected by salty environment. Although regular maintenance is in place at times when occupancy is high or very high certain areas might be exposed which we are currently addressing and correcting to make sure our product is kept at the highest standard.. thanks again and stay in touch!

Best regards
Jose Luis Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Waoow ! We were expecting something great, and we were surely not disappointed ;)))

We went to Bali for two weeks in March, and decided to stay for 10 days at the Bale. We choose the Deluxe Villa with Half board/1h daily massage option.

The villas was fantastic. Huge, Spacious, confortable bed, Bathroom opening directly into the outdoor pool... big garden just next to the tropical forest adjacent to the golf course, really a peaceful heaven to relax during the day or the evening.

They have two restaurants, we almost had a daily bite at the "FACES" next to the pool. Fresh and delicious fusion kitchen. And as good as the food.... the Staff ! The team around Chef Nadi was fantastic. Smiley, cheerful, attentive, delicate and... we had very good interaction with them, really good team.
We also spend half a day with Chef Nadi, to go to the markets and have a cooking lessons with him. It was one of the highlight of our stay, the markets visit with him was really interesting and full of discoveries ;)

The massage sessions that we had went very well, and I would recommend you to use it !

The chauffeur is very convenient to drive you to and from the Bali Collection shopping area, or any other places on the island,

Last but not least, the little Geger Beach, 5min walk from the hotel (or 1min with limo) is really a cool day escape. Despite the new Huge Mulia resort opening nearby, it has this little "private beach" feeling, away from the bustling crowds of Nusa Dua.

So as a summary, the place is fantastic, and the staff is incredibly dedicated and full of attention.
For us it was a perfect choice for many reasons:
- Good location, easy reach of : Nusa Dua beaches, shopping area, Kuta, Padang/Ulawatu surf and temple areas
- Perfect place to recover after a long day trip across the island
- Perfect place to chill out during all day if you don't wanna go out and confront yourself with the bustling Bali life ;)

We will go back for sure during our next visit in Bali.
Thanks again to Luke and the whole Staff
Cheers from Zurich
J&M

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are adjacent to the Tropical forest and give them a very nice "natural" feeli...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trax51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Trax51

Thank you so much for your positive reply.... it was indeed a pleasure having you with us earlier this year. Villa 37 is indeed one of the most peaceful units we have, overlooking the golf course and surrounded by huge trees and dense landscaping. Saw Nadi earlier today while talking with guests about some spices. He is brilliant. Stay in touch and hope we can welcome you to your second home very soon!.. best regards

Jose Luis Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $343 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing