We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Bali
Nearby Hotels
$172
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$148
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Bali Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$150
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$175
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayodya Resort Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$155
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$189
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mulia Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$217
$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$42
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mulia(Nusa Dua)
$361
$331
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,996)
Filter reviews
5,996 results
Traveler rating
3,313
1,748
591
208
136
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,313
1,748
591
208
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslevel loungesorrento restaurantyhi spalevel experiencefamily roomlotus restaurantel patioall inclusive packagelagoon access suitegarden villabeach restaurantkids clubjunior suiteour honeymoonlow tidelagoon poolbeach front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,849 - 2,854 of 5,996 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Melia for 11 days from 17 March and had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The real strength of the hotel is it's employees (reception staff lacked attentiveness but all the other staff made up for them!).. We were traveling with our 3 children (9, 7 and 4). The pool design is great for kids (not too deep). There are plenty of activities on offer if you wish to participate. We did not intend to use the kids club but the girls loved attending. The kids club staff were exceptional and had activities such as canoeing, mini chef, midday break with movie, sand castle building and the list goes on...
One of our children was unwell during our stay and we were relieved there was a nurse on site and the doctor came to our room within the hour. This was very reassuring and she was well again in no time.
The family room was also good. They are a bit dated but we found it functional and clean. We had two small issues, arriving late we found that the third bed had not been made up despite a special request to ensure this did not happen, and a section of timber on he handrail fell off. On both occasions the issues were rectified and made safe so we really couldn't complain. Plenty of drinking water was also provided in the room.
The yhi spa is divine, you must give it a go.
So on the whole we would definitely recommend the hotel for families.
Ps Bali collection is a short walk away which was also convenient.

Room Tip: We found building 2 to be convenient in terms of location to pool and lobby restaurants tc
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3littlemonkeys973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear 3littlemonkeys973,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali to accommodate your family holiday and taking the time to write your first review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused, especially on your arrival day. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you and the whole family members on your next holiday seasons.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once again my wife and I have had a wonderful vacation at the Melia. We now consider it as a home from home; the staff are so friendly and helpful, the gardens are truly beautiful and the facilities are 1st class. On this occasion we required the use of their medical facilities ( my wife has suffered a stroke and requires regular blood tests) and the assistance was wonderful. Again, we thank all the staff for making our stay so special. Thank you, see you again in 10 weeks!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear rayricho,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support and loyalty.

We are happy to learn that all of you and family always had a wonderful stay at our resort. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on the next 10 weeks. :)

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Here i am back home holidaying frm Bali. At first, i was a little sceptical about what i'm about to received upon arriving. Well, you could only see the hotel through photos. Well, let me tell you...its my best choice ever!
This is a huge hotel surrounded with friendly staff. Makes you feel so welcome. The landscape are just stunning. Huge selection of breakfast. Kids room are available if you need to drop off your kids for a massage .
A great place for honeymooners and family. Its not busy or noisy. Just relax...
Thank you...



  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Hanna R,


Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali for your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that all of you had a wonderful stay at our resort with service and facilities provided. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Melia Bali after a 25 year absence. We honeymooned here in March 1988 when it was called the Bali Sol and came back for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in Villa 2 from 17 to 22 March 2013. The hotel is large but the villas offer true privacy and an intimate feel. The service was excellent, especially the staff at the Sorrento Restaurant (for breakfast) and the Level Lounge (for cocktails and canapés). The only negatives we noted were poor wifi speeds and no internal dining area in the villa – but there is a lovely outside dining pavilion. We especially enjoyed feeding the Koi Carp in the villa’s pond and having our own private pool. Compared to other villas in the Nusa Dua area, the Melia Bali offers good value with lots of freebies thrown in.

Room Tip: Villa 2 has direct access to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear Billy B,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us again after 25 years also choosing the Garden Villas at Meliã Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted the Wi-Fi speeds you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement. Currently, we have asked our IT department to check and make necessary actions on this matter.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back in the warmth hospitality of Melia Bali in the near future, hopefully for less than 25 years.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nusa Dua is a quiet and civilised resort which no matter how pretty and tidy it is, you are always lacking that true Balinese feel. If you are looking to experience Bali, I would recommend you stay elsewhere on the island before venturing south to just enjoy the beaches and weather!

For this, Melia Bali was perfectly adequate. It is a large resort with lots of facilities.On arrival the lobby area feels a little dated however of an evening it is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a drink.

The rooms were nice at face value, however they show their age on closer inspection. We had a few issues with cleanliness - one the shower, and secondly the floor made our feet black! After contacting housekeeping these issues were resolved immediately, however, some concern around their daily housekeeping checks as we had a few problems with towels not being left, coffee not topped up and toilet rolls not topped up as we continued our stay.

Of a day, the pool is lovely and there is plenty of beds. There are activities around the pool if you like that kind of thing. There are beds available on the beach however one thing we did think was lacking was being able to find beds in a garden area away from the pool and beach. The gardens are immaculate, though not for sunbathing in!

The restaurants were ok, the main restaurant for breakfast was often busy and noisy and resembled a canteen more than a restaurant. During the day there is limited options for morning coffee and if you have a sweet tooth, good cakes and pastries are hard to come by, but the ice cream served at the beach bar is amazing!

Overall, it served its purpose perfectly for us. I think in the immediate term, the management should address the attention to detail with the housekeeping - and longer term, some investment required to bring the rooms back up to true 5* standard!

Finally - we booked treatments at the Spa which was a real treat. A lovely Spa set out thoughtfully, I would recommend at least one indulgence during your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Warmest greetings from Meliã Bali!

Dear flyboylee,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you were not completely satisfied staying with us, please accept our apology for any inconveniences caused. However, we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more detail information about our hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back when you fly back to Bali in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews