We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding resort in Nusa Dua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding resort in Nusa Dua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The overall staying at the Laguna is pleasant, where my mind got totally immersed in the Balinese essence. The setting of the resort is so mind-blowing that excites people from time to time. Especially my and my wife rent bikes to take a round trip along the seashore, and definitely the Laguna stands out among luxurious resorts in Nusa Dua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjakick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ninjakick,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your nice review regarding our Resort, grounds, and facilities. It is pleasing to learn that every aspect of your stay has met your expectation and we really hope that you will return to our Resort whenever your travel plan brings you back to this paradise island.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    647
    202
    73
    48
See reviews for
617
1,595
85
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location!

We were welcomed at the hotel promptly in the most beautiful reception. We were served cold towels and cooling refreshments as our check-in was being processed. We had booked two rooms and it was a nice touch to give us the rooms on the same floor, and a lovelier touch to find an array of local fruit awaiting us in each room with bottles of water. There was a wonderful sound of the waves on the beach from our balcony. The other room came with a rollaway bed which was put in expertly and without the feel of an overcrowded room. The rooms were spacious and comfortable but may soon need refurbishment.

There were several outdoor swimming pools in the hotel, hence its name. We spent most of our time sightseeing around Bali and so it was refreshing to go for a midnight swim which would not be possible otherwise in Europe. There is also a private beach which is quiet and serene unlike the ones in Kuta. Guests can stroll down the beach front, which also joins the neighbouring hotels.

The Kulkul bar is great for watching the sunset in your bikini/towel/robe while making the most of their Happy Hour. I love how they give you little nibbles with your order of drinks!

Guests have a choice of two restaurants to dine in for breakfast. They served a typical array international selection but the flavour is bordering on average.The juices served were very watered down! The Cornerstone Deli sold jars of sambal which we took a liking to during our trip. The staff were very accommodating to get the chef to make a fresh batch on the day of our departure so it was the freshest possible.

We didn't have dinner there but had reservations for Dulang at the St. Regis one night. The hotel was very good in organizing transportation for us. I would reccommend it.

If swimming is not your thing, there is also morning yoga, a fabulous gym, spa, tennis and a pool table on site.

The security seems a little daunting but if it's necessary I am all for it! However, not once did we ever feel threatened or unsafe during our whole holiday. In fact everyone was terribly friendly and laid back.

My other gripe would be the traditional dancers at the reception to welcome new guests. Someone needs to give them more direction because they seem a little clueless when to start or stop. Most of the time they'd be standing there in their costumes idle. It is a lovely touch but only if done right. The same goes for the Luxury Collection Concierge. They were great at checking-in but we had to ring them more than once to have our clothes pressed.

Room Tip: Pool-access rooms may be too noisy for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear MayBurns,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your very positive feedback regarding all aspects of our Resort and we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation.

Your constructive feedback regarding our staffs is highly appreciated for our review and improvement and we do hope your nice expression will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,757 reviews
327 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I originally booked the older hibiscus villa, but upon check-in, was offered the newer premium villa at a discounted rate, and I took it. With the villa booking, the airport pick-up service was complimentary

At check-in, we were seated at the lobby. Strangely, in the middle of the process, we were moved to another section as we couldn't drink the welcome beverage where we were sitting. Huh?

We arrived at the villa and it was huge and gorgeous. Everything is large and spacious - the living area, kitchen, dining room, bedroom, massage area, pool etc. So beautiful we didn't really want to leave the villa, especially for lunch, so we had room service throughout for lunch

We walked around the grounds and it was nice with a giant public pool. We didn't use that since we had our own. We did go to the gym and the trainers there were helpful

We only stayed 3-4 days and if one stays longer, I would recommend venturing out for meals. There are many other hotels and restaurants in the Nusa Dua complex. Of course, the better restaurants are in the seminyak area, but the traffic is horrid

For recreation, we took a 45min ride to the uluwatu temple and it was nice taking pictures around sunset. And watching the crazy monkeys in action. Ubud and the rice fields are much farther away (2 - 2.5hours) and we didn't want to waste that much time

Nusa Dua beach by the hotel is not nice, with dirty water. Especially if you've been to places like the Maldives. They had reserved sun chairs for villa guests, but that's no consolation for the poor beach. Also, the staff don't appear to take drink orders. The really 5 star hotels will actually give you ice water when you arrive

Breakfast here was ok and I wrote a separate review for the restaurant

Throughout our stay, we were well looked after by a few butlers. They made the restaurant, excursion, airport and other arrangements without missing a beat

Overall, a luxurious stay at the villa. Some reviewers commented on the poor state of the normal rooms, so perhaps it's better to upgrade



Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Although the staff is friendly and the grounds are pretty, the rooms are simply bad: they have an awful, rotten, smell and they are dark with old furniture. We upgraded to a laguna access room but we spent a minimum of time inside. Because of the smell, we took our showers at the fitness room (which was clean and smelled fresh).The balcony is tiny and you have no privacy: both by passers and neighbours can very well see you in the room and on the small terrace. Also the ceiling is terribly low as taller people will notice quickly.

I am happy we only stayed at this hotel 2 nights, the remaining 10 nights we tried fantastic hotels in Ubud (Uma by Como) and Pan Pacific, in Tanah Lot. Laguna was the worst of them all and the downside of our holidays in Bali.. Staying 12 nights in those smelly,dark rooms would have been a real discomfort..

We also disliked the fact there were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room. We had initially booked without breakfast, but decided to negotiate it and I must admit the final price was truly excellent. The price, not the breakfast itself: although the food was good, the capuccino was made out of cheap, undrinkable powder.

The beach is clean, but there is a lot of weed in the water and it's not very pleasant to swim.

Unfortunately, the staff's friendliness could not compensate for all the negatives.Neither could the beautiful spa and the fitness room. Nusa Dua offers a lot of options in the same price range, and I would recommend to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank anda_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear anda_holland,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience that you have experienced. In regards to your feedback to the condition of our rooms and facilities, we are pleased to let you know that we already have finished two Mock up rooms and are expecting a full renovation latest next year.

We really appreciate your feedback in regards to the availability of our coffee machine. As we aim to give personalized butler service to all of our guests, we serve 24 hours complimentary coffee and tea in the room by our butler. Therefore, coffee and tea making facilities are only available upon request. We sincerely apologize if this was not communicated properly. Our butler will be happy to set a personal coffee and tea making facilities in the room should the guest wish to have self service.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and we do hope we are still allowed to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I came with my wife and checked in their Lagoon Access Room. Room is decent, & clean. Supposed to be affected by the wind from the ocean but the management keeps it in a pretty good condition.

Three unpleasant but not-so-matter things:
1. I checked in at 5:30pm but room was still not yet ready;
2. I was asked to try Arwana's breakfast which was not as good as Banyubiru;
3. the staff in Cornerstone was absent for more than 5 minutes

Other than these three, I enjoyed all my four days here. The frontdesk was so cheerful and kept apologizing therefore I couldn't complain too much on the not-ready room. All staff I met were polite and cheerful.

I had dinner in Arwana, which might raise my expectation to the breakfast, was very nice. Oyster, Clams and etc were delicious. I tried butler services twice and very attentive and services were so prompt. Will definitely come here again.

Breakfast in Banyubiru provided a wide range of variety. Icecream & cookies in Cornerstone was nice too.

It is very convenient to go to Bali Collection for shopping and doing massage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKMKowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear HKMKowloon,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation. We have very well noted your concerns and shared with relevant departments for their review and improvement.

We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we are still allowed to welcome you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have a deluxe studio room on the 4th floor overlooking one of the many pools of this property. The room is nice and comfortable with an ok sized balcony. Don't expect an intimate experience at this resort. It's large and spread out.
As a member we were given a room that has butler service. Sounds great in theory but having to phone and then wait for them to bring you a cup of coffee (no t&c making facilities in the room) was a little inconvenient.
Had a lovely dinner last night in the Arwana Restaurant which is located next to the beach. Well worth making a reservation at one of the tables located on the beach forefront. Dinner and service was fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Greandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Greandy,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us and thank you for your nice feedback regarding our room and restaurant. We also apologize if the service of our butler did not live up to your expectation and we will share with the team for their review and improvement.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a pleasant, relaxing 5 day stay at the Laguna. The huge lagoon pool was everywhere, great for kids. Nice beach, sea at times too rough. Snorkelling was not good. Lush gardens, but no insects so other animals were also absent, which was completely weird to see in a tropical environment.

There are 2 restaurants, one basically a buffet and the other one seafood. Food was good, but not extraordinary, just no character if you want to taste some real Bali. Good fresh fish though! Make sure you subscribe (for free) as Starwood preferred guest for discounts. Tip: try the mango mojito with basil at the beach bar!

Although the atmosphere is relaxing, we got bored after a few days. And so we were happy to go inland and to the north of Bali.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbarAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear BarbarAmsterdam,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for residing with us and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation. Somehow, we are glad to learn that your stay overall was a pleasant and memorable one.

Your constructive feedback regarding our cuisine is very well noted for our improvement and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,370 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing