We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Bali Indonesia
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was lucky enough to be travelling to Bali with friends and the Melia was their choice. After reading the mixed reviews on tripadvisor I was a little nervous about our accommodation however was in for a very pleasant surprise. The entrance and foyer of the Melia are lovely and the gardens stunning. There were plenty of sun beds available around the pool and every time we went there I was asked if I wanted an umbrella. The staff always greet you with a smile and are definitely an asset to the Melia. Many remembered your name and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a feast with some items changing daily for some variety. The bakery items were particularly good with a great choice of breads and pastries. The usual egg station, fresh fruits, cereals as well as asian and european choices.
Our room was on the ground floor and was more than adequate for the base rate room. In some previous reviews people complained about the humidity however there was a dehumidifier in our room which we kept on when in the room. It did turn off every time we removed our room key so could probably be wired in so it ran all day if required. As we live in the sub tropics we probably have a high tolerance of things like dampness so wasn't a biggie to us. The room was clean and the beds and pillows were soft and comfortable, something not to be taken for granted in Asia. We did have a bad smell in our room one day but when we went outside found it was coming from the sprinklers watering the garden. When they were turned off the smell went away.
Happy hour was great and we met lots of lovely travellers at the bar. Cocktails were definitely not watered down and the Pina Colada was one (or 2)of the best I have had. Again the staff were always smiling and friendly.
I am a convert and look forward to returning to the Melia next year. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Luv2h0liday,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,603
    1,495
    515
    190
    114
See reviews for
1,518
2,273
111
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I first wrote a review on this hotel prior to arriving to get a reaction as my emails to the resort ( used 3 different advertised email addresses ) were not being responded to.
This did mean many thoughts and doubts if I have chosen the right resort to stay in but after finally sorting out my pre-arrival queries, this was all forgotten as soon as we arrived.
The foyer is massive, but peaceful, and the staff always greeted you.
The check in process took forever ( about 30 mins ) but during this time, the staff were happy to entertain the kids and they loved the trolley ride from the foyer to our room.
We stayed at Melia for 10 nights, 9 of these were in the family room, and our final night was spent in the Lagoon Access Suite after organising this during our stay.
The Family Room was everything that we needed with two young children. It took 3 or 4 requests for the Play Station to be delivered, but other than that, there were no issues.
The Lagoon Access Suite was more modern, and the kids loved the opportunity of being able to watch the TV as they had their bath, but were equally excited to be able to take three steps from their room into their own pool, which is a lot quieter than the main pool in the resort for obvious reasons.
I was concerned about all of the reviews with the room qualities and humidity levels. I can only say that I did not have any of these issues with either room that we stayed in.
The buffet breakfast has many choices to suit everyone, and staff catered for any needs that you may have.
The pool area was sensational. We travelled during a peak period, and were only caught once without any poolside chairs. Upon raising this with the pool side staff, chairs and an umbrella were quickly arranged from a store room for us.
The kids club was ok, but lacked a bit of atmosphere when they were not playing pool side games, and this was the kids talking about it, not the parents.
.
Bar prices are expensive, but Happy Hour does limit this damage. The only recommendation that I can make in this area is for staff to seek help from their colleagues if they do not understand a request.
We encountered some sort of error almost daily, and this is mainly due to the understanding of English. I am not offended by this as English is not your first language, but if you are not sure of the request as you do not understand it, find someone who might be able to assist you, rather than getting the order wrong.

The restaurants are equally expensive. Our first night cost us AUD $100 for a buffet which was absurbed, and there was no effort on our first day by staff to give us advice on theme nights

Bali Collection is a 10 minute walk away and the quality of restaurants will ensure that you are catered for no matter the cuisine that you wish to choose.
Even though there are certain specials available, Melia Bali, pls do something about the costs that you occur during your stay. Your resort lacks vibe and atmosphere at night, as half of the peole are staying are dining at Bali Collections.

We roughly spent every second day away from the resort. Prior to leaving and choosing to pay for private airport transfers through my travel agent, our transfer host also was a tour guide and he was the best add on for the trip.
He understood what we wanted to do and put his recommendations in.
On different days, we went to Ubud, Kuta twice ( dirt cheep, but you will be annoyed to buy everything from every shop, and they will target the kids as well ) Elephant Safari and a must for all travellers looking for a great family day out, Water Bomb Park

Overall, you will always experience minor issues when you are travelling to a foreign location. Remember that you are travelling for the experience and if you see through this and not get concerned by minor issues, you will have a fantastic time at this resort.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, you cannot go wrong with a Family Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJS1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Warmest greetings from the Melia Bali.

Dear AJS1202,

We would like to thank you very much for spending your time to share and write your nice holiday experience in our hotel. Really sorry that none of us reply your e-mails prior to your arrival, not that we ignored or not paying attention to the customers, it's just because none of us received it.

Glad to know that all family members had enjoyed the family room also our Lagoon Access Suite, as we aim to provide the best service and memorable holiday experience to our guests. in the tropical temperature, we could understand that the kids were really happy to have a swimming pool only a few steps away in front of their door. The swimming pool is just the paradise for some kids, that's all they need.

Regards to the food and beverage prices, our hotel offers a very competitive prices compared to our neighboring hotels. In addition to that, we have informed to our guests through our Journal that you received upon check in. Bali Collection restaurants were busy not only by the Melia Bali guests, but also from other hotels in Nusa Dua area. Other than the happy hours, we also offers the dine around voucher (25% discount on fnb), half/full board meal plan for personal or family, themed buffet dinners, all you can eat at our Japanese restaurant, and many more offers.

Last but not least, as you are already familiar with the hotel facilities and services, we do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in Melia Bali for a week in August. The hotel was pretty silent and the staff was pretty kind. My friend had her pyjama lost during the housekeeping and the stuff didn't manage to find it although they told they did. It seemed like they didn't care so it was never found. The beach is very close and you can have 2 Mojitos for 1 price during the happy hours to fresh up. The shopping area is 10 min walking distance, no need to take taxi (by the way, you'd pay double price when ordering the taxi from the hotel, better do it on the street). The room was clean and the sleep was good. All the restaurans in the hotel are were nice, some had live music and dancing, though prices were a bit higher than in downtown. I tried the SPA as well- facial treatment was not I was expecting but Bali massage was astonishing. Next time when staying in Bali I would probably consider Melia Bali again.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool or some other easy recognizable place to avoid getting lost in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Warmest greetings from the Melia Bali.

Dear Laura S,

We are so glad to hear you were quite happy with our staff and the hotel facilities. We are sorry that we could not manage to find your friend's pajama. Our staff always did their best to find any missing items of the guests.

Regarding the taxi price, it is true that the hotel taxi is more expensive rather than meter taxi on the street. There are some reasons that we could explain related to the taxi price, first is that the hotel taxis are standby at the hotel, therefore the guests no need to wait more than 5 minutes, second is the hotel taxis and the drivers are registered in the hotel administration, third is the taxi only use by the hotel guests not a public transportation, its much cleaner, more comfortable and more safe.

It happened many times that the guests forgot or left their belongings in the taxi, by using hotel taxi we could easily identify and get the belonging back from the driver. By using meter taxi on the street, anyone can use it and the risks of someone found something (guest belonging) on the back seat is bigger, finally never found or returned.

Thanks for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived late evening to a wonderfull warm welcome with dancers and garlands. What a great start to what turned out to be a great holiday. We have travelled to many parts of the world, but this hotel was second to none. We could not find fault, shame because I like a moan. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechipman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear thechipman0,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a treat for my wife's birthday and I am glad I did. This hotel is beautiful. We had been to Nusa Dua before, but wanted something a little more special for the occasion. The hotel staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. On the evening of my wife's birthday, we made a reservation at the Sateria restaurant (as my wife loved the location). They made a real fuss of her. They made her a cake, the band played happy birthday etc. Very nice. With regards to the rest of the hotel - rooms were spacious and clean. The gardens and grounds were extremely well tended to. My wife loved the Spa, I used the very well equipped gym every day. The whole place was paradise. We were on a bed and breakfast basis. This worked out well as we had the choice of eating evening meal at the hotel, or over at the Bali Collection (10 min walk). We would return to this hotel, without hesitation.
Top tip - avoid trips to jumeria beach. It's a rip off. Expensive public beach & it's no better than the hotel beach. In fact, hotel beach is much better.
Kuta- if you want cheap designer gear, take a trip but be warned - it is very hectic and you cannot walk 10 paces without being hassled by people selling everything.
Mai Tai restaurant (Bali collection) - great place to eat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 1969paul,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed in this resort for 5 days with family. It was a memorable holiday. Basically all we've missed was a good swim in the sea. Ofcourse it is difficult to find time for this since all your time in Bali is reserved for other activities. Starting with the entry, hotel is very impressive with everywhere full of small garden lakes, heaven-like flora, even inside the hotel buildings! This is very relaxing and a perfect ambiance overall. Definitely the best I've ever experienced. The resort is maintained perfectly everday, all dropped leaves are collected, pool walls are cleaned, beach is cleaned , many people around, busy with keeping the hotel in the best visual state. Also all these people greet you sincerely whenever you meet anyone. Behaviour of the hotel staff from the top to bottom to customers was excellent with sincerity. Even trainees do what you request without any ignorance or delay. I give 4 stars because of them. All around, balconies and beach cafe etc, you can meet very pretty squirrels, they come very close even can be fed by hand(although forbidden by hotel management). The resort is big enough and many amenities exist. I'd like hotel staff to inform people better. For example there is a waiting lounge available, air conditioned and drinks served etc. for checked out or waiting for check-in guests but it was empty and I doubt anybody knows it. I've found it accidentally, It would be good idea to inform guests after check-out, guide them there. Water in the rooms were renewed everyday and internet was free!!
There are some negative points to remark. actually the rooms has a very bad moisture smell that can not be wiped-off by any means. Extremely humid atmosphere or too many pools around could be the reason but it was very disturbing and unavoidable. Another major negative point is the sea. If you think that you can enjoy a good swim know that this area is not the place for it. The sea goes away during days due to tide and even if it comes back (which is only in the morning or evening) it is very shallow to swim. I tried mornings by walking a more than a hundred meters inside the sea to reach deep enough parts but even this may not be possible when the sea goes away with the tide. These two were major drawbacks of the resort.
Additionally take care of mosquitos, although they are not a strong disturbance (not too much thanks to hotel fumigation practices) it is good idea not to keep doors open for long time. we were biten only on the first day, after killing it nothing for the rest of the days.
The hotel is actually getting older and some renovation probably is necessary. Air conditioning is not strong enough to dry or cool the room properly. The bed linens were clean and changed whenever needed no problem. but due to humidity I always felt like I'm sleeping in a "wet" bed. thats the reason I've given low sleep quality points. Also please inform customers better about the theatre close by and shows played. Unfortunately when we realise it, it was too late to attend one. Overall this is a very good resort with many amenities but humidity and lack of sea remained in my mind. I did not try hotel SPA since much better prices were available around. The photos you can see in the internet are true, no need to upload more..

Room Tip: Some rooms on the bottom level have direct access to their own pool which is around the building. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali.

Dear Anubis61,

Thank you for your feedback on a memorable holiday experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our room, facilities and services are spacious and accommodating your needs. We are so glad to hear you were quite happy with our staff gestures and attitudes.

The information about our Arrival and Departure Lounge facility should be given upon check in to the guests who have early arrival before the check in time 3:00 pm and late flight schedule after 12:00 noon. Perhaps, our front desk staff missed to explain this, we are sorry for that. However, all the information about the hotel facilities, programs, special offers already printed clearly in our Journal that distributed to the guests upon check in. The idea is that the guests could read and have a clear information after the long distance flights.

Regards to the drawbacks and some negative points you mentioned, we thank you very much for your feedback and we appreciate your comments as we are constantly looking to improve in all areas of our hotel. Except for the sea water level, we could not do anything against the mother nature. We have displayed the tide chart on the beach, so that the guests could manage their time to be able to swim on the sea.

Again, many thanks for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just spent the week here with my wife and 6 month old baby girl. The rooms were good and I loved having access to a pool from our bedroom.
The downside to our visit was the service quality that you would expect from a 5 star resort. It seemed that a large number of the staff were trainees and lacked the ability to think outside of the box/get things done. For example, we ordered a baby bassinet for our room and called to confirm this a week before arriving because we knew we would need it as soon as we checked in...when we got to our room there was no bassinet to be found and it took several phone calls and two trips to the reception for the bassinet to arrive (3 hours after checking in).
Food was mediocre in each of the restaurants, when I asked about this in the sushi restaurant I was told that it was due to it being low season and they didn't have the staff.
I think for the cost of staying here and comparing it with the two neighboring hotels 'The Laguna' and 'The Westin', you may be better off staying there instead, I know I will next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali.

Dear Thomas V,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our Lagoon Access Suites are quite spacious and accommodating during your family holiday in Bali. Having a lovely 6 month old baby girl and a direct access from your room to the swimming pool is really comfortable.

In regards to the bassinet preparation in the room prior to your arrival, it seemed that there was a problem on understanding the meaning, as our staff much more familiar with baby cot / crib. Do get in contact with us by sending e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com for any specific requests on your return visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Property: Melia Bali Indonesia
Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing