We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mulia Resort(Nusa Dua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Mulia(Nusa Dua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mulia Villas(Nusa Dua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua(Nusa Dua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
551
86
37
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
86
37
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfaces restaurantday bedprivate pooldeluxe villaour honeymoonoutdoor showerbeach clubboutique resortcandlelight dinnertapas restaurantfriendly drivergeger beachabsolute blisscooking classmin drivemain poolthe nusa dua area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 696 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had a great time at The Bale,
The staff was extremely courteous & the chef Hamish, was extra careful in preparing our vegetarian meals,
We had excellent Thai food(specially made vegetarian)
Thanks for the wonderful experience,

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear AJ2323, thank you for your wonderful heading about your time with us. That 1 word describes it well and all of us are certainly glad you can describe your stay like this. Chef Hamish and his team along with everyone else do an exceptional job not just with our menus, but also being flexible for our guests with a "whatever it takes" attitude. This is certainly a great benefit of smaller boutique style properties where we can create experiences to suit individual requirements but moreso, we enjoy doing it. We all wish you a prosperous and positive 2013 and thank you for spending the xmas season with us. Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you want a relaxing experience & quality service this is a place to be. All the staff were very courteous & breakfast was super delicious, catered to you request. The manager was very friendly & accommodating making you feel special. I would definitely go back there & would recommend it very highly to all who want to travel to Bali & enjoy relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear PM, thank you for visiting us all the way from Chicago in the US of A. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It is very easy to relax and be pampered here at The Bale by our wonderful team who certainly enjoy what they do, which I believe shows in the genuine service and style they deliver. Anything I can be personally involved with to have you return, or assist any family or friends you have that may come this way, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at luke.harley@thebale.com Thank you for staying with us and from all of us here at The Bale, we wish you a safe and wonderful 2013.
Kind regards - Luke Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Many people have persuaded me to visit other islands instead of Bali because it is overpriced due to the high influx of tourists. I am glad to prove this wrong today! There was a reason why tourism is still flowing into this lovely sunny island! If Thailand is famed to be the land of smiles, Bali should be famous for its warm and more importantly, genuine smiles and care for others!

The staff at The Bale exhibited true hospitality towards all guests. From the moment I stepped out of the car which picked my partner and I from the airport to the resort, I was pleasantly surprised by the security guard who rushed to help us with our luggages. What made me felt at home was how they smiled and offered their help even if it was for a mere 30 seconds. I have never experienced such wonderful service from the security, who typically are infamous for being stern and not-so-friendly.

From the front office, to housekeeping to the ever-ready butlers and the only restaurant in the resort, everyone was amicable and always ready to help should any service be required.

Each villa is huge and offers a lot of privacy. As ours was located somewhere deeper into the resort, it was a distance away from the main lobby. We had arranged for a a few morning calls in case we slept through one. Once again, we were awed by the service exhibited by the staff at The Bale. As our phone was not properly hung up after the first morning call, our butler came hurriedly to knock on our door to ensure we would not miss our appointment.

All in all, we are very amazed by the whole crew at The Bale. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and such a wonder! We would definitely love to return should we come by Bali again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolleneYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear JolleneYang

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an amazing review on TripAdvisor.com. Your review puts the light on the true artisans of our success, our lovely Balinese Family Members.

It is with great pride that I manage this resort and this Family-like team as we strive to put a smile on our guests' faces and make sure they have memorable stays with us.

Thank you very much again for such an array of compliments, which we have now displayed in our staff areas.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at The Balé for 4 nights for our Honeymoon in mid-October and really couldn't have made a better choice in places to stay. If you're looking for privacy, a quiet atmosphere, relaxation, amazing service and amazing food then this is the place you want to be. We knew we had picked a special place when we were picked up from the airport and offered cold towels, cold waters, fruit and nuts for the car ride. When we arrived to The Balé we were greeted and congratulated on our wedding and given a bouquet of red roses which we thought was such a sweet gesture and it made us feel really special. Every member of the staff was extremely polite, and they were always there to satisfy any of our needs. The General Manager, Michele, always made sure we had everything we needed, that we were relaxed, and went out of his way to greet when our paths crossed. We went on a few day trips where pick ups and drop offs were arranged by the staff, and we were taken very good care of. There were a few hiccups with this though, where what was promised in the brochure couldn't happen due to unforeseen circumstances. If you're planning on going on a day trip make sure to ask questions especially if there's something you're really looking forward to thats listed. On the contrary, the revisions made to the trip turned out being amazing! We had such a great time! All in all, our stay at The Balé was fantastic, absolutely beautiful, and extremely relaxing and our Honeymoon was everything we imagined and more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Kimberly V

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.com

I am glad that you managed to enjoy such an important occasion in your life by staying with us.

I hope to see you again soon.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When you pay the premium of 5* accommodation, you expect the service to match, The Bale did a great job..

Service - picked up from our previous accommodation, fresh fruit and cold drinks awaited in the car, in room check in, butler service for anything and in room dining..

Food - Head chef Hamish came over and introduced himself on our first dinner, the food was GREAT. I recommend the seared yellowfin tuna wrapped in nori for starter and the rack of lamb for main... The breakfast was fantastic. Deep fried banana with coconut ice cream for brekky is quite decadent (another word for fattening)

Spa facilities - had hot stone massage - very good, nodded off.

Accommodation - We stayed in a deluxe villa. It really was deluxe. They warned us in advance of the mosquito issue, but it wasn't that bad at all...

Room Tip: Villa 38 has an L shaped pool (I wish I had known that when I was booking!)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_otters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear the_otters

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and post some of your pictures on TripAdvisor.com.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed your compliments to the rest of the team.

Thank you again.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews