We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - as expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanusa
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
243 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Amazing - as expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our second Aman resort in less than 12 months and not disappointed! The thing that sets Aman resorts apart from the rest is stunning locations,fantastic accommodation and facilities and just amazing faultless service!
We stayed at Amanusa for one week to basically chill out and recharge the batteries, it was everything we had hoped for. The hotel was very quiet, we had the pool (enormous & well maintained) basically to ourselves for mots of our stay. The staff just cannot do enough for you, be it the pool attendant, bar tender or restaurant staff - not forgetting the housekeeping team! The food was delicious, 2 restaurants offering Italian & Indonesian / Thai.
Try the Tom Yaam cocktail, I became rather addicted !
The bedrooms are spacious, very well maintained and elegant including both indoor & outdoor showers although we never used the indoor one, seemed a shame too! The day bed on the terrace of the bedroom is a great place to relax at the end of the day before dinner.
Worth mentioning, the hotel has lots of steps so not suitable for disabled / wheelchair users not that this was an issue for us.
If you are looking for quality service, surroundings, accommodation with excellent food & drink you need not look any further - perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
88
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you feel the need to visit Bali but want to keep your distance from the swarms of visiting inebriates, racketing traffic and foul pollution, then this is the place for you.

What to say when you are awaiting your luggage at the airport arrival and a smiling figure appears from nowhere and suddenly, with a wave of a wand and blink of an eye, has picked upyour bags, wafted you through passport control, customs and into an air conditioned car?

That is the kind of service the Amanusa Resort provides effortlessly and endlessly.

The Resort is on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean. There is no real need to describe the buildings, the pool, the villas and suites. They are all viewable on the site and are exactly as shown – no detectable photoshop artistry has been used. All the locations are comfortable and beautifully decorated . The pool is magnificent. Just right for those who like a long length for their daily exercise.

The villa we stayed in (number 10) was exceptionally comfortable. Apart from the large room itself there was an outside day bed overlooking the golf course and, in addition to the indoor tub and shower, an outside shower. The unrelenting heat of Bali provoked us into constantly using this charming amenity. The bed was large and fully protected from any stray mosquitoes and the air conditioning worked with efficient silence.

It seemed that whenever we left the room an invisible hand would tidy it up, replace towels, re-make the bed. There was none of your once or twice daily service visits here. It was as though the room was on a constant watch - maybe it was.

There is a private beach with bar plus restaurant facility just a ten minute drive from the hotel. Free transport is provided on demand. The beach is clean and beautiful and, when we were there, practically deserted. A pleasant lunch and drinks were taken in the shade of the coconut matting “umbrellas”.

Breakfast is served in a delightful open dining area and, in typical Amanusa fashion, the question ”when is breakfast served?” receives the answer “whenever you want”. This not only applied to breakfast but pretty well anything else. My wife wanted to see the sunrise down at the beach so at about 05:00 we were cheerfully driven there. We watched the brilliant sunrise, had an early morning swim and came back to our villa duly invigorated.

And the staff? They are gracious, smiling and always anxious to help in any way they can; you will never see a grumpy face at the Amanusa. I cannot praise the staff highly enough and must congratulate them and their management on achieving such a height of discreet, attentive and charming service.

But, there is often a downside to all good things. Regrettably I have to say the Italian dinner we had on arrival, in an empty restaurant, left much to be desired both in terms of quality and time to be served. We dined out for the rest of our stay.

If it wasn’t so far away from where I write I would be in the Amanusa pool every weekend. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We chanced upon Amanusa while researching for Bali wedding venues and it struck us as different from the usual Bali beach weddings. Our recce trip down to the actual site really sealed the deal for us. The place was grand looking with a stone wall that extends high up, perched on a hill top overlooking the golf course. The orange bougainvillas juxtaposed against the blueness of the swimming pool created a picturesque scene. This place is very exclusive, and you'll feel like you're in paradise away from everything.

Nisa and Pak was most helpful throughout our wedding preparation, arranging for food tasting, ensuring our guests were transported to the wedding area. Everything was professionally done, greatly reducing our stress of and overseas wedding. The level of service was excellent! We were amazed to find our villa's private pool filled with red rose petals the morning after the wedding. Everything was done to perfection. It's a place we definitely want to come back to.

Thank you Nisa and Pak for your warmth and kindness, and for the amazing memories you created on our wedding day!

Room Tip: Worth getting a Villa with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I recently attended the Moss Wood Wine dinner which was a special event put on by the Amanusa at their Italian Restaurant. The wines were amazing and it was brilliant to be able to speak to the owners of the winery themselves Clare and Keith Mugford. The food pairing was excellent with the slow braised duck mushroom ragu being one of my favorites along with the Chocolate nemesis cake for desert. My congratulations to the Executive Chef Glen Bowman who delivered a brilliant meal both in terms of presentation and taste. The Amanusa is a beautiful hotel and it was an absolute delight to sit on the terrace and enjoy a few drinks before the dinner overlooking Nusa Dua with an amazing view and a full moon. It was also a pleasure to chat to Sean the General Manager who personally welcomed all the guests, made everyone feel at home and ensured we all had a fabulous night. Thank you Amanusa for a fantastic evening of ambience, food and drink delivered to perfection. We will be back! - Rhonda and Nyoman

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSMBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My first visit to Bali was definitely one of my favourite destinations whilst travelling around Indonesia. Amanusa was our first resort in Bali and we stayed for two nights before moving North.
We were quite tired when we arrived but soon perked up when we were shown to our suite - this time we'd been upgraded to a private pool suite. It was just what we needed to get some quality relaxation and sunbathing time in! We were very lucky to have the unique experience of visiting during Nyepi, so we had a whole day of relaxation inside the hotel resort. The food and drink was top notch and the hotel had put on some complimentary activities, including sunset cocktails on the terrace. As there was no traffic noises or lights as it began to get dark you could see every star in the sky - it was magical!

and

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The view from Amanusa is spectacular. it perches on top on the hill overlooking the ocean afar, surrounds itself by a golf course on it's premise. the pool is absolutely astounding.
The room is very well designed, everything is just perfect.
Of course, the well trained staff is what Aman is so amazing.
We had the amanusa massage, and it was great, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm writting a review about the restaurant, I went to the resort for dinner around a week ago. Just would like to compliment the service, it was great and the staff was extremely friendly!!! Not only that, the food was also very nice! Loved the thai green curry!
The chef, Choi was also very nice and friendly! We got a chance to chit chat with her.

Overall it was such a nice dinner!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hengkiadnyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#6 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#22 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ulu Segara Luxury Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanusa

Property: Amanusa
Address: Jl. Raya, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanusa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bali's southern peninsula, on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean and Nusa Dua, Amanusa (peaceful isle) is just 20 minutes from Denpasar Airport. A serene retreat offering privacy and escape, Amanusa is also close to Bali's shopping and nightlife areas of Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Seminyak. Guests can spend the day at the Amanusa Beach Club where nine private bales rest on the white sand beach, or play golf on one of Indonesia's finest courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Amanusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanusa Nusa Dua
Amanusa Hotel Nusa Dua
Amanusa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing