We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just about faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“just about faultless”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of May 2014. Check in was a relaxed affair and the butler took us to the room and explained the amenities. There is a personal 24/7 butler service which is free including tea and coffee to the room. Wifi is free and accessible everywhere on the resort. The amenities are superb and the gym is fantastic. The food is very reasonable priced and it's hard to fault this resort and hotel. I thoroughly recommend it. Well done the management who have obviously listened to their customers and created an ideal relaxing spa and hotel.

Room Tip: if you choose a ground floor room, you can access the pools directly from your balcony ! If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleversod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Cleversod,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to lean that you had a memorable experience from the day you checked in until departed our shores. Your nice review is highly appreciated and we are happy to learn that we have contributed in some small ways to making your stay a wonderful one.

Thank you for recommending our resort to other reviewers and we do hope that your vivid experience with us will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    668
    208
    77
    49
See reviews for
659
1,687
90
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It is amazing how one senior staff member of this excellent property can instantly destroy otherwise a wonderful experience in The Laguna Hotel.

Stayed there for 5 nights in April and 2 nights in May (2014).

Positives
Good location, beautiful property, comfortable rooms, terrific breakfast buffet, great polite and responsive staff

Negatives
Well, there is only one - the duty manager, who basically showed me a middle finger (figuratively speaking) all while smiling. I asked her for the reason why she had suspected me of being some sort of thief/criminal the day before when I approached the reception because my key would not work. Oh boy, the attitude she gave me while explaining the reason can only be described as a "virtual middle finger". I do understand the security measures that hotel might have put in place, but my mere questioning the reason should not have been met with this kind of attitude! A clear sign of a person who should not be in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irrawaddyhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear irrawaddyhni,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologize if the service our associate at Front Office department did not live up to your expectation. I would like to assure you that this feeling is not an indicative of the normal level of service that we are maintaining so far and I have personally spoken to department concerned to re-look into this and consequently will share your feedback with their team for their review and improvements.

Further, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback in regards to our rooms, facilities, breakfast, and staff and we do hope that despite your disappointment, we are still allowed to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After seven days of diving in Lembeh Strait, we were ready to relax on the beach!

This hotel was very nice and luxurious; I loved the open lobby area and all of the lush plants and flowers. The hotel grounds are kept up with an eye for detail. It was super quite and peaceful at the resort too. I loved eating breakfast on our balcony and having direct access to the lagoon pools.

We only stayed 4 days in Bali, but we were able to pack in beach time, exploration of the area surrounding The Laguna, and a day trip to some Temples and the Monkey Forest. I received one of the best pedicures at the Spa and was pleasantly surprised because I am pretty picky about people touching my feet. My husband and I also enjoyed a couple's massage that included a foot soak ritual. It was super relaxing and just what we needed before departing Bali.

Glad that I finally made it to Bali and I would definitely go in the future to see and explore more of the island!

Room Tip: Get a Lagoon Access Room! You can get into the pool right from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Nordette,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for nice review regarding our Resort, grounds, and spa service and we are more than pleased to learn that we have contributed in some small ways to making you stay a peaceful and memorable one.

We do hope your nice impression of our resort will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I would like to start by saying I am pretty annoyed at the fact I did not manage to retrieve on the website where I did the booking the review I had done a few days ago. Maybe, I forgot to submit, or maybe it did not look good in the middle of the good reviews other customers posted. Anyway, I think my review could be quite short for once and would have the title "Avoid room 142 at all costs (literally)". Normally, I would tell you that I quite liked the breakfast, the fitness room and the sauna, but instea I just can tell you room 142, was aged, dark, small, smelly, oppressing. I was lucky to stay in 3 different 5-star hotels during my recent stay in Bali and simply put, Laguna is the only one I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Well, I think you got my idea: Avoid 142 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MaBoyOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear MaBoyOmar,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Firstly we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced whilst staying with us due to the condition of our room. We are pleased to let you know that we already have finished two Mock up rooms and are expecting a full renovation latest next year.

Once again our apology and thank you for your gift of feedback since we are always looking for ways to improve our resort and service. We do hope that your concerns will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa, Bali

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was only able to stay 1.5days, but they were a great 1.5days. I've read reviews that say the hotel is outdated, but the only thing I found outdated was the carpet in the hallways. And who cares about that. My room was great, the food was tastey, and the beach was perfect. I was able to lay out on the beach and enjoy the sun and the staff were very helpful in bringing me towels and lunch menus. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear KristinaE123,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your nice review regarding our Resort, facilities, and service and we are more than pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope your pleasant and memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The overall staying at the Laguna is pleasant, where my mind got totally immersed in the Balinese essence. The setting of the resort is so mind-blowing that excites people from time to time. Especially my and my wife rent bikes to take a round trip along the seashore, and definitely the Laguna stands out among luxurious resorts in Nusa Dua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjakick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ninjakick,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your nice review regarding our Resort, grounds, and facilities. It is pleasing to learn that every aspect of your stay has met your expectation and we really hope that you will return to our Resort whenever your travel plan brings you back to this paradise island.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location!

We were welcomed at the hotel promptly in the most beautiful reception. We were served cold towels and cooling refreshments as our check-in was being processed. We had booked two rooms and it was a nice touch to give us the rooms on the same floor, and a lovelier touch to find an array of local fruit awaiting us in each room with bottles of water. There was a wonderful sound of the waves on the beach from our balcony. The other room came with a rollaway bed which was put in expertly and without the feel of an overcrowded room. The rooms were spacious and comfortable but may soon need refurbishment.

There were several outdoor swimming pools in the hotel, hence its name. We spent most of our time sightseeing around Bali and so it was refreshing to go for a midnight swim which would not be possible otherwise in Europe. There is also a private beach which is quiet and serene unlike the ones in Kuta. Guests can stroll down the beach front, which also joins the neighbouring hotels.

The Kulkul bar is great for watching the sunset in your bikini/towel/robe while making the most of their Happy Hour. I love how they give you little nibbles with your order of drinks!

Guests have a choice of two restaurants to dine in for breakfast. They served a typical array international selection but the flavour is bordering on average.The juices served were very watered down! The Cornerstone Deli sold jars of sambal which we took a liking to during our trip. The staff were very accommodating to get the chef to make a fresh batch on the day of our departure so it was the freshest possible.

We didn't have dinner there but had reservations for Dulang at the St. Regis one night. The hotel was very good in organizing transportation for us. I would reccommend it.

If swimming is not your thing, there is also morning yoga, a fabulous gym, spa, tennis and a pool table on site.

The security seems a little daunting but if it's necessary I am all for it! However, not once did we ever feel threatened or unsafe during our whole holiday. In fact everyone was terribly friendly and laid back.

My other gripe would be the traditional dancers at the reception to welcome new guests. Someone needs to give them more direction because they seem a little clueless when to start or stop. Most of the time they'd be standing there in their costumes idle. It is a lovely touch but only if done right. The same goes for the Luxury Collection Concierge. They were great at checking-in but we had to ring them more than once to have our clothes pressed.

Room Tip: Pool-access rooms may be too noisy for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear MayBurns,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your very positive feedback regarding all aspects of our Resort and we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation.

Your constructive feedback regarding our staffs is highly appreciated for our review and improvement and we do hope your nice expression will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,762 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,745 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing