We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place by Nusa Dua”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bale
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place by Nusa Dua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel. Rooms were comfortable. Staff very accommodating. Food was excellent. A nice alternative to the big box hotels nearby. Does require an 8 min walk to get to the beach, although hotel will furnish a car to drive you there. Was very lovely and quiet. Only downside is that the hotel could use some refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caracal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Caracall2011

Thank you so much for your positive review.. We are delighted to learn that you had such a good time and enjoyed not only our villas but also our cuisine and overall ambiance. .The Bale is indeed a magic place!

But for refurbishment, we actually closed the property for over 7 months back on 2012 investing just above 2 million USD in upgrades and refurbishment. Being located relatively close to the ocean causes us some issues every now and then, especially wood and metal produced: often get affected by salty environment. Although regular maintenance is in place at times when occupancy is high or very high certain areas might be exposed which we are currently addressing and correcting to make sure our product is kept at the highest standard.. thanks again and stay in touch!

Best regards
Jose Luis Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    80
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
481
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Waoow ! We were expecting something great, and we were surely not disappointed ;)))

We went to Bali for two weeks in March, and decided to stay for 10 days at the Bale. We choose the Deluxe Villa with Half board/1h daily massage option.

The villas was fantastic. Huge, Spacious, confortable bed, Bathroom opening directly into the outdoor pool... big garden just next to the tropical forest adjacent to the golf course, really a peaceful heaven to relax during the day or the evening.

They have two restaurants, we almost had a daily bite at the "FACES" next to the pool. Fresh and delicious fusion kitchen. And as good as the food.... the Staff ! The team around Chef Nadi was fantastic. Smiley, cheerful, attentive, delicate and... we had very good interaction with them, really good team.
We also spend half a day with Chef Nadi, to go to the markets and have a cooking lessons with him. It was one of the highlight of our stay, the markets visit with him was really interesting and full of discoveries ;)

The massage sessions that we had went very well, and I would recommend you to use it !

The chauffeur is very convenient to drive you to and from the Bali Collection shopping area, or any other places on the island,

Last but not least, the little Geger Beach, 5min walk from the hotel (or 1min with limo) is really a cool day escape. Despite the new Huge Mulia resort opening nearby, it has this little "private beach" feeling, away from the bustling crowds of Nusa Dua.

So as a summary, the place is fantastic, and the staff is incredibly dedicated and full of attention.
For us it was a perfect choice for many reasons:
- Good location, easy reach of : Nusa Dua beaches, shopping area, Kuta, Padang/Ulawatu surf and temple areas
- Perfect place to recover after a long day trip across the island
- Perfect place to chill out during all day if you don't wanna go out and confront yourself with the bustling Bali life ;)

We will go back for sure during our next visit in Bali.
Thanks again to Luke and the whole Staff
Cheers from Zurich
J&M

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are adjacent to the Tropical forest and give them a very nice "natural" feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trax51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Trax51

Thank you so much for your positive reply.... it was indeed a pleasure having you with us earlier this year. Villa 37 is indeed one of the most peaceful units we have, overlooking the golf course and surrounded by huge trees and dense landscaping. Saw Nadi earlier today while talking with guests about some spices. He is brilliant. Stay in touch and hope we can welcome you to your second home very soon!.. best regards

Jose Luis Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have been staying here for years and it never fails to impress.
It is a true chill out zone where the villas are the centerpiece of relaxation. I could (and do) spend all day laying on the outdoor day bed reading book after book overlooking private pool big enough to do laps in. The interiors of the room are contemporary and comfortable and still in great condition after all this time.
The room service (a favourite of mine) is excellent. Love, love love their nasi goreng and satays! The service is always exceptional and nothing is ever too much trouble.
Sure, this isn't on the beach (they do have access to their own beach club minutes away) or even the most active location (but close enough to Nusa Dua main areas), etc but you go here to relax and enjoy the time in the villa or the restaurant or spa. In fact they "recently" opened a new restaurant Tapa above the entrance. I tried this on a couple of evening and was full after trying a couple of the different tapas selections. Great quality.
Overall, I will look forward to coming back again each year...but perhaps next time will try their new property just opened, The Santai Umalas. It also looks amazing! Congratulations to Jose and the entire team of The Bale. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: The "newer" rooms are looking towards the next door golf club but I don't think their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveTravelDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear LiveTravelDie

Thanks again for staying with us…. It feels like welcoming you back home already.
Stay in touch and hope you can visit us soon? Bring some friends and maybe stay at The Santai next! You will love it as well.
Cheers

JOSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just returned from two nights at the Bale, and it was an absolutely spoil. The staff all work together as such a good team, to ensure they understand - and meet - all of your requests. In essence nothing is too much trouble. Food at both restaurants was exceptional, and despite being booked out, it feels like you are the only ones in the resort, due to the well considered layout, and landscape. And, all still looks brand new. When we next visit Nusa Dua, that's where we'll be!

Room Tip: Beautiful aspect for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear RozB
thank you for your kind words.. We are glad to learnt that you had such a wonderful (although short) stay with us at The Bale. The team (family as we refer to them) is simply brilliant and never hesitate to make an effort to please our guests.. stay in touch and hope to welcome you both very soon!.. thanks again!
JOSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

As a secluded retreat to get away from it all, the Bale is a great place. Impeccable service, tranquil and discreet, once you arrive you know you are getting good service. From online booking to emails, the staff are in touch with you and make an effort to know your requirements air pickup arrangements etc before you step into the hotel. I requested fresh milk / cream in my coffee and it was already in the fridge (a carton no less). The mini fridge was well stocked with drinks which some are complimentary during your stay. Great touch!

Modern and contemporary, the compound only has villas, each having a butler service. Granted, the butler who registers you (in the comfort of your villa) may not be the same person who will attend to you for the rest of your stay (so therefore NOT "personalized"), but the butler staff do make an effort that your requests are followed up within their team. Walking through the grounds I was surprised that the staff that passed by were able to greet me by name and ask about how I enjoyed my days events, which was well planned and arranged when I arrived (Thanks Gobi!!)

The room service was impeccable, having ordered the deluxe pavilion package plan, food was delivered swiftly to the villa; all a la carte. I enjoyed the breakfasts / dinners in the villa, which I could take at leisure (half board / spa package). The deluxe single villa had a sizable desk and sofa space, however lighting was a bit dim -maybe to discourage guests from working on their vacation- near the desk and suitcase storage area. Lots of closet space though! Their in room menus had a great combination of fusion/ Indonesian and western dishes on offer, and their set meals had great choices, however one could easily be tired by the choices after a weeks stay. However I cannot recommend the mango parfait enough!!
Tapas, their bar was on a higher level above the spa/ wellness areas. Their cocktails were innovative and tasty. I was glad to be able to sample their set dinners (which I almost missed during my stay, if I wasn't reminded by the waitstaff). Their food, "tapas" had great variety and portion size enabled you to sample the many offerings on the menu.

The room was spacious. I was amazed by the size of the bathroom, showers, and the design that one can directly enter the pool from that area (without dirtying the sleeping areas) was well thought out. The soaps they had on offer - one could never try them all out (there are only so many baths one can take). However being near a natural area, mosquitos and flying pests were a problem. The room I had had a small ant problem as well, my coffee cup from the night before was host to a colony the morning after. I also saw a gecko (hand size) but after the inital shock it scattered away, and I dismissed it as nature's way of pest control. The housekeeping staff were swift to answer my calls for pest control, but like I said, it was a battle with nature. I can only recommend to ask for the mosquito net the night you arrive, there is no point in relaxing in the villa if you can't get a decent night sleep being woken up by annoying buzzes and itchy bites. Housekeeping also made a great effort of making the pool clean (trees neaby so there is always some floating debris) however the tiles could use a bit of scrubbing. The age of the hotel certainly shows in the tiles. You may want to find the kettle (outside near the daybed) and bring it into the villa if you do prefer having your morning tea in the villa). Villas are quite spaced out so there are a few stairs, and slopes, so guests with mobility problems may find the farther placed villas harder to get to. Try to stay in a villa away from the road, as it may get pretty noisy with cars, and livestock. Facing the golf course is tranquil but nature and its flying guests are at your doorstep.

The Spa was a fair walk from my pavilion but the setting was secluded and relaxing. The staff were very professional and courteous, and were happy to rearrange my spa times when my day's intinerary ran overtime. Such strength in small petite ladies! I felt very relaxed and refreshed after sampling their traditional spa, aromtherapy spa and hot stone massage. *The stones are hot* . The gym is one of the better gyms on offer at luxury villas, so if you have time, checking out the place is worthwhile.

In all, the Bale was a great place to unwind and get away from it all. The Nusa Dua area is quiet and laid back, but close to the beaches and other resorts (the chauffeur drives you anywhere in the area for free). The service is what makes the hotel so great, but the battle with nature wages on.

Room Tip: Solo deluxe pavilion wonderful (take the package) but stay away from the main road as you can hear c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHYL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

For those of you who have read my reviews, you know I tell it like it is and explain the good and bad features as we saw or experienced them.

From the moment you enter the Bale, you know you have arrived at a very special place.

The Balinese bungalow set in a tranquil and secluded position was just the place for us to find the piece of paradise we had hoped for.

Although the resort has its own private beach area, we were more than happy to lounge around our own private pool that had a steps direct from our bathroom into the water. Everything about this resort is themed to offer total relaxation, such as having two luxury sun loungers and a sumptuous double bed in it's own covered area (with tea and coffee making facilities) to be used for massages and well er just relaxing and being in your own world. You really couldn't ask for more. The music system in the lounge is loud enough to enjoy outside without upsetting your neighbours.

You would want to recreate the bathroom for your own property, especially the outdoor rain forest shower and huge double person stand alone bath.

It is so secluded that you never had to worry about being seen from any part of the bungalow or its grounds.

The dining at the Bale is to die for but be prepared to add some kilos as it's impossible to miss out on any courses. The dining area is open as is the kitchen, which forms part of the dining sensation where the chefs are happy to discuss your menu choice to make sure it's cooked to your personal taste. And then there is the 7- course breakfasts every day prepared for each guest...no buffet cold bacon to put up with. I have to say, it's the best breakfast we have ever experienced with travelling to four continents and always staying at 5* accommodations.

Luckily, there is also a quality gym to help you work off those extra kilos for those of you who feel guilty or just want to keep fit.

With your own private butler to take care of your every whim we found the Bale staff to be very friendly and well trained in attending to your every need.

The resort is not too close to towns and the sights, but it wouldn't be the paradise it is if you could hear traffic etc. However, There are resort cars if you need them and car hire if you want to explore the island on your own. We opted for an outside private car service and kept the same driver for all our excursions and occasional dinner at one of the top restaurants close by.

I could wax lyrical all day about the Bale because it was indeed heaven on earth for us, and it's one of life's special pleasures that should be experienced at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namtip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Four of us, including two adult children stayed for five nights in one of the two villa compounds. I wasn't sure I'd like having a private pool, but it turned out to be perfect. The staff are all incredibly nice and the available complimentary transportation makes the "off beach" location work just fine. The included breakfasts are great and unlimited. Much nicer, actually, than a buffet. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JimHering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisCalleR, Managing Director - Lifestyle Retreats at The Bale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jim Hering

it was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your lovely family few weeks ago.. thank you for your positive review. I am very glad you had a good time and appreciated the luxury of having your own pool and such relaxing environs..
stay in touch and hope to welcome you back in the near future despite of the distance!.. best regards and thanks again!
JOSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.5 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
0.7 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Property: The Bale
Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing