We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the luxury is just in their name, nowhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“the luxury is just in their name, nowhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Although the staff is friendly and the grounds are pretty, the rooms are simply bad: they have an awful, rotten, smell and they are dark with old furniture. We upgraded to a laguna access room but we spent a minimum of time inside. Because of the smell, we took our showers at the fitness room (which was clean and smelled fresh).The balcony is tiny and you have no privacy: both by passers and neighbours can very well see you in the room and on the small terrace. Also the ceiling is terribly low as taller people will notice quickly.

I am happy we only stayed at this hotel 2 nights, the remaining 10 nights we tried fantastic hotels in Ubud (Uma by Como) and Pan Pacific, in Tanah Lot. Laguna was the worst of them all and the downside of our holidays in Bali.. Staying 12 nights in those smelly,dark rooms would have been a real discomfort..

We also disliked the fact there were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room. We had initially booked without breakfast, but decided to negotiate it and I must admit the final price was truly excellent. The price, not the breakfast itself: although the food was good, the capuccino was made out of cheap, undrinkable powder.

The beach is clean, but there is a lot of weed in the water and it's not very pleasant to swim.

Unfortunately, the staff's friendliness could not compensate for all the negatives.Neither could the beautiful spa and the fitness room. Nusa Dua offers a lot of options in the same price range, and I would recommend to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank anda_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear anda_holland,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience that you have experienced. In regards to your feedback to the condition of our rooms and facilities, we are pleased to let you know that we already have finished two Mock up rooms and are expecting a full renovation latest next year.

We really appreciate your feedback in regards to the availability of our coffee machine. As we aim to give personalized butler service to all of our guests, we serve 24 hours complimentary coffee and tea in the room by our butler. Therefore, coffee and tea making facilities are only available upon request. We sincerely apologize if this was not communicated properly. Our butler will be happy to set a personal coffee and tea making facilities in the room should the guest wish to have self service.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and we do hope we are still allowed to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    647
    202
    73
    48
See reviews for
617
1,595
85
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I came with my wife and checked in their Lagoon Access Room. Room is decent, & clean. Supposed to be affected by the wind from the ocean but the management keeps it in a pretty good condition.

Three unpleasant but not-so-matter things:
1. I checked in at 5:30pm but room was still not yet ready;
2. I was asked to try Arwana's breakfast which was not as good as Banyubiru;
3. the staff in Cornerstone was absent for more than 5 minutes

Other than these three, I enjoyed all my four days here. The frontdesk was so cheerful and kept apologizing therefore I couldn't complain too much on the not-ready room. All staff I met were polite and cheerful.

I had dinner in Arwana, which might raise my expectation to the breakfast, was very nice. Oyster, Clams and etc were delicious. I tried butler services twice and very attentive and services were so prompt. Will definitely come here again.

Breakfast in Banyubiru provided a wide range of variety. Icecream & cookies in Cornerstone was nice too.

It is very convenient to go to Bali Collection for shopping and doing massage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKMKowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear HKMKowloon,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation. We have very well noted your concerns and shared with relevant departments for their review and improvement.

We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we are still allowed to welcome you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have a deluxe studio room on the 4th floor overlooking one of the many pools of this property. The room is nice and comfortable with an ok sized balcony. Don't expect an intimate experience at this resort. It's large and spread out.
As a member we were given a room that has butler service. Sounds great in theory but having to phone and then wait for them to bring you a cup of coffee (no t&c making facilities in the room) was a little inconvenient.
Had a lovely dinner last night in the Arwana Restaurant which is located next to the beach. Well worth making a reservation at one of the tables located on the beach forefront. Dinner and service was fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Greandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Greandy,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us and thank you for your nice feedback regarding our room and restaurant. We also apologize if the service of our butler did not live up to your expectation and we will share with the team for their review and improvement.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a pleasant, relaxing 5 day stay at the Laguna. The huge lagoon pool was everywhere, great for kids. Nice beach, sea at times too rough. Snorkelling was not good. Lush gardens, but no insects so other animals were also absent, which was completely weird to see in a tropical environment.

There are 2 restaurants, one basically a buffet and the other one seafood. Food was good, but not extraordinary, just no character if you want to taste some real Bali. Good fresh fish though! Make sure you subscribe (for free) as Starwood preferred guest for discounts. Tip: try the mango mojito with basil at the beach bar!

Although the atmosphere is relaxing, we got bored after a few days. And so we were happy to go inland and to the north of Bali.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbarAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear BarbarAmsterdam,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for residing with us and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation. Somehow, we are glad to learn that your stay overall was a pleasant and memorable one.

Your constructive feedback regarding our cuisine is very well noted for our improvement and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having only taken a few minitrips out to the rest of the island for drinks and meals, and spending most of our week at the hotel, on the beach or in the surrounding area, I would have to say that this is the hotel to go to if you are looking for a hassle-free beach holiday. The transit to and from the airport is about 15 minutes and unlike the rest of the island traffic is light. The rooms, pools and beachside are some of the best i have stayed at.

However, keeping the location in mind, I do feel that there should have been fewer beach-vendors, having to tell the same people you are not in the market for paintings, day-trips, fake jewellery or sarongs over and over again does become a little bit invasive, although this is probably far less than you will encounter on the rest of the island, it might be a good idea for the hotel to set up stalls along the walkway where guests can seek out trinkets and activities as opposed to the other-way around.

All-in-all a great alternative to the bussier but more centrally located hotels of Bali.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Niek J,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort and its facilities. Further, we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation.

We have very well noted your constructive feedback regarding the beach vendors and shared with the relevant department for our review and follow up.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back our resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights here as part of our 35 th wedding anniversary trip. We are SPG members and we loved this resort. The grounds were fantastic, the flowers, the pristine upkeep, the huge clean pools, the ocean for swimming. We rented bikes two different days and ate at the breakfast buffet every morning (so many fresh fantastic ethnic food choices). We ate lunch and dinner there (both good) and the staff recommended a terrific local food restaurant (a short taxi ride) and we went there twice it was so good. (Called Boom, Boom or something like that). All staff on site, from waiters to pool towel people, made us feel welcome and valued. The resort was only about 60 percent full when we were there, a really nice plus as well. It was hot so we only did one side trip to a temple site with monkeys. Laguna was just perfect for us to stay at the resort and relax. Why leave paradise? Book it, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger03254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ginger03254,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your positive insight regarding our Resort, service and facilities. It is pleasing to learn that our efforts to make your stay a wonderful and memorable one are well recognized.

We do hope you will return to our resort whenever your travel plan brings you back to this paradise island.

Sincerely yours,


Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We moved here after staying in a villa in Seminyak which was a disaster. Having never been to Nusa Dua we didn't have too many expectations and stumbled across this hotel. It is situated right on the beach and has a great pool for the kids with a lagoon entrance, there is also another pool that accommodates those without children!!
The breakfasts were great, a large selection of different cuisines to suit all travellers.
There is a gym which looked fantastic and clean but we didn't have gym gear.
This hotel was perfect for us, our children are now 6 and 7 years old and prefer the hotel style as they are able to make friends with other children, the also enjoyed the chance to swim in the ocean which was very clean and well maintained and then into the pool after lunch.
There are plenty of discrete staff who keep the property very very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bugs_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear travel_bugs_1975,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your staying with us and we are happy to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our Resort. Further, it is pleasing to learn that our service and facilities have lived up to your expectation.

We do hope your nice experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing