We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$198
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$195
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Melia Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$170
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Bali Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$176
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$185
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$225
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ayodya Resort Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$293
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton Bali(Nusa Dua)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$806
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$664
$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$516
$443
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
584
88
38
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
88
38
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfaces restaurantday beddeluxe single pavilionprivate pooloutdoor showerour honeymoonbeach clubcandlelight dinnerboutique resorttapas restaurantcooking classgeger beachabsolute blissmin drivemassage at the sparomantic getawayfree transport
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 732 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Bali was our second stop on our Honeymoon in July. We absolutely loved the Bale and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing romantic place to stay. The private pavilions were amazing. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast in our outside courtyard next to our private pool. The pavilions were very large and we requested a mosquito net to be put up above our bed, however the mosquitos were not that bad and they had mosquito coils for time spent outside in the evenings. The bathrooms are wonderful with an outside shower, large indoor rain shower and freestanding bathtub. The bathroom doors open up right into your pool as well.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The beach is nicely maintained in the resorts private section however it is a public beach so you do get a bit pestered by the cute little kids selling trinkets and the women trying to give massages. There is also a seaweed farm out in front of the beach so its not great for swimming but the beach is nice to walk along.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcsnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear bcsnowbunny

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have both of you back in July.

Regarding your less positive comments the seaweed farms have moved and therefore the beach is now nicer for swimming in addition to walking.

Thank you again and Happy New Year!

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I booked the Balé as it was one of the few hotels in Bali that would take a booking for less than four nights over New Year and conveniently located (well it was in 2004) for the airport.

The service was as impeccable as ever and despite the building work across the road the hotel is really tranquil. Our deluxe villa (number 30) was beautifully appointed with direct access from the über chic bathroom to our own infinity pool and garden set about with frangipani(?) trees.

The restaurant serves Asian-fusion style cuisine and the New Year's Eve party there was stylish and fun.

The only downside was the trip back to the airport which on 1st January (a public holiday) took well over an hour.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonsaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear BonsaiGirl

Thank you very much for writing up such a nice review, and the first one of the year!!!

It was a pleasure talking about diving with you and your husband and I hope you'll be able to come back next year after our renovation. In fact we are closing in a couple of days to renovate the resort and reopen on May 1st.

The trees in the garden of the Deluxe Pavilion where you stayed, and actually every pavilion are frangipani indeed.

Happy New Year again,

Ciao,

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Bale in November 2011, and had a very relaxing time in an exclusive and peaceful Pavilion, where we enjoyed the amazing colours and sounds of the balinese nature. Can you imagine heaven on earth every morning when you wake up... the best way to start your day and regenerate your soul! All aspects of our stay were simply perfect from the welcome reception to the butler service, food&drinks and spa programmes, that we strongly recommend. The Bale is only a five-minute walk from the most beautiful and secluded beaches and a short drive away from the most popular temples and local attractions in the southern part of Bali. If you are looking for something special and intimate, this is the place, where people take care of you and make you holiday a moment to remember.

Room Tip: Deluxe pavilion is the top choice
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marti_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear Chiara Z

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Bale Nusa Dua!

It was a true pleasure welcoming you and your friend for a couple of days. I am glad you enjoyed the Pavilion as well as the service. Our team, The Bale family goes out of its ways in order to make sure that all your requests are executed promptly and always with a smile.

I have spoken with our team at The Spa who thank you for your kind words. On a personal note I am absolutely 100% in agreement with you about the Deluxe Pavilion they are worth the extra dollar. Nevertheless at the moment our Single and Double pavilions which were built ten years ago are undergoing major renovation as well as the rest of the resort in order to WOW our future guests and hopefully many return guests like you as well. I can;t wait to reopen the resort on May 1, 2012!!!!

Have a great year ahead.

Ciao!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Bale is a beautifully designed hotel with rooms that are secluded for excellent relaxation. We had a double pavilion, which to our surprise was two completely separated buildings and two private pools as well as a covered outside bed area by the pools! Everything about the layout of the hotel is well thought out so that everywhere you are, whether by the pool, in your own room, at the restaurant, etc., is a tranquil experience. Highlights of the room include very comfortable beds, a nice bath tub and an indoor and outdoor shower, a selection of 6 different kinds of soap, daily fresh fruit and cookies in the room, and complimentary sodas in the mini bar (it's the little details that make the difference). The staff are all very friendly and eager to help out.

The hotel has its own roped off area of beach that is a few minutes drive away (the hotel shuttle will take you there). It's not an especially nice area of beach and there are a lot of people that approach you to sell things, but it is fine.

A couple things to keep in mind: Nusa Dua is a bit removed from where most of the sites in Bali are so it takes a while to get anywhere. Also, the internet is too slow to really do anything with, so if that's important to you you'll need a backup plan. The area is quite buggy and the rooms have a space beneath the door that bugs can get in so we ended up with A LOT of mosquito bites. We heard that they are planning on doing a complete renovation of the hotel though so maybe this is something that will be fixed?

Overall, a fantastic stay at a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here with my fiancee a week in Deluxe Pavillion, and fully enjoyed our visit here.

We had asked the hotel to pick us up from the airport for smooth arrival, and would suggest everyone to use this. Makes life so much easier.

On our arrival I had asked the hotel to pre-arrange romantic arrangement with candles in the pavillion, garden and in the privat pool and flowers to surprise my wife and to have nice setting for my propose. Could not hoped for better setting. My salute to the staff.


The Architecture of the Bale is modern and clean with nice sandstone walls and timber screens that create a positive overall environment. Love the fact that Villas are designed for couples get-away and are just the setting you would wish for romantic setting. A nice overflowing privat pool gives you the privacy. The bathroom is well appointed and designed with a lot of glazing that allows a lot of ligh in. The main restaurant was definitely nice and the food & service great. And I would recommend to try out candle light dinner in privacy of your own pavillion.
The area of Nusa Dua is nicely isolated from Kuta and the noices. And taxis are cheap so they are easy to reach if you wish to go there. Although its not on the beach, its just few minutes walk to the hotels beach or they will drive you there if you do not wish to walk.

Sorry to say we did not use the public pools, they are nicely situated and we planned to try them... but the week was too short for that ;)

Cannot understand the negative comments, but as saying goes: there is one for every train...

The Bale is small and boutique hotel, if you wish to big luxury resorts and you are willing to give away the privacy, you should... But if you prefer to spend the quality time with yours truly, choose The Bale. They let you to concentrate to enjoy. We loved our privacy and take full benefits of it during the hole trip. We loved the idea of small hotel, they can concentrate to the quests more detailed.

ON the comment that the staff was cold, I cannot relate at all.. We had just the opposite feeling. They were very lively and warm, and they seem very genuine.

The Bale and its staff made this trip and well worth of the money.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe pavillion
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGiraudo, General Manager at The Bale, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Fin-Traveller2

Thank you very much for your very kind review!!! We all appreciate the effort you put into it and thank you for that.

It was a pleasure to assist you for your surprise proposal to your lovely finacee with a flower petal filled swimming pool, bubbly, candles and everything to make sure she would say yea, and she did!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Thank you for your accurately nice description of the resort and for your support.

It has been a true pleasure to welcome you here and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back foe your honeymoon or first anniversary, maybe.

Happy New Year!!!

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews