We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Honeymoon!”
Review of The Bale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bale
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at The Balé for 4 nights for our Honeymoon in mid-October and really couldn't have made a better choice in places to stay. If you're looking for privacy, a quiet atmosphere, relaxation, amazing service and amazing food then this is the place you want to be. We knew we had picked a special place when we were picked up from the airport and offered cold towels, cold waters, fruit and nuts for the car ride. When we arrived to The Balé we were greeted and congratulated on our wedding and given a bouquet of red roses which we thought was such a sweet gesture and it made us feel really special. Every member of the staff was extremely polite, and they were always there to satisfy any of our needs. The General Manager, Michele, always made sure we had everything we needed, that we were relaxed, and went out of his way to greet when our paths crossed. We went on a few day trips where pick ups and drop offs were arranged by the staff, and we were taken very good care of. There were a few hiccups with this though, where what was promised in the brochure couldn't happen due to unforeseen circumstances. If you're planning on going on a day trip make sure to ask questions especially if there's something you're really looking forward to thats listed. On the contrary, the revisions made to the trip turned out being amazing! We had such a great time! All in all, our stay at The Balé was fantastic, absolutely beautiful, and extremely relaxing and our Honeymoon was everything we imagined and more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Kimberly V

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.com

I am glad that you managed to enjoy such an important occasion in your life by staying with us.

I hope to see you again soon.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 674 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

When you pay the premium of 5* accommodation, you expect the service to match, The Bale did a great job..

Service - picked up from our previous accommodation, fresh fruit and cold drinks awaited in the car, in room check in, butler service for anything and in room dining..

Food - Head chef Hamish came over and introduced himself on our first dinner, the food was GREAT. I recommend the seared yellowfin tuna wrapped in nori for starter and the rack of lamb for main... The breakfast was fantastic. Deep fried banana with coconut ice cream for brekky is quite decadent (another word for fattening)

Spa facilities - had hot stone massage - very good, nodded off.

Accommodation - We stayed in a deluxe villa. It really was deluxe. They warned us in advance of the mosquito issue, but it wasn't that bad at all...

Room Tip: Villa 38 has an L shaped pool (I wish I had known that when I was booking!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_otters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear the_otters

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and post some of your pictures on TripAdvisor.com.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed your compliments to the rest of the team.

Thank you again.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Thank you everyone at The Bale for the most wonderful experience! I have never felt so welcomed as I did at The Bale when I was there last week; every individual staff made me feel so at home and that they really cared. The restaurant serves some delicious food as well! I will definitely be back! - Joshua

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Joshua G

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com.

It was a real -pleasure to meet you and your partner.

We all look forward to your return.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at The Bale at the end of October for 4 nights. We would recommend it to any one who is looking for some time away and pure R&R. It is a long way timewise from Seminyak due to the traffic in Bali.

The standard of the villas is exceptional. Probably the best we have stayed in outside of the Maldives. Very large bathroom and plunge pool.

The food is also of a very high standard - the in-villa breakfast option each day is outstanding.

The only negative, is the very very large hotel being constructed across the road (we were told 800 rooms).You can't hear the noise inside, but getting down to the beach means you have to be driven down through the edge of the construction. The Bale is making do the best they can, so hopefully it improves when the construction finishes next year.

Room Tip: The Double villa, if the other half is not occupied is a standout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portout_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Portout_SH

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.com.

I am ecstatic to read that we were able to provide you with such a great experience. Luckily the large hotel is finished and they are in the process of tidying up the area. On our side we do our best to make sure our Beach CLub services are kept to the highest standard.

See you soon!

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at The Bale for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon in mid-October and couldn't have made a better choice! Looking at the photos on their website and at most reviews, our expectations were quite high and I have to say that The Bale exceeded our expectations.

We already knew we were on the right path when we got in the car from the airport and were given chilled hand towels and a lovely tray with bottles of water, fruit and nuts. After about 30 min drive in the chaotic balinese traffic, we arrived at The Bale and were welcomed by extremely nice staff and a bouquet of red roses to congratulate us on our recent wedding. The icing on the cake was to be told that we'd been upgraded to a deluxe pavillion!

What followed in the next 7 days was pure bliss. The pavillion (33) was very spacious, light and airy. Despite the very hot temperature outside, the air con worked perfectly and sometimes we even had to just turn on the fan on the ceiling as it was too hilly in the room!

The private garden and swimming pool made it the perfect place to relax and just switch off from the outside world. We were quite far from the main restaurant/bar area and also from the main road which meant that our pavillion was very peaceful and quiet.

The whole staff were absolutely fantastic and extremely polite at all times. Any requests were promptly accomodated and always with a smile. The General Manager, Michele, was equally nice and polite and always stopped for a chat every time he saw us at the restaurant or in reception.

The food and drinks at the restaurant, Faces, were very good and the menu had lots of options. We ordered room service for either lunch or dinner a few times and were always served very quickly. Same thing as at the restaurant.

Our week at The Bale was a mix of pure relax, being it getting a massage at their Spa or lying on the beach, and exploring around. We booked 3 excursions with a guide via the reception and were also able to bring the pick up time forward which meant that we avoided the crowds and were able to enjoy beautiful places such as Tanah Lot Temple with just a few people around.

All in all we had a fantastic time at The Bale and were very sad to leave. It definitely made our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandSara06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear MattandSara06

Thank you very much for writing such a great review, I and the team are extremely grateful for it.

We all are glad and thrilled to have been able to enhance your Honeymoon.

Have a great married life ahead!

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are after quiet privacy, simple relaxation, an outgoing staff, great food, and scrumptious cocktails then look no further! My Wife and I visited for our first year wedding anniversary/honeymoon and found the attention to detail, service, and the staff's positive spirit lead us from inbox to relaxation in 2 cocktails. Highlights include breakfast and dinners by Chef Hamish Lindsay. The menu he has created here appealed to me every day even after 5 days at the resort. If you have a hankering to try a few other restaurants Chef Hamish was quick to book reservations at other places that were also delightful. Post surf huevos rancheros is a must! We are coming back to Nusa Dua for Christmas but can't stay at the Bale due to the no children policy they have, but are eager to celebrate Christmas with Chef Hamish!

Michele (the GM) made sure we had everything we needed to relax, celebrate and even went out of his way to upgrade our stay in a number of ways (room/massage/etc.) For this we were very surprised and flattered by the generosity.

If you surf the location is excellent as you can quickly be at the beach (5 min) and on a boat to the reef in front of the rooms (5 min boat ride). Some of the rooms (the higher ones on the hill) provide surf check points as well.

We will be back to eat and to stay there asap. The property is over 10 years old I believe but it does not show its age as the people and the care they take of the property make this one of my favorite hotels in Asia.

See you soon Hamish and Michele. Thank you again.

Jason

Room Tip: Get one high on the hill....better breeze and partial ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findmeonfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear findmeonfrancis

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com, it is really appreciated.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the resort and its services including all the special little touches.

See you soon Jason.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is a little off the map, but in a very beautiful part of Bali, Nusa Dua. The only issue with the area is that there's a bit of construction going on down the road, but once you're inside the resort, it's a haven of tranquility. And travelling the (literally) 1.5 minutes to the pristine beach of Nusa Dua where they've got a great spot dedicated for them, you will have to go through the construction area, where a behemoth of a hotel is being erected. Sadly, that hotel looks like it may ruin the isolated heaven of Nusa Dua by enhancing its commerciality. But that remains to be seen.

My girlfriend and I took a pavilion and we were contacted well in advance of our trip for any preferences that we wanted. That was a pleasant surprise. I mentioned that it was my girlfriend's birthday and they happily arranged a delicious cake. The package we got included breakfast, which was delicious with several choices that included a healthy option. Try the egg burger if you get a chance. We didn't get a chance to try the lunch/dinner menus as we were out most of the time. The staff were fabulous and extremely helpful. The general manager, Michele Giraudo, was extremely polite and genuinely happy to help out. We had all our needs catered to and when we needed a recommendation, they had a great list of choices.

The disadvantage of being in a remote part of Bali (about 45min to an hour away from Seminyak and other top spots) was perhaps compensated by the free transportation we got to almost anywhere we wanted to go. That's honestly something you don't get at most resorts in Bali.

The 4 nights we stayed there were beautiful, the rooms were clean and the pavilions were extremely beautifully decorated, modern and simplistic in design. We didn't want to leave. The doors didn't really close properly and were particularly heavy, so we has a slight issue with mosquitos. But the bed is surrounded by a mosquito net and they do provide some electric vapor repellent in the room.

Unfortunately, we didn't try the spa, or the barbeque on the beach which they had to offer. But we did take their recommendation on going to river rafting. That was really fun.

Room Tip: Try to make sure that you ask for a pavilion away from the noise of the construction going on near b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear DavidSef

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.com.

I am really glad that you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of it. Next time you must try the Spa as it is heavenly.

Thank you again.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,040 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,859 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bale

Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $272 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bale 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bale is a rare gem, a retreat dedicated to revitalizing your soul. With just 29 blissful pavilions, each with their own private swimming pool and modern, fashionable interiors, The Balé offers you the chance to relax and revitalize in style.Stroll through peaceful white − walled courtyards and past refreshing water pools, indulge in the unique collection of holistic spa treatments and well-being programs and dine on the freshest organic produce.Enjoy the friendliest and most refined service − what we call out "hospitality from the heart". The Balé is all this and more. Come and experience its magic.You deserve it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
Bale Nusa Dua
Bale Hotel Nusa Dua
The Bale Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing