We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Villa soft opening teething problems.”
Review of Hilton Bali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Bali Resort
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Braidwood, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pool Villa soft opening teething problems.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The pool villas at Nikko are beautiful. Spacious, stylish and brand new. The pool is actually a decent size, the outdoor living space is large and the bath is spectacular. We're staying during a soft opening where rates are 50% of what they will be. It's truly great value at around $400 per night.

The staff have been generally wonderful and our two butlers cannot be faulted.

A few wrinkles though that need to be ironed out before full opening:
- mini bar in garden bale was not cold
- ocean view villas look onto a distant building site with large illuminated mega cranes (we 'downgraded' to a much more peaceful and beautiful garden view)
- this morning I called for butler 5 times before getting an answer
- lovely breakfast marred by cooked elements being cold
- housekeeping left door open while conducting evening turn-down service and thus villa filled with mosquitos.

I think all these things will be sorted by the proper opening. It should end up be truly wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear SybariteCK,

Thank you for choosing to stay on one of our new villas and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to read you had overall a good time and that the product and services in our new villas are to your liking.

Please accept our apologies for the couple of shortcomings you had to experience, most of them being now already solved.
Thank you also for taking the time to let us know about those issues as they allow us to improve our quality.

The construction (about 400 meters South of our hotel) mentioned in your review is obviously very much out of our control but, to the best of our knowledge at the time this is written, there is no noise being generated (or if so, it is too far away to be disrupting) and also the visual impact should be in a very short time minimized.

We look forward to welcoming you again, this time for a fully luxurious experience in Grand Nikko Bali.

With best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    488
    161
    63
    48
See reviews for
661
683
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We're very lucky to be staying in one of the brand new villas under the new Grand Nikko brand. The villas are grand with outdoor showers, private infinity, luxurious floors and exquisite detailing. We really are being treated like royalty with attentive butlers and any whim catered for. It's as close as you can get to feeling like a rock star.

A few hiccups that the managers will address before the official opening in a few weeks; unanswered phones, cold breakfasts with burnt toast, fridge inoperable. All these are forgivable knowing they are working so hard to get everything right.

I'd recommend garden view rooms over ocean view rooms. Some ocean views face construction cranes and a small amount of noise which may be going on for some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Rayleggott,

Thank you for choosing staying at that time Nikko Bali Resort and Spa, now called Grand Nikko Bali since 15 July 2013, and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your experience in our new, beautiful villas and apologized for the burnt toasts and / or other shortcomings.
This, together with the hot mini-bar issue and the phone that was not ringing anywhere (thus not answered) have already been sorted out and we are more than ready to welcome you and our readers for a complete hassle-free, “rock star” experience.

As a side note, I am not sure what you are referring to about Ocean view rooms, as none of them are facing the direction you mentioned??

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


With best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Bali for work and extended our trip for a few extra days. We had been staying in a busy town in eastern Bali and wanted to spend the remaining days of our trip somewhere quiet and close to the beach. Nikko Bali over delivered! The resort is beautiful. The private villas are the most relaxing place to stay. The food at the resort is mediocre. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and respectful. I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean side villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadair118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear kadair118,

Thank you for choosing staying at that time Nikko Bali Resort and Spa, now called Grand Nikko Bali since 15 July 2013, and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers.

We are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and experience in our new villas.

I took the liberty to go through your bill and except for the breakfast and high tea that are served daily and included in the price of the villa, could not find any trace of you having dined in any of our outlet, so I am surprised about the “mediocre food” comment. We will nevertheless look into the food we serve directly in the villas as it may be the issue, that I am sure will be shortly addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As the title says...nice and beautiful seclude place. We booked a connecting room which was really excellent for the family and we were upgraded. Only issue was a multi-level marketing company had a holiday retreat so it was full of people, and the faces change every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emu712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Emu712,

Thank you for choosing at that time Nikko Bali Resort and Spa, now called Grand Nikko Bali since 15 July 2013, and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time here.

I personally checked the business groups we have had in the last 3 months and could not find any Multi-Level Marketing one?? It is also quite unusual in our property to have groups that would be “disturbing” for other individual guests.

In any case, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in Nikko Bali for a period of 4 nights on the occasion of my b'dy this year and it was one of the most perfect holidays I have had.
The property is beautiful and the service as well as entertainment is warm and extremely well planned. This hotel is a pleasure to be in, especially if you are travelling with young children. There are camel rides on the beach one can enjoy, 2 swimming pools especially for children including a lagoon pool (with a sand bank) that my kids loved; the restaurants at the pool side provide crayons and paper to keep the kids busy while you wait for lunch and the service on the whole is extremely attentive to every need and detail. We had booked a family room that came with a humungous bed (it was so huge we actually didn't need the extra bed we had asked for), toys for children, DVDs and games to keep them entertained and a goodie bag with tee shirts.
The only restaurant we ate in, was the pool side restaurant where we had our lunch every single day and the food there, while more expensive than Bali collection, is really good.
I would also like to mention that this is one of the few places where I actually saw involved lifeguards around - making sure kids did not venture into the sea on their own or get on to the large slide in the really deep adults pool. It was really reassuring!
There are also daily shuttles that go from the hotel to Bali collection and so you can go out and have your meals or do some shopping.
The only two things I'd say were minor issues -
1. You had to login to the wifi connection every half hour and that gets a bit tedious.
2. There is construction happening a little ahead on the beach so sometimes the beach has bits of wood and construction material floating in. However having said that, I don't think this is something that Nikko Bali has any control over.
On the whole, I loved this place and we are definitely going back to this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moushumi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Moushumi_24,

Thank you for staying with us back in April this year and taking the time to write about your positive experience staying with us.

Thank you for your beautiful comments that help motivates us all towards our quest for the perfect resort.
We have noted and shared your comments specifically about our recreation team members that work hard in making sure our guests are safe both in the swimming pools and in the sea.

With regards to Wi-Fi connection, we would like to stress that our only way to keep the Wi-Fi free in the rooms and the public areas is to limit the time that users can be logged in to avoid heavy downloads that penalize the bandwidth for all users. We are looking at having a longer period before requiring to re-log in and hope it will satisfy most of our customers.
For the ones that require that 24-hour connectivity (without any type of limitation and with a higher speed), our internet prices are very affordable at around USD 10 per 24 hours.

About the constructions taking place about 400m South from Nikko, the issues that you mentioned have already resolved themselves, and as you rightly noted, quite out of our control.

We look forward to welcoming you again; until then,

Best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am staying at the hotel in the Nusa Dua Neighborhood, but not at Nikko Hotel.....I've been picked up by the Camel Safari's at my hotel on 15.00 to ride the camels for 1/2 hour. The view is amazing, the Hotel is in the edge of cliff facing a blue ocean and white sandy beach. The camel is imported from Australia, they provide 5 camels that can carry up to 200 kgs weight or two passengers at once. They will carry you around on the beach area for approx 30 minutes and taking pictures along the way (with your own camera).....the pictures will blow you away, it's like you are in a desert somewhere...It will cost you USD 20 for 30 minutes ride plus pick up service of USD 5....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JRotikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Ch_General_Manager, General Manager at Hilton Bali Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear JRotikan,

Thank you for reviewing the camel ride that takes place on the beach of Grand Nikko Bali and that can be accessed through our entrance but is NOT an hotel managed activity.

We are nevertheless glad you enjoyed the ride and hope you will stay with us and have more rides next time you visit Bali.

With best regards,

J-Charles L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Top notch. Picture perfect. We stayed here six nights in April 3013 and loved every day. Amenities are impeccable. It is like wandering around a castle. At every corner is a postcard perfect scene. The buffet breakfast was superb. The resort is a bit isolated (30 mins taxi to Kuta) but the free shuttle service to Bali collection and DFS made up for it. The beach is pretty good, though a bit prone to seaweed and a tough current. The pool, gym, tennis etc etc are excellent. Service could not have been better. Babysittet was excellent (had our 6 month old with us). The entire resort is very pram friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,642 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bali Resort

Property: Hilton Bali Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Nikko Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a world of personal hospitality at Hilton Bali Resort. This 5-star resort hotel offers stunning views of the Indian Ocean from its position atop a 40-metre cliff. Traditional Balinese warmth combined with attentive and refined service makes it an ideal choice for a serene getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Bali Resort And Spa
Nikko Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Hilton Bali Resort Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing