We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Amanusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanusa
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very nice Aman, with a beautiful architecture nestled in the tropical forest. As usual, delightful privacy in hyper-comfortable rooms designed by symmetry obsessed architects. Service is top notch of course. Te only negative, as often with Aman, is the food. Not bad, but no refinement whatsoever. Thats a bit of a problem given the prices, and the fact that you are by and large hostage to the place, barring the occasional excursion out into the real world.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived to Amanusa the best paradise in the world. We had great greetings by the GM and the amazing welcome drink in the bar. Impressive.

We stayed here for 7 nights. The view and the atmosphere of the resort are stunning. We loved every moment during our stay. The staffs are very friendly and welcoming. Now, we had 7 nights amazing meals which we loved the food so much. The chef is a lady who was born in Vietnam but grew up in Melbourne Australia. She is a very friendly and charming lady. She took care of us very well. She arranged our food every morning and very creative. Her food is just outstanding . We had lasagne in the Italian restaurant which we thought that was the best thing we have ever had In in our life. Her food reminded us that we were in Italy. Overall, thank you for amazing experience and good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice stay at Amanusa. the pool villas are exquisite. The Resort exudes quality from the entrance lobby to the pool and restaurants.
Could not fault it and the staff were all very friendly.
Overall, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Dont miss breakfast on the beach - an unforgettable experience worth getting up early for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_Alex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came to Amanusa after a wonderful stay at Amandari in Ubud. Amanusa is a stunning property designed in a typical Aman resort style. The staff and manager, Sean, are very welcoming and friendly. The pool is large and picturesque, the villas are lovely, the food is very good, the beach club one of the most beautiful in Nusa Dua, and their "jedi" housekeeping is superb.

We were traveling with kids ages 5 and 8 yrs. They loved the beach club. The staff offered us kites, sand toys, and snorkel gear each visit. They were helpful and friendly. The resort is not on the beach, but a short drive. In the future, we were told there will be a private walking path to the beach.


Though, our overall experience was very pleasant. Amanusa didn't feel like an Aman resort. It lacks the personalized service and intimate feeling you receive from Aman. There are many failures with their personalized service and fine details are lacking. We also had appointments and arrangements incorrectly booked. Though, they did apologize and offered to correct errors at no charge.

Skip the spa. The spa staff were very nice, but the quality of their service and the spa environment are not 5 star or up to par with Aman resorts. If the staff receive proper training, I think it could be a lovely experience.

I do recommend Amanusa if you are staying in Nusa Dua, but don't expect the typical Aman resort experience. Enjoy it as you would another 5 star resort.

Room Tip: We had a pool suite and kids would swim in the morning and the end of the day. But, it's not nec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WestCoastCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have visited the Amanusa many times. It has been there now for almost 20 years and one can see that. It has all the good things of an established place and only a few issues that needed extra care. We discussed the last with the management and the reaction was outstanding. They took every needed measure to update the resort.
The location is great as is the hotel itself, with the most Beautifull Pool. At the Beach we where mostly on our own. The resort has very good shop.
Great food by a Australian-Vietnamese chef. Tennis with one of the staff was good and last but not least we got an upgrade to a pool villa.
We hope to be be back soon.

Room Tip: Any villa is great. The pool villa was something extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our friends who live in Nusa Dua took us to this restaurant and we were AMA-zed at how beautiful the entry walkway was with a huge wood sculpture. I could look at it for hours and still not see everything going on in it. But to eat, we loved the food. There was a special drink we had with lime, mint, sugar and ice - not on the menu but OH SO Good! The gift shop had the most beautiful, unique clothes, art and jewelry. The view from the patio was stunning from our round table. The staff was very gracious and helpful, all smiles.

Room Tip: The patio seating with the view overlooking the pool/ocean was best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mleigh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is a dream. Perfect stay, beautiful property, perfect service. The personnel here are accommodating and willing to help with any needs such as travel arrangements, other hotel accommodations, etcetera. The location is wonderful, close to the beach, the design of the hotel and villas is comfortable, the rooms are fantastic. The beach facility for the resort is nice, it feels totally private even though it's on a public beach. I loved the laid back feel. The food was top of the line. When I return to Bali I will stay here again and use it as a base from which to tour Nusa Dua and its surroundings. The ideal Bali experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thymetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nusa Dua
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
The Shanti Residence
The Shanti Residence
#41 of 54 in Nusa Dua
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
4.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanusa

Address: Jl. Raya, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $646 - $2,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanusa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bali's southern peninsula, on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean and Nusa Dua, Amanusa (peaceful isle) is just 20 minutes from Denpasar Airport. A serene retreat offering privacy and escape, Amanusa is also close to Bali's shopping and nightlife areas of Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Seminyak. Guests can spend the day at the Amanusa Beach Club where nine private bales rest on the white sand beach, or play golf on one of Indonesia's finest courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanusa Nusa Dua
Amanusa Hotel Nusa Dua
Amanusa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing