We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Improvement”
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Bali
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Improvement”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This was our 2nd stay with Grand Hyatt Hotel. After not so nice experience with cleanliness in our 1st stay we decided to request for room in a higher floor. Considering that the humidity is high the room in ground floor will always had that horrid smell of mold in bathroom. And maybe more mosquitoes because it open directly to the small ponds when we opened the room terrace.
So this time we were given room in the 5th floor, and proofed to be true, the room was cleaner, no smell, everything is great. Just the walk to the beach and pool were quite far, and the view were other buildings and other rooms terrace.
The beach was dirty at this time of the year, however the current was good for us to enjoy a swim. This time we took the breakfast in the italian restaurant and surprisingly it was better than the garden cafe. It was delicious and had a better ambience as it was facing the pool. We also took a sip and some appetizer in the bar on top of the hill. The selections of mini appeappetizer was a selection of tapas and a big portions (only Rp 46,000!). Even our ice lemon tea cost us more (Rp 50,000 per glass)
I also did some shopping in the shops around the hotel. The Shop that sell bikinis and other swimwear is a real gem, price is moderate and I managed to get the beautiful bikinis with really good price, some hats for the little ones and myself and surf shorts for the boys. The famous Balinese local handmade embroidery Uluwatu shop is also there, the colletion is really cool and a must buys.
All in all, this trip changes our view little bits about Grand Hyatt Bali, they could do better though by renovating the pathway/corridor leading to the lobby. It had shown its age and feel like walking in a very old hotel. However we really love the gardens, it is so beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rest_relax_jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,074
    403
    157
    96
See reviews for
1,393
1,229
103
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Bali hyatt is one big diamond studded in Nusa dua & is an incredible hotel to stay on leisure trip. The rooms are very spacious and have beautiful beach view. The hotel secuity is very tight right from the main gate till the lobby. The lush greenery and wooden structures within the resort is very admiring and you feel fresh even in the humid weather of this coastal city. The staff is nice & very helpful especially when you are lost in the huge premises of the hotel. The hotel is very peaceful & quite property essential during vacation & is the most recommended place for honeymooners.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankSamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

the room is big and clean. the breakfast is so good and ok. the bathroom is not bad, the swimming pool is nice.
if you want to look for a quiet place then Nusa Dua is the choice, not like in Kuta and Legian which are too crowded. But at night here we can also enjoy the entertainment too. there are many restaurants with live music, shops.
the service, the staffs are helpful. i really enjoyed staying here

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was my first trip to Bali. Weather wise (obviously not something the hotel can control) was very humid, and given the large size of the hotel, and its very open design, there was nowhere to really escape the humidity, unless you went to your room, the gym.

My partner was not happy with the following aspects of the hotel:
* pool closes at 7pm - too early for him
* pool quite smallish as compared to surrounding hotels
* the food served by pool area is not as good a quality as surrounding hotels (and id have to agree).
* no late check out (despite us having stayed there for 2 weeks, and having a midnight flight back to Sydney)
* being approached on the beach by sellers trying to sell trinkets - spoils the atmosphere somewhat
* poor mini bar - not for the alcohol, but the kettle seemed like it hadnt been washed in a while
* adaptors did not fit the socket properly and my Australian hairdryer could not be used at all - so i developed a very unflattering frizz - after 2 weeks, i came to be quite attached to it.

For me however, the experience was wonderful -
* Rooms - very cool (im not a person that normally likes hot humid weather)
* great room service - quick, polite, descrete, decent menu for nights you don't want to go out
* good housekeeping - although the shampoo/toiletries range is the hotel's own, and looks quite cheap compared to other hotels
* great bar area - i dont drink, but the nightly music and ambience was a great way to end the nights - i even fell asleep on the couch and was left alone - they also take song requests, so can be very romantic
* restaurants very pricey, however, the food was great
* great family atmosphere = very relaxed - some people have negatively commented that the kids on the premises are noisey etc, which can sometimes be the case, but the fact there were so many families about was really lovely to see - my partner and i dont have children, but it did not bother us in the slightest.
* great breakfast buffet - i decided to do a 2 week boot camp whilst in Bali, encompassing a exercise and dietary overhaul, and the food offerings catered to all sorts of tastes - i absolutely loved the Bircher muesli!!! (I even Googled the recipe) - the staff were quite friendly,a lbeit a little too observant of everyone, perhaps just wanting to be at one's service if needed
* bathroom - loved that the shower and bath were seperate
* large selection of tv channels - ridiculous Australian content though - Playschool etc. I was introduced to Al Jazeerah though.
* hotel part of a gated complex of hotels - you have to go through two security check points, that includes a metal detector checking under your car for boms. The very BIG let down is that the security aren't as thorough going through the car checking for suspect material as say the Bvlgari hotel. The guards just open and close the door - i could have snuck anything in my shopping bags and Bali bought suitcases.
* great gym - clean, cool, a great reprieve from hot temperatures
* Nusa Dua is a gorgeous clean part of Bali - whereas the rest of the southern part of the island, stretching up to Denpasar seems to be quite frenetic and dirty. Not a fan of Kuta.

My two beefs would be:
(1) the creepiness of the "salon" (located near the gym, not Kriya spa) staff - they'd speak in their language to each other in front of you, would clearly be laughing at something they found amusing about me, and weren't very communicative with myself or my partner. Not overtly rude, but not particularly friendly either. Indifferent.
(2) no free internet - we were charged A$20 per day which was ridiculous, and added up to over $200 over 2 weeks - not happy.

Some tips on Bali hotels in general:
* i would only stay at the Grand Hyatt as for me it is the most appealing in terms of size (although a bit dated as compared to say the Conrad or Bvlgari) and relaxation - no pretence about it
* have dinner at the Conrad hotel - no other meal anywhere in Bali will come close to the perfection here, and the staff are unbeatable. You get to eat quite close to the ocean, which is a great experience.
* go to the Bvlgari hotel for spectacular views - the prettiest hotel - gorgeous for lunch, going at night would defeat the purpose, you wouldnt get the sense of eating at the end of the earth. Whilst i didnt swim in it, it had the best pool in Bali - blends into the horizon - heaven. Staff were very friendly despite us clearly not staying there, being only visitors.
* check out the Westin foyer - couldn't stay there as I imagine it would be noisy, but it is such an interesting pretty design
* go for as many massages as you can - they're cheap (as compared to Western prices) and fantastic

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savy_Sydney_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Grand Hyatt, bali is located in a very serene, peaceful environment of Nusa Dua and feels like we are totally in a different world of tranquility. The very first view of the lobby with beautiful color flowers makes us feel amazing. We booked a sea view deluxe room and we were upgraded to king club room.The room is spacious, clean and well maintained but not a very good sight of sea. The complimentary breakfast they have given is good for pure vegetarians as we found it difficult outside to get pure veg and so we used to fill our stomach with the breakfast. There are lot of activities going on in the evening and it took us one full day to see the resort. The private beach is very clean and neat and can relax there in that peaceful environment under the sun. This private beach facility is very nice for couples especially honeymooners The service is quite good with the people behaving in a decent manner and on a whole gives us a feeling of staying in a grand , peaceful property.
Best liked is its location and least liked is not a very good view from the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

the hotel is evry big and beautiful. I felt very fase. the service is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. the hotel is located at nusa dua beach and it is closed to a shopping mall. The dinner was cheap and very good. the rooms are big and clean. It is very closed to the beach. the beach was clean and beautiful. The cocktails are very delicious. I had a very good time there

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline_priester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

It was my second trip to Bali and this time we chose to have a more relaxing holiday considering we already visited all the tourist attraction during our first stay there.

I stayed in Kuta area for the first two nights and moved to this hotel and stayed for 3 days and I must stay the moment we arrived the hotel, we are already impressed by the size of the resort. It is really huge with a few big swimmping pools!

Only give 4 stars as the food is not as great. Do go out for your meals! There are a few restaurants within walking distant just across the hotel entrance.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllyN_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Property: Grand Hyatt Bali
Address: Kawasan Wisata, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a welcoming atmosphere where you can enjoy the island’s tropical splendor, Grand Hyatt Bali is a true reflection of a Balinese water palace, with 636 rooms featured in clusters of four villages, surrounded by waterfalls, landscaped gardens and lagoons set on 41-acre of lush tropical gardens. Naturally blessed with 650-metre stretch white sandy beach, the hotel has one of the most beautiful views of the Nusa Dua coastline. Enhance the holiday pleasure with our five swimming pools, as well as The Bay Club Fitness Centre and Kids Club. Moreover, Kriya Spa offers the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and full day spa programs. Enjoy endless dining options with 5 restaurants and 3 bars, each offering a different experience and signature, spread across the hotel. Grand Hyatt Bali is within convenient distance from the airport, 12 km away or 15- minute drive by car; and 30 km away from the city centre of Denpasar or 30-minute drive by car. The hotel is strategically located close to Nusa Dua’s main destinations: BNDCC, a renowned convention centre is 5 minutes drive, Bali Collection shopping centre is just opposite our hotel, Bali National Golf is 5 minutes drive, and Waterblow is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing