We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort, great restaurants, okay rooms”
Review of Melia Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Bali
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in October and I can understand the mixed reviews. The resort itself is gorgeous and rates 5 stars all by itself. The grounds are beautiful and serene. After all, you're in Bali. How bad can it be? I found the staff to be incredibly warm and friendly and never had a problem with service, though I am pretty low maintenance. We ate at every restaurant and the food was excellent at all of them. Make sure to take advantage of the breakfast buffet each morning. It's wonderful. The room itself was fine but showed its age. Everything felt slightly damp and there was a musty odor. No matter how low we set the air conditioning we couldn't get it as cool as we would have liked it. If you spend a lot of time in your hotel room this probably won't be the place for you, however if you are the type of traveler who spends most of their time out and about and you just return to the room for sleeping at night, then this is a great place. The resort is worth the stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 3 which is a long way off the lobby. I liked that because it was quiet. Someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear smithinusa,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you found our grounds are beautiful and serene. For your information, on some months Bali's relative humidity averaging 85% which makes the weather somewhat unbearable. However, we noted your comments to improve our facilities better for the next future. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 5,770 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We only stayed for two nights but we will be back. What a great hotel. We stayed I an a lagoon access room in the level area which was great. The extra benefits of the level is so worthwhile. The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful and we find all the staff to be be attentive and happy. I can honestly recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Choose the lagoon access it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff and Kerrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Jeff and Kerrie E,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our Lagoon Access Suite with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything about hotel is good, go and enjoy! Perfect beach location, friendliest staff I've ever came across. A bit more expensive to eat and drink at hotel being the only negative, but the surroundings are worth paying for.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Alex088,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, excellent amenities. Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable. The staff are what made it the most wonderful. They are so kind, happy, attentive, thankful making us feel so welcomed. The pool and landscape beautiful. Very. close. 5 minute walk to Bali Collection which is a large outdoor mall with many many shops, restaurant, supermarket, souvenir shops, clothing stores, jewelry, bank and several restaurants. The food and drinks are a bit on the pricey side at this hotel but is usually like that at most hotels. Taxis are relatively inexpensive if you want to go somewhere. Highly recommend this hotel for all families and adults. There is a pool for adults and a separate pool for children in addition to a kids club. The staff are what makes this stay the most enjoyable. Thank you everyone at Melia Bali Hotel in Nusa Dua. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Susan V,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

All is well. I had a conference in Nusa Dua and my family enjoyed the hotel all throughout the day. In the evening we used to visit different places of Bali. Great place for kids as the kids club provides innumerable facilities. My family enjoyed the beach , the pool, the gardens ..........must stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnimeshBardoloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear AnimeshBardoloi,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I book through travel agent and get cheaper price comparing with book directly to Melia website. Upon arrival, they upgrade me to the suite room in the 3rd/4th floor. Room consist of two-floor (1st floor is for sitting area, and 2nd floor in the attic is for the bedroom and main bathroom). Stairs to accessing the bedroom is quite bit steep, not easy to commute between sitting area and bedroom. Room also equipped with balcony. It is comfy, huge, and functional.

During the 1st night, after we return back from our sightseeing in Jimbaran, we found our room was attacked by insect. We request to front desk to get new room. It is entertained promptly and we get new suite room. It is very hassle to move at midnight, however Melia staff can accommodate our request promptly.

Melia has its own private beach, next to Westin. Although the beach is not big enough, it is sufficient for us. The hotel has safe parking lot where I can park my rental-car overnight.

Room Tip: Asking for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud14rto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Warmest greetings from the Melia Bali!

Dear Bud14rto,

Thank you for your review. We are deeply apologetic for the difficulties you encountered during your stay with us. Nusa Dua area is a great area to get away from the masses while still being able to enjoy great dining and sightseeing. Jakarta - Bali is only one and a half hour distance, please consider the Melia Bali your home whenever traveling to Bali.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights as part of our Honeymoon in October. We had a fantastic time. We were welcomed with drinks and escorted to our room. As it was our honeymoon we had a cake and flowers in the room. The room (a premium room) was spacious and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was big but looked dated and the shower was not great. The room did smell slightly damp and I thought initially that the bedding felt slightly damp but I presume this is due to the high humidity.
The general setting of the hotel is lovely. The gardens were immaculately kept. The pool was lovely and there was never an issue getting a sun lounger.
All the staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. We used the gym, spa and restaurants which were all very good. My massage was amazing!
The food was very good. I agree with previous reviews that it was a bit pricey but not awful. Unfortunately there are only really other hotels within walking distance to eat at so probably cost the same. However there are places a short taxi ride away which the hotel can arrange. Breakfast was provided and the range of food on offer was great. We didn't have meal in the hotel that we didn't enjoy.
Overall,a lovely and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Warmest greetings from the Melia Bali,

Dear Gillianbeattie,

Once again, congratulations for your honeymoon and thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your honeymoon experience. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms spacious and accommodating. For your information, on some months, Bali's relative humidity averaging 85% which makes the weather somewhat unbearable.

Understand that there are many places to be visited around the world, but the Melia Bali still open and waiting to be revisited to celebrate your anniversaries...

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 55 in Nusa Dua
3,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 55 in Nusa Dua
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 55 in Nusa Dua
4,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali

Address: Kawasan Wisata ITDC Lot 1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $102 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Nusa Dua - Bali’s prestigious resort enclave – this beachfront property is a unique sanctuary of exotic beauty and comfort with only 15 minutes away from Bali’s Airport, its proximity makes it the perfect hideaway for those seeking a dream vacation. Be charmed by the unique nature of Meliá Bali’s contemporary tropical architecture and spacious gardens expressing the essence of Bali. Its enormous lagoon swimming pool winds throughout the hotel grounds, providing guests with a place to relax and refresh. Perfectly located, within walking distance to Bali Collection, the main shopping centre to food and entertainment malls as well as the International Nusa Dua Convention Center. The ITDC (International Tourism Development Corporation) area is recognized for its luxury and safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing