We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful”
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Bali
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Grand Hyatt Bali has a huge swimming pool and a garden which has different Bali flowers and trees. I've stayed in a deluxe room and we were honeymoon couples. the staff was really good at their job. but the room has no computer and wi-fi. we had to pay for internet. the price of internet was very high. There are different restaurants and pubs in the hotel. and there was a small gift shop. There is a mall (Bali Collection) near the hotel. and it has lots of spas and restaurants. cheaper than the hotel. By the way, the breakfast is really good. and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulsahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,847
    1,042
    391
    154
    90
See reviews for
1,333
1,190
100
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. It's a massive complex spread across the beach front, with its own set if shops and water sports.

The hotel grounds are beautifal.

The room was lovely, very modern and clean. We stayed in a grand room which we had no problems with other than the air con was not as cold as we would have liked.

Staff at the hotel are lovely and very helpful.

Breakfast was good and there is plenty available. My only criticism is that you have to ask staff if you want some butter (strange?) and by the time it arrived my toast was always cold. Only a minor criticism though!

The pool is huge and is spread across the complex with a few water slides - fantastic if you have children and they seemed very popular with families. We never had any problem getting a bed.

My main criticism is that the pool bar food and drink is unnecessarily expensive - as I write this review I am sitting by the pool looking at the menu - a SMALL can of local beer is £4 ($6 US) and a ham and cheese sandwich is £6.50 ($10 US) I know hotel prices are usually more but this is a bit of a rip off if you ask me.

The beach is lovely - clean, and many beds are available.

The hotel have Balinese buffet nights which I highly recommend, again quite expensive £25 or $39 US pp (not including drinks) but the food is of a high standard with an abundant array of sea food and local Balinese dancers.
If you like sea food make the most of this as local restaurants are very expensive for sea food.

The nearby Bali collection is nice enough but again expensive. I paid 6 times the price of UK prices for some toileteries we needed!
A great tip here - speak to the locals working out the front who will recommend other restaurants in Nusa dua out of the bali collection that offer a free shuttle service to and from the hotel!

Overall, the hotel is lovely and worthy of a 5* but a little on the expensive side if you want to pay for anything.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhanco575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our third trip to Bali, we are huge fans of th Bali Hyatt in Sanur & choose to stay there above all others in Sanur so we had great expectations of the "Grand' Hyatt.
Check in was rude & I had a horrible feeling we had been allocated the worst room in the hotel as we walked the long walk south. Turns out that it wasn't the worst room as that would have been upstairs, at least we were down stairs. Our room looked directly into the conference room. Is this a joke I asked myself? The room itself was amazing, wonderful, comfortable beyond our needs & grand. I loved the room.
Anyway shock over we venture out for lunch & down to Salsa Verde where the service was strange. The waitress even said to us " I know you been in Bali a while because your skin in dark!!!!!!" OK.
Anyway thankfully after the first 2 hours in this hotel things looked up.
The river pool is amazeballs. The slide was the highlight of our stay & we spent far too many hours sliding down it. Was excellent.
We attended a dance performance which was excellent. My daughter was even allowed to have her picture taken with the dancers - made her little day!
We had room service a couple of time which was always hot & fresh.
Sleep quality was poor due to groups of conference delegates coming & going at all hours plus we had the pleassure of hearing the banquests department setting up the conference rooms in the middle of the night!
Breakfast the first morning we went to Salsa verde again - was good. The next morning we went to the other room over the north side & it was even better.
The beach out the front was lovely & we enjoyed a few locals selling their wares in an easy going, pleasant way.
Having Bali Collection across the road is excellent. Not to eat at thought (yuck) but to change money, do some shopping, grab an ice cream.
We had our final dinner at the Japanese restaurant & LOVED IT! It was so expensive though but the food was lovely.
Check was smooth
All in all we won't be back & we might recommend the hotel but probably there are better out there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look into the conference rooms & is away from groups of delegate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonoWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 2 nights in July and absolutely loved it! The compound is HUGE so please be prepared to get lost or ask your way around. The room was great with all the amenities we needed and the staff were all lovely and helpful. Buffet spread for breakfast was amazing as well. One thing that could do with improvement is the wifi/internet service. It is not complimentary and they charge you at USD 15 per day for wireless access PER device! Also, do remember to lock your room doors at all times because the room service/housekeeping staff tend to open the room door right after knocking without giving you enough time to respond.

All in all it was a great experience, and we loved the beach at Nusa Dua so much better than the one at Seminyak.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is great but be warned it is expensive. Luckily I was there on business so I did not have to fork out the huge expense to stay at this hotel. Don't get me wrong, the hotel, rooms, gardens and amenities are sufficient. But I could certainly not stay here with my family for a holiday. I live in SOuth Africa and the cost just to get there plus hotel cots would be outrageously expensive. I could do a Mauritius holiday just with the cost of one person staying at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Try and get something a little close to the main lobby, otherwise you are in for a trek to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We've been going to Bali every year for the past 11 years, trying out different hotels in Nusa Dua and Tanjong Benoa. We absolutely loved Hyatt and continued to stay there frequently compared to all the other hotels.

However, I started to notice some changes during our recent stay (1st - 3rd July).

The staff were not as friendly. We always looked forward to coming back to Hyatt as the service was truly amazing. The concierge sounded irritated when I complained about the air-cond in our room.

We had breakfast at Pasar Senggol on the first day and the waiter seemed half-hearted when serving us at breakfast. However, the staff at the other side of the hotel where breakfast is also served were friendly.

Breakfast is definitely way below the 5-star standard. The quality was extremely poor and the spread was unsatisfying. The juices were not fresh, the selection of bread seemed like it was from a cheap bakery. There was always a shortage of plates and I always had to ask the waiters for them.

The pool section is in need of a makeover in terms of the deck chairs. Its still the plastic ones, making it look cheap. Other hotels have all started using modern wooden ones which really changes the whole look of the pool area.

Even so, Hyatt is still beautiful and in my opinion, has the best hotel lobby in all of Nusa Dua and Tanjong Benoa. The salsa bar is amazing and is definitely worth a visit. Rooms are as usual clean and spacious.

I still love this hotel and felt quite sad when we were about to leave as I felt a sense of discontent- it didn't feel like the Hyatt it used to be during our previous stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited the GHB more than 10 years ago and im glad to say they have maintaIed the property very well and thoroughly enjoyed my visit this time again. The small changes they made were nice but I like the fact that it has retained its original charm in many ways

Room Tip: Staying in the Club wing of the property is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,511 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Property: Grand Hyatt Bali
Address: Kawasan Wisata, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the lush tropical gardens of the 41-acre beachfront property, the Kriya Spa will, in essence, be a wellness sanctuary, offering the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and for full day spa programs. Reflecting its name Kriya – meaning ‘ritual’ in Sanskrit – this unique Spa will celebrate authentic Balinese healing forms with treatments based on ‘wellness rituals’ to promote positive health and anti-aging through the use of natural herbs, roots and essences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing