We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adults only villa”
Review of The Bale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bale
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The Bale is an excellent adults only villa with amazing staff. Villas are well designed with the small flaw of a small glass pane above the bed that lets bright light in in the morning. Defeats the point of black out curtains.

Only tiny drawback is that it's not on the beachfront and a shuttle takes you to the beach in 2 minutes. But once there the Bale has its own private beach area. Geger beach however is full of corrals and stones during low tide and not comfortable to walk on.

Overall much better than most other big hotels and villa complexes.

Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Clivan and thank you for your positive positing about our product. I am glad you drew attention in your heading to the adults only aspect of our resort. This certainly distinguishes us from the many hotels which surround us and there is definitely a market of guests who appreciate this aspect of our resort. We all love children and nearly every person here at our resort has children, many more than 1 so this policy is not to distance ourselves from the loves of our lives, but more to provide a unique opportunity to our guests of privacy, seclusion and tranquility when here to celebrate a honeymoon, anniversary, any other special occasion or even juts a break away from the hustle and bustle. We also find many of our guests are enjoying the finer years of their lives, travelling after their own families have grown up and experiencing things they may not have in a while. This is the majority of our market and it works for our guests benefit. Thank you for also raising that we are not a beach front property or a property with views. We certainly do not promote ourselves as such, but we do provide the services required for our guests to maximise the beautiful local beaches near us in a private area for our guests to enjoy. I agree there are some stones and coral that do get washed up along the beachfront but this is often cleared by the local village members where possible. We have also added wi-fi just a couple of weeks ago at our beach club area, again to increase the guest experience with services provided. We are all very happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I, just spent 3 days in this wonderful boutique hotel in Nusa Dua, Bali. We were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary and we needed some relax time. We had an amazing stay. Everything was superb:Service, ambiance and style.
Our villa with a private pool was incredible beautiful, confortable and quiet. We didn't want to leave.
We had many meals in the restaurant "Faces" and all were really good.
The staff was incredibile friendly and helpfull. We want to thank all of them for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sebipla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear sebipla, thank you for your positive review and also for visiting us from the Big Apple. What a huge difference, not just in climate but also environment between NYC and Bali. I am glad you were able to appreciate the difference and also enjoy the beautiful nature of the Balinese people. You travel this distance to experience something new and I am glad we could accomodate this, along with the other locations you stayed and visited to make The Bale and Bali a memorable time for you both. Our villa product is of high quality as you know, as is our Food and Beverage offerings with service, so I am glad you did not need nor want to leave given what we could provide between Faces and our newest addition being TAPA which is a bit more casual and relaxed. Until next time thank you and look forward to welcoming you or your family/friends back to the beauty and warmth of The Bale. Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love arriving somewhere at night. There is a further sense of excitement and anticipation about seeing the place in the morning. The Bale certainly lived up to that! Stunning villa, amazing setting and quite possibly the friendliest hotel we have stayed in. We only stayed for the first three nights of our honeymoon and were welcomed with flowers and rose petals in our room. Very tastefully done! We met Luke the GM on our first morning and he was amazing. His knowledge of the best spots, how to get there, when to go, etc meant that within a couple of hours of meeting him he had organised tables at the best restaurants and a day out at a beach bar. The staff here are happy and willing to help as much as they can which is what you would expect but very often falls below the mark. The Bale gets it right! We love the place, would highly recommend it and will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Keith0573 and we all appreciate your positive comments about not just our product, but more importantly our team who try extremely hard with a very genuine and friendly approach to ensure the guest comes first with a memorable experience. We certainly promote and endorse a happy and friendly work environment with a lot of "give and take" among our team which reflects in the service our guests receive. Our villas are lovely and spacious as you know, whether at night or during the day and if you are celebrating a special occasion as you were, we throw in a few little surprises here and there as a thank you for celebrating this with us. We don't always "get it right", it would be arrogant and naive of me to say we do but we certainly do the far overwhelming majority of the time. Thank you spending your holiday and belated honeymoon with us, we all look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary and if I can assist with this, do not hesitate to contact me directly luke.harley@thebale.com
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by the manager Luke and then shown to our villa by Gobi, our assistant. The villas are great, with a modern design, strong air conditioning, electric mosquito repellant, comfortable day bed and relaxing pool, accessible via the garden and bathroom. When we dined at the restaurant for breakfast, we were greeted by the chef who knew of our itinerary and plans. It shows that management is making a serious attempt at good customer service. Our personal assistant was very helpful booking restaurants at short notice. This is a great place for those seeking privacy and good service whilst avoiding the big resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hello RockYu, thank you for your contribution and for staying with us. We all do try very hard to ensure the guest experience is maximised and simple things like communicating amongst each other at Department Head level, then having this cascaded down to the remainder of the team is crucial for us to achieve this. There is more to a guest experience than just a nice villa as you know and this comes from the genuine nature of our team, our belief and desire to succeed with the icing on the cake being a lovely villa product. We are different from many of the large hotels that surround us due to our boutique size so more personal, our service and our interaction at all levels. I am glad you experienced this and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back from Hong Kong in the near future. If I can assist in making this happen please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can’t recommend The Bale highly enough. This is the nicest and most private place we’ve stayed all over Asia, and by far the friendliest.

The whole property is a beautiful mix of modern & traditional luxury and very spacious. The villas are lovely, very clean and are enormous with private pools so you hardly need to go outside if you don’t want to. So much better than a resort hotel room! They’re cleverly designed so you have a sense of space even though they are set on a small boutique property.

The entire staff are so welcoming, friendly and accommodating. They truly want to make your stay the best it can be and there is always a driver on hand to take you anywhere in the area, and pick you up. Wonderful service all round.

Both restaurants are great and it was so refreshing to get a super healthy breakfast every morning, which is included. Their fresh juices and smoothies were a highlight! The food at the new TAPA restaurant is so good and well priced that we went there every night.

We’ve been coming to Bali for 20yrs and we will be staying at The Bale from now on. Thanks to Luke and all the staff, we had a fantastic relaxing visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hello Tania S and thank you for your highly positive posting. I hope it was not too cold returning to one of the worlds great cities being Melbourne, after a sun filled warm holiday with us. I am glad you have identified the difference between us, as a small boutique style resort relative to the larger hotels which surround us. There is a huge difference not just in the quality product we provide, but the flexibility interaction and personalised service smaller properties like ours can provide. We love what we provide as a quality villa style product with every villa having its own pool and our no children under 16 policy certainly provides a different environment. The team here go out of their way to ensure you have a memorable experience and they do love seeing guests return, which we do have a very large base that do this which says what we do we are doing right. TAPA has been a wonderful addition to our Food and Beverage offerings and I am glad you spent significant time there. Not just the food and beverage with friendly service but the price point is perfect for all guests. When you can return, I am here to help so liaise with me directly luke.harley@thebale.com and we all will ensure that round 2 is as good as, if not better than round 1. Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Although we live in Bali, we love to get away for a weekend and as it was our anniversary, chose The Bale. I'd met their general manager, Luke previously and he had recommended the tapas restaurant. We decided to make a night of it, as there was music on that night, and we are so glad we did!

The Bale has been there for around eight years. Most of the staff seem to be originals and speak warmly of working there, which is such a delight. They all speak exceptional English but were happy that I could also speak Bahasa Indonesia with them, so don't be shy if you know a few words!

There are around 26 villas, all with their own private pools. The villas are huge, the bathroom is to die for. Yes, it comes with a price tag, but this means that your breakfast is included. The chef is there in the mornings, so you really get an a la carte breakfast in every sense of the word. We only had to pay for my sparkling water.

The properties are set in Nusa Dua on the hill. You will need to drive to get to the shopping, but they do have a driver on hand and getting a taxi is no problem from here, and cheap. It is relatively close to the airport and far from the hustle and bustle of touristville, Kuta.

It is definitely for couples, kids under 16 not allowed. Very private and relaxing. The food in the restaurant is lovely and very reasonably priced, not over the top like some places.

The best thing is the service. You are made to feel special from the start. Luke makes a point of greeting all his guests.

Even though it is boutique, space is something that has not been skimped on. It would be a superb place to have a function, particularly at the upstairs huge pool/dining area.

Even if you only splurge for one night, make this a must-do if you can afford to.

It is located near the new resorts, which is a shame, but once you get inside, they are a distant memory. At night, you can hear noise in the distance from a nightclub, but light earplugs sort this out if you like me, are a light sleeper.

The villas are a blend of modern and traditional, with high rooves but spacious interiors.

Definitely worth a visit, if not only for tapas and acoustic on a Friday night. Thanks to the staff, we had a truly memorable evening.

Room Tip: All seem pretty special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creatavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Angusthe Great, thank you for your detailed and thorough posting. It genuinely is great having the Ex-Pat market within Bali come and see our product as we enjoy making everyone feel truly special, regardless of location. I really believe the local Balin community (both local and ExPat) are not as aware as they should be with the quality of accomodation and dining right on their doorstep with a product like ours. We have a lovely resort as you have experienced, with quality food and beverage but most importantly a very reasonable price. TAPA is our newest addition and very much open to all guests internal and external at ultimately a super competitive price given the competition that surrounds us in a friendly and casual atmosphere. I am glad you experienced what we do and we do well. I do hope that postings like yours provide awareness to more of the local market to come and enjoy what we have on offer with a wonderful team to support this right across the board. I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future. Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I went up to to stay in The Bale in Nusa Dua for 2 nights as it was his birthday and I wanted to surprise him, we had no idea what to expect. We were completely blown away! We were shown to our room by a very lovely staff member and were delightfully surprised at how elegant and luxurious the room was. We had our own private pool so there was no need to leave the room at all.

At about 5pm we were surprised when there was a knock at the door and 3 beautiful staff members holding a delicious chocolate cake began to sing 'happy birthday'. I hadn't organized this, it was such a kind gesture prepared solely by the hotel staff.

We both fell inlove with the place and seriously didn't want to leave. The food was amazing, the staff were exceptionally great, and it was so relaxing! We were taken to the beach club during the days and spent the nights relaxing in our villa by the pool.

I would highly recommend the Bale to anyone and everyone! Especially any couples looking for a romantic getaway - this is the place to go! Honestly could not say one bad word about our entire stay. Thank you very much to the Bale!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmDee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello EmDee23 and thank you for a wonderful heading. We will happily accept "Absolutely Divine" as a posting any day of the week and I am glad our team went above and beyond your expectations for you to be able make such a statement. We enjoy what we do, we are very proud of our environment and our product, which I know is on display via our guest experience. The team here very much enjoy seeing people share special occasions with us in style and throw in a few surprises just for good measure. Our environment is perfect for couples celebrating birthdays like you did or any other special occasion due to the size of our villas, the peaceful environment we create and our no children policy given the romantic and tranquil environment we promote. I do hope we can have you return again in the near future given your close proximity to us, perhaps to enjoy our new TAPA bar and restaurant with some live music and friendly atmosphere. If I can assist in making this happen, please feel free to contact me directly luke.harley@thebale.com Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $330 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing