We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Holiday”
Review of Melia Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Bali
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is our second stay at the Melia Hotel Nusa Dua. First time was 7 years ago for our honey money and second time is February 2012. What a fantastic hotel. Wonderful staff who go out of their way to help you and to make sure that you are very happy. Food is great and you can eat everything in confidence. We have booked a Family Room and found this to suit us perfectly. The breakfast every morning is amazing and their is something for everyone. The pool is the best I have seen in Bali and perfect for the children too. I don't know why people have written and negative comments because we have found everything to be amazing. Thankyou to all the staff for making our staff both memorable and really enjoyable. We will be back as soon as possible - only the Melia Nusa Dua for us.

Room Tip: If travelling alone Lagoon access rooms or Villas look amazing. If travelling with a family then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Mariesfamily,

Greetings from Meliá Bali!

On behalf of the management, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you and family enjoyed holiday in our resort to making your experience at Meliá Bali a pleasant and memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,977 - 2,983 of 5,767 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Hotel in perfectly area, the garden is incredibly beatiful, staff is very friendly and helpfully. Our 4 nights in Melia Bali were shortly, could be longer... I'm sure once we get back here. We have very nice stay, good feelings and unforgotten memories after stay in Melia Bali Indonesia and after visit Bali.

Room Tip: Room on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Vu V,

Greetings from Meliá Bali!

Thank you for your recent review of Meliá Bali, we are pleased to hear that Meliá Bali is your preferred accommodation choice whilst traveling to Bali.

We are delighted to read your review and looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A lovely hotel set in lovely well tended gardens with its own private section of beach. The staff always gave a happy friendly greeting. The breakfast buffet had a great choice (although I wish that hotels where you have to make your own toast would have machines that did not rquire the bread to be put through twice!!) and there was a good selection of restuarants to have dinner. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Bali collection where you will find a good selection of shops and restuarants.Taxis are available bookable through the hotel and can be charged to your room. Like all large hotels they charge a unacceptable fee for use of the internet however by buying food or drink in the bars you get 1 free wi fi hour to be used in the lounge area.

Room Tip: There are 4 main buildings in the hotel and 3 and 4 are a long walk from reception although close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear iandorothy,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Surely we will check our bread toaster machine to check if there is anything wrong with this machine, thank you. As for the free Wi-Fi internet access, we are still working on it. Other than the lobby lounge, after consumption you could also get the free access at El Patio and Sateria restaurants.

We are happy to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Melia for 3 nights in a junior suite. The hotel is set in the most fantastic gardens, fronted with a private beach. Our room was split level and was huge, comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast had a massive choice and the service, attention was great. The hotel is in a gated area with other hotels and a shopping mall. Taxis are readily available for trips which are recommended for any length of stay. Hotel is handy for airport at about 25 mins away. Would defintely return

Room Tip: Our suite was great but the lagoon access rooms looked even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieJ0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear RobbieJ0106,

Greetings from Meliá Bali!

Thank you for valuable review of your stay in Meliá Bali and choosing us for your vacations.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our time here. Lovely beach. Great Pool and facilities. Rooms good. All staff here were wonderful. Felt very welcomed by everyone.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the beach, so facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novaria I, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Julie B,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at the Melia Bali.
There's good and not so good to report.

The Good:
The staff - every one an absolute pleasure, always smiling and willing to assist or chat.
The food - good quality
The gardens and pool - very well kept and the gardens beautiful.
Public areas - very pleasant, clean and in most cases modern and comfortable.

The Not so Good:
The deluxe rooms - their website says "recently refurbished" - I think that's stretching the truth somewhat. The first room they gave us had a bath tub and plastic shower curtain with a shower head jammed against the ceiling - very poor. It also faced the back of the hotel with a fairly small balcony. We asked for a room change, which they did supply but we had to wait 3 days before we could get a room with a walk-in shower - which was a smoking room ( not what we wanted) but they did a deep clean at our request which removed the smell. It also faced the poolside of the gardens , had a double sized balcony and was way better.

Breakfast - food quality good, but it's such a big hotel, even when not full (as it was because we went out of season), the noise was like having breakfast at a staff canteen.

Beach Grill /Bar Cleanliness - there are signs everywhere telling you not to feed the squirrels which plague the area - but guests insisted on doing so which encouraged the beasts to run across the bar and the tables & chairs - occasionally leaving their droppings behind. Hardly hygenic and I saw no urgency to disinfect the counter tops, just a cursory wipe with a cloth when they got round to it. Not really acceptable.

Prices - By most standards, are over the top. By the time they add 10% service charge and 15% tax to every order, a large bottle of local beer costs you £7.50 GBP that's not even a pint. Wine is around £30 a bottle (£9.50 per glass before the tax and service) so unless your rich or tee-total, think twice.

In contrast, a 5 minute walk to Bali Collection can get you a meal for 2, 2 beers and 2 large glasses of wine for £25 total including tax & service, cold towels when you sit down and small things like toothpicks (which don't exist in the Melia). Add to that they drive you home for free, it's a much more palatable situation.

We were just disappointed I think, having stayed in real 5 star places in Thalaind and Malaysia, the Melia just has to think about some of the small things that make the difference. The property is 27 years old and they are working to upgrade many of the rooms, but I wouldn't say overall it is value for money - paying these prices I expect better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a walkin shower and facing the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANDJSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear JANDJSurreyUK,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not really satisfy staying with us on your holiday. However we have noted all the good and not so good points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Its a perfect place to spend your vacation with you family. Very nice family room, good sleep, friendly staff, good swimming pool and the private beach. Breakfast was ok but not the best, food from the menus was really good and tasty, but a bit overprice. I like the pedestrian path along the beach that connect to other hotels. In general, I had nothing to complain, all minor things could easily forgotten as soon as you see the view and lying on your bench at the pool or the the beach. The hawkers might be disturbing, but they're nice people anyway and you can talk and chat with them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Warmest greetings from Melia Bali Indonesia!

Dear Frans G,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

We have noted all your points mentioned on your review for our reference and improvement. However, we would also forwarded your comments in regards to the hawkers on the beach to the authorities in Nusa Dua area.

We are happy to learn that you have a wonderful stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 55 in Nusa Dua
3,913 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 55 in Nusa Dua
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 55 in Nusa Dua
4,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali

Address: Kawasan Wisata ITDC Lot 1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $102 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Nusa Dua - Bali’s prestigious resort enclave – this beachfront property is a unique sanctuary of exotic beauty and comfort with only 15 minutes away from Bali’s Airport, its proximity makes it the perfect hideaway for those seeking a dream vacation. Be charmed by the unique nature of Meliá Bali’s contemporary tropical architecture and spacious gardens expressing the essence of Bali. Its enormous lagoon swimming pool winds throughout the hotel grounds, providing guests with a place to relax and refresh. Perfectly located, within walking distance to Bali Collection, the main shopping centre to food and entertainment malls as well as the International Nusa Dua Convention Center. The ITDC (International Tourism Development Corporation) area is recognized for its luxury and safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing